We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It,s not a 4 star hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oasis Belorizonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It,s not a 4 star hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just come back from a week stay .nice location, good food, very small and old room. The bed was very uncomfortable-.towels and blanket,.... were at list 10-15 years old.They use to chang towels and....twice a week.The bathroom was dirty. Santa maria is very small, dirty, expensive village. It was windy all the week.. What can i say more? to much money for such a hotel.But it was very nice and sunny weather all the time.

Room Tip: Bungalow on the sea side are very quit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eskandar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, which is very important to us.
Glad you enjoyed a nice time. We will obviously take your opinion under consideration in order to improve our services.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    627
    333
    129
    73
See reviews for
453
671
61
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just come back from a week's stay here.
Had booked bungalow - they tried to put us in a family room on arrival, but we pushed out for what we booked, and got it.
We chose this hotel, as we don't like big hotels, and the other hotels of similar price were all massive. The location was excellent. Right onto a beautiful white sandy beach, which was kept very clean. Just disappointed that they had to blare out music all morning, while certain guests did their workout. Rather annoying.
We stayed on B&B basis, as do like fine dining. This is billed as 3* I think, and that is what it is. Catering for the volume for example, hot food was buffet style, so don't expect a medium done egg - they are all well done! But there was choice, and nothing ran out.
We had drinks and lunch at the Beach Cafe a few days - food seemed to be better here than in main hotel....as probably cooked to order. Funnily though, not all staff knew they offered food - more education required! Did however think very pricey. We visited the 4/5* hotels, and they were cheaper on drinks and food, and of course better quality - something this hotel needs to be considerate of.
Bungalow was basic - we expected it, and it was. But it was cleaner each day and kept tidy.
All in all, it gave us what we wanted - not too expensive to book, great location, and on B&B basis we could vary our dining.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, pick a bungalow at the far end of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
Glad you enjoyed your overall stay.

We will take under consideration your point of view in order to continue improving our services and offer.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel. Oasis Belorizonte
Cabo Verde, Sal, Santa Maria


Accommodation: We booked remodeled Bungalow
The bungalow was of very poor quality and upon arrival and through our entire stay had a nasty smell.
The Bathroom was of very poor quality with the shower full of mold around the window and floor.
For renovated bungalow’s this was not expected .We did have to share our bungalow with birds coming in through the roof.
The bed’s where of decent quality but short .We did visit other bungalows with same findings as results .

All inclusive: Meals

We booked all inclusive but regretted that decision upon arrival. The Buffet in the morning was the best meal (mostly cold food also ) of the day while lunch & dinner buffet where always cold & no taste whatsoever. I can understand that different cultures make different food but the buffet was trying to bring standard European food below all standards. While a great mix of deserts where available also here the taste was a very chemical “powder” taste.
Also , nice thing is that the buffet is always the same with some small exceptions on meat & pasta.

One of us got Sick for 2 days due to the “quality” of the food.

All inclusive: Drinks

While it’s nice to have all drinks included the different bars were understaffed and long waiting queues didn’t motivate us to wait 15 minutes for a cocktail pre-mixed in big plastic bottles. We would recommend not drinking the tap water but it’s included in the “all inclusive packages”

Beach: Close to the hotel

The beach was perfect and the beach boys ensured a clean beach and plenty of sunbeds

Overall:

Would we return to this hotel? No
No, not even if the stay would be for free as it looks like 4 stars in overrated.

Advice: Don’t book this hotel if you have basic requirements on healthy decent food & no smell bathrooms and no “city” center close by for any decent shopping

Room Tip: no good rooms at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.
We are deeply sorry for not having met your expectations.

We understand that some of the points mentioned are very subjective. Nevertheless, we value every feedback in order to continue improving our services.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Maria hotels

Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The rating of the hotel is much overrated- it should be 2 stars max!
It is an old, dirty, very bad quality hotel, where food quality, staff and rooms standards are much to be desired...
I can only absolutely agree with the others, who unfortunately had a bad luck to stay at this hotel.
What I can add is that the beach is really nice but full of unguarded dogs... They seem to live there so don't be suprised when Your child finds something quite unpleasant and smelly while digging in the sand... I don't have to say that nobody cleans the beach...
It's better to stay at home than spend at least one day at this hotel!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank An T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

However we can not agree with your comment. The beach is cleaned everyday and our services are much aprecciated by all our guests. We feel sorry for not having met your expectations and we will continue our work to improve our product.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ziar nad Hronom, Slovakia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have spent on beautiful island of Sal, Cape Verde one week for the first time. We were accommodated in Oasis Belorizontes bungalow in a nice garden. Bungalows were basic, but clean, and we came to spent holiday on the beach and not in the room. There small TV, fridge (1 free bottle of water every day), A/C. Room were cleaned every day. Free toiletries and towels, also beach towels.

To the meals, lot of selection I would say, they try to change it, so it was not the same every day. There was one main restaurant, and two a la carte, which we have both visited once during our stay. Couples of bars by the pool, night bar, beach bar, etc. with soft and alcohol drinks. Generally OK, I was satisfied.

The resort is quite large, with three pools, two of them are with salt water. The sun beds and umbrellas are free of charge, on the beach as well. To the beach is like 3-5 min. from bungalows. Beach was the most amazing thing of all. Big, wide, nice blue ocean. Totally for relax. But it was quite windy from time to time. Whole complex was guarded so no problems with bungalows close to the beach and far from the main building.

Santa Maria town was 10-15 min from hotel by nice walk on promenade.

All in all - worthy to spend nice holiday and relax. Hotel management and stuff really nice and helpful. Worth for that money. it is not new, but clean with great stuff and service. I would recommend that to everyone who is not so picky and want to spent nice beach holiday.

Only one think I did not like - no free internet. I guess it was 3,50 € per 30 min, but I am not sure.

Room Tip: try to get bungalows close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peter_G83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We truly hope you can return soon.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Hotel complex consisting bungalows in charming seashore of Sal in Cape Verde. As we knew to what kind of facility we are coming to, hotel clearly meets our expectations. Bungalows are in just right size, simply furnitured (TV, AC, fridge, dryer, safe/fee etc.), but every day well cleaned. As to meals, maybe more of local dishes, seafood and fishes would be suitable (indeed, as to each taste), choice of food could be considered as average, but everyone should find something tasty. Also worth mentioning, as all inclusive client in services are included 2 special dinners (local degustation menu which is hardly recommended and another dinner out of ordinary AI restaurant). Bungalows are distanced from the beach about 2-5min of walking in palm alley. One big issue to hotel management: showers on beach would surely increase a quality of provided services as we considered such shower in beach as necessity (salt, sunbath etc.). Have no other issues to hotel services, we spent nice holidays to which hotel contributes certainly.
At the end, the best: land in the island is interesting despite of its drought climate. Maybe we haven’t been to many vacations as other reviewers, but what island offers to us (thanks to our local tour guide) was unforgettable: amazing cyan ocean with relatively warm water, Ponta Preta (black sand beach and big waves), Murdeira (karts formations in rocks of volcano origin), Espargos (prospect tower with view to surrounding land), Palmeira (the biggest docks), Buracona (!!! Blue eye and swimming in natural pools in volcano rocks), shark creek, salt mine in Pedra de Lume, observation of turtles during night and their eggs lay of, city of Santa Maria with its “little Jamaica feeling” and no stress friendly locals.
Tip for excellent and honest local tour guide Humbert whom we warmly recommend and who took us to all that wonderful places: 002385970933.
Cheers from Slovakia

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert_Nezbeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Belorizonte Hotel and for the kind review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay! We are happy to know that you wish to return.

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have spent a great holiday in this resort in Cape Verde. It exactly met our expectations: nice, comfortable, air-conditioned and still having a feeling of Africa - just what we were looking for.

The holiday was for sure quite extraordinary thanks to our local guide Nelson Morais with whom we have made several nice trips. It was a real experience, he was alwas ready to fulfill our requirements. He is knowledgeble, speaks several languages incl. English, Portugues, Spanish, French and German. You can find him on the beach just in front of the hotel.
Dana Zieglerova
Corvinus Travel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corvinus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Glad you enjoyed your stay in, as you said, our "comfortable hotel with a feeling of Africa".
Hope you can return soon!

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#6 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#12 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
#4 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis Belorizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis Belorizonte

Property: Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Address: C.P. 63, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oasis Belorizonte 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the white sand beach of the Santa Maria beach, bathed by a calm, turquoise, crystal water sea stands the hotel Oasis Atlantico Belorizonte. Being in first line on the beach, this is the ideal place for those who look to rest from the daily stress and who try to enjoy some relaxing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Oasis Belorizonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Belorizonte Hotel
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing