We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location”
Review of Odjo d'agua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel has the most spectacular views of the beach.We ate there on two occasions. The steak was good with the sweet potatoe. It was quite reasonably priced for hotel food. However we stayed next door at porto antigo 2 apartments which was also on the beach with this spectacular view.....but then come away from this beautiful beach onto the streets its a disgrace. The streets are full of roaming dogs. There is dog droppings all over the streets you can smell it in the air. The locals urinate on the streets and the beach. It was our first time in sal and our last we couldnt wait to come home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bombaybrasserie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

We spent hubby's 60 birthday at the hotel restaurant. If you are celebrating, best to book at reception if you are not a guest and are going at the week end. It really is a great hotel and I am sad we were unable to stay there as it was fully booked, however, we stayed bang next door at Porto Antigo 2 apartments and both are excellent with fantastic swimming pools and easy access to beach and town. Approx twenty five steps to the beach from the pool!

The service at the restaurant is very slow! You might wait an hour or more to get your meal so book early - have a drink or two and don't expect your meal on time - it happened three times so it seems to be a trend. Food very good. Scenery incredible. Pounding ocean.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itslinhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Cannot believe this hotel is not number one!!!!

Actually had book to stay in the number one hotel at the time but had to leave due to it being such a let down after a few nights.....how lucky we're we that we found this absolute gem of a place located perfectly on the beach!!!

Happy friendly staff, a beautiful restaurant, an amazing beach with Thomas in his beach hut to help with anything you might need! Luxurious rooms and a fantastically relaxed atmosphere!!! We were so sorry we were not booked here in the first place, even though we were only there for half our holiday it really saved the trip!!

Book here and dont bother looking anywhere else.... You will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely but other residents walking close by, courtyard rooms also beautiful and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katharine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

First Impressions.

The restaurant is located on the sea front in the village of Santa Maria and is part of the Odjo d’ Agua Hotel. The view of the shoreline from your table is just fantastic. The restaurant prides itself on fresh caught local seafood served every day and they did not disappoint.


The Food & Service.

The food here was simple and well cooked. The menu was small but it did have a mix of the usual fresh fish plates and traditional island dishes. The service was very good and the staff explained the dishes very well. I enjoyed my meal and the atmosphere in the restaurant was great, the sound the sea crashing against the rocks added to the restaurant ambiance.


Overall

I had a great evening at the restaurant the food and the service was very good and the atmosphere inside the restaurant was great. It was busy here and it is advisable to book a table and this is testament to quality of the food and service

Service- 9 /10
The Food- 8 /10
Value for Money 6- /10
My Verdict- 7/10

Would I recommend ? – Yes. Would I return ? Yes

Room Tip: We did not stay at this hotel but dined here on several occasions during our stay on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thehungrybutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The town of Sal is very underdeveloped......so not everyone's thing. We loved the town....no english breakfast......no all day sky sports !!! And the people are so friendly. The hotel is right in this old town and yet it's standard is very very good. We couldn't fault it. The beach is a bit rocky but we swam around them. The little beach bar had lovely chilled out music. Heaven for relaxation. 2 beds and umbrells costs 6 euro per day.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JimGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

On an island that has little in the way of beauty spots this hotel stands out. It's centrally situated in the seaside town of Santa Maria, the major tourist hub at the South end of Sal.
The hotel has a small attractive pool over which we had a view from our room (102) which we thought was probably about the best spot in the hotel. A Hammock on the terrace was a nice touch facing the evening sunset, or a 20 metre stroll to the beautiful sandy beach below the pool was another great option. Rooms were cleaned daily and well, but this is an island off the West African coast so you must expect bugs and ants to come in, not a major problem, just a point to remember.
I reckon rooms 101 - 103 are the best to have here.
The restaurant was a bit disappointing. This island could justifiably claim to have the best fresh fish on the planet if they wanted, fresh Tuna, Wahoo and anything else the sea can provide is brought ashore 100 metres along the coast!
However the Cape Verde cooking is not the best, the food is generally overlooked, which is sacreligious with such lovely Tuna steaks, in my case. The Wahoo was overlooked as well. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and we did ask for the fish to be pink the second time and it was so much better.
Breakfast buffet was unexciting but plentiful with scrambled eggs and omelettes every morning plus a local bean hash dish.
Prices were reasonable by UK standards but were at the high end for Cape Verde rates. I'll write reviews of other restaurants elsewhere.
The island of Sal has been the subject of extensive development with hotel/apartment complexes being built extensively but largely out of town (Santa Maria) this means that the town loses lots of tourist buzz as people don't leave their all-in complexes to visit what is a rather down at heel but really friendly place. It's a real shame because this island would really take off if the two could meet up. The tourists need to get into Santa Maria to support the island economy directly. It's no great hassle,the Senegalese street sellers really are friendly and easily take no for an answer, don't be scared to banter with them it's not intimidating when you relax!
We tried a few of the town bars and restaurants and they are not having a good season so far. A lot of EU tourists can't afford the Winter break this year, if you go to the island, get out of your complex and try the town, it's a good experience.
The locals all seem to play a musical instrument and there's some real quality Brazilian/ Portugese influenced stuff to be heard live in a number of places.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Prefermotorhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is a beautiful hotel - little paradise on the sea shore. Unlike all those huge all-inclusive plastic hotels, this one has a spirit. We went there for our Honey Moon. Looking forward to come back again.

It's not cheap at all, but if you want something really nice, pay for it. It also has one of the best restaurants on Sal. Fish and catchupa - that's all you need there:) and they serve catchupa every morning with your included breakfast. Yam

The service may sound not very good, when you call from home to find out anything before you book, because they don't speak very good English (they all speak Portugese). E-mail them - they will understand better. But as soon as you are there, there won't be any problem with communication, because you will see each other and can explain what you need.

Room Tip: There are seaview and half-seaview rooms which cost considerably more than non-seaview. Get the che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Anastasia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
795 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cabo Verde Sal Resort
Hilton Cabo Verde Sal Resort
#15 of 20 in Santa Maria
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 20 in Santa Maria
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,883 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,973 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odjo d'agua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odjo d'agua Hotel

Address: Zona do Farolinho, CP 71 | Ilha do Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: £85 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Odjo d'agua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a small promontory where the Vera Cruz Lighthouse is located, the hotel is partially built over the sea. From the hotel restaurant you can enjoy the stunning overlooking of Santa Maria Bay. We offer a warm welcome to our clientele, who can relax in a quiet, intimate and family atmosphere while enjoying the surrounding beauty of the ocean and Santa Maria beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Atrapalo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Odjo d'agua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odjo D'agua Hotel Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal
Hotel Odjo d Agua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing