We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sustainably minimal design hotel”
Review of Hotel Dunas de Sal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sustainably minimal design hotel”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Hotel Dunas de Sal is the most sustainable and environmentally friendly hotel on this location comparing to other more resort like luxurious palaces. The building is an example of a minimal, yet friendly and convivial architecture, because it is built around a garden featuring a decorative swimming pool with
palm trees and a lawn, to which all rooms have direct access and where one can find lounger chairs for sunbathing and enjoying cocktails or fruit juices prepared in the design bar open at all times but lunch and dinner time when there is restaurant with the most delicious, locally sourced food I have ever tasted in terms of hotel food and for the price, meaning price quality ratio is more than optimal for those enjoying fresh fish and salads. Special praise goes to breakfasts that are just amazing with home made jams, wonderful cakes, fruit and special pancakes with chocolate on offer.
Last but not least, such pure, friendly, smiling yet discreet hotel staff is hard to find anywhere else in "developed world" where there are skills but heart(iness) often missing. Definitely recommended for those seeking either peace and tranquillity, like seniors or on the other hand, those enjoying water sports like kite surfing are also welcome because there is space where equipment can be rinsed and stored without disturbing anyone. Perhaps the location itself is not best for families with small children because of the constant winds and the only less positive side would be the quality of beds and towels that was not optimal but forgiven due to the slight remoteness of the island location as such with less products of all kinds available and that goes for the shops in the village as well. That said, I would most warmly recommend this establishment especially to those traveling to Africa for the first time like myself, because it would for sure leave every traveler with the wish to discover more of that wonderful continent.

Room Tip: There is moderate noise in every room due to road construction works nearby. Seniors or kite-surfers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    152
    48
    18
    6
See reviews for
56
173
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have just returned from a very relaxing week staying at this hotel and would happily return. The breakfast was of a high standard - comparable to a Hilton hotel. The pool was large (with no children!) and plenty of sun loungers for all the guests. For those staying on the first floor, you had your own private loungers on your balcony. For those staying on the ground floor, 2 lovely deckchairs and your own little patio a 10 second walk from the pool area.

Outside, you are 5 mins walk from the beautiful beach which is just like being in the Caribbean and a 15 min walk from Santa Maria and the many restaurants there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italylover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

There are some very positive things to mention about this Hotel. Friendly efficient staff, neat and tidy grounds nice and green with palm trees plants, and grass sourounding the pool. All rooms surround and look down upon this view. The staff clean the room and restock the minibar every day. We partook in eating salads and having ice in our drinks with no sign of stomach upset. we did not drink or clean our teeth with the tap water though. We spent a few days by the pool and found it very relaxing.

Unfortunately there are some negatives.

Starting from the inside. Our double room was infact a twin with the beds pushed together so not good if your looking for a romantic break. we also had a shared balcony, well its not really a balcony at all, it was the walkway to all the 1st floor rooms on our side. So if you want privacy you have to shut yourself in and draw the curtains.

The pool is cold. My partner didn't go in at all and I could only do 10 mins at a time before i started shivering. It would have made so much difference to our overall experience if we could have floated around in the pool relaxing instead of bracing for a quick chilly dip.

The resturant food was OK. Nothing to exciting but safe. We found lots of unavailability on the a'la carte menu. They do however serve really good mousse especially the chocolate one. We also liked the freshly squeezed OJ from the bar but this wasn't always available.

The hotel is situated amoungst roadworks, building sites and wastland awaiting development on all sides. As none of the rooms face outward this can be put out of mind once inside, but it is a bit disheartening each time you leave through the reception.

The beach is 5 min away with some sun loungers and sunshades provided by the Hotel. Swiming is possible but it is rough most of the time so its quite an invigorating and exciting experience, which weak swimmers might be intimidated by. But its warmer than the swimming pool.

TIP: We took Euro's to Sal but most places use escudos and you get your change in escudo's a lot of the time when using Euro's

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wickedash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veghel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Nice place , a bit of the centre but thats ok , to the beach is about 7 minutes walk , which is very quiet and peacefull , Dunas is nice it is not like the factory of RIU hotel which is nearby.
Rooms are ok , beds a bit hard, breakfast is good, swimmingpool a bit cold in february but still ok. So no complaince to be honest if i go back to cape verde I am almost sure I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanVeghel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We booked this hotel upon the fotos we saw on internet. They do not correspond to the reality.
The hotel rooms a very basic, wash basin in the ROOM, not the bathroom. Very uncomfortable beds with plastic underlay. The balcony is shared, not private. However, the breakfast is good, but we checked out after 1 night, due to the road works all around the hotel, wich will probably last until summer. Check before you book, they start working at 7 am hammering away......
The beach is near to the hotel just a few minutes walk and towncenter about 15 min walk.
We advise to book a nice resort if you are into laying around the pool sipping cocktails. if not DON'T GO TO SAL...there is nothing there at all to do. Renting a car ia a waste of money and time, it takes 3 hours to see the island that has absolutly nothing to offer except sun all year round.

Room Tip: we changed our hotel to Melia Tortuga, great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gussieSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Great hotel for rest, small and quiet. Good swimming pools and close to the beach. A bit far from Santa Maria (15 min walk). Wonderful staff, and an excellent breakfast (beats some 5 star hotels in Europe). Not the right choice if you're looking to meet lots of people or dance 'till dawn, it is not one of those huge resorts ment to host dozens of party-lover guests.
Do not, however, chose the full or half board options, it can be really expensive when compared to the many options in town.

Room Tip: Rooms faced to the pool are the best, since they have a balcony where you can relax or sun-bathe; th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreiagferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

we had a very pleasant week in this hotel. Almost no children at sight, one could read and even sleep siesta in the pool. Breakfast was good and the decoration and atmosphere, simple but cosy.
On top of it, there is a great diving center with a very professional and nice instructor, Joao Guedes. We dove every day twice and we enjoyed it very much. And very comfortable diving, Joao would pick us up directly with the boat on the beach in front of the hotel, and drop us there too, very convenient!
The only bad thing is that the road is being constructed just in front of the hotel. we were not disturbed in the hotel but it is ugly and depressing when you step out of it. It is not so close to the village but if you don't like the big all inclusive hotels, this is a very good option. We would return

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the terrace is individual
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IngridfromMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunas de Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas de Sal

Property: Hotel Dunas de Sal
Address: Ponta Preta | Caixa Postal 12, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dunas de Sal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Jovago.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dunas de Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas De Sal Hotel
Hotel Dunas De Sal Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing