We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsavo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Spent a weekend there attending a wedding and it was far beyond what I expected!! The property is beautiful and very well maintained. The staff are really friendly and willing to assist. The swiming pool is breathtaking. The Manager was omnipresent!! However the true highlight of the weekend was the assistance we received from one of their Maintenance Department staff who goes by the name YELLOW MAN!!

We had a problem with our vehicle which he managed to sort out swiftly but as he escorted us to the reception, he went over and above his duty to brief us about the lodge!! He briefed us about restaurant meal times, laundry services, safes in the rooms, the whole 9 yards!!!! He gave us a better briefing than most receptionists would. He is a true gem to this property and deserves to be recognized.

Keep up the great job.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnt face westwards........ they can get pretty hot due to the long exposure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waweru G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

the lodge is in an excellent location with a great view of the hills from the room. the welcome drink and the cold towel at the time of the arrival is great. the staff is very courteous. going out of the way to take care of guests. the food menu is excellent.vegetarians can enjoy the spread. the fruits section was great. we had the tasteiest water melon in the recent times at the lodge.
the spa facility is good.
the night safari by the lodge vehicle is excellent. we saw a lionees and 3 cubs eating an ostrich.

Room Tip: all the rooms ahve a great view with a balcony. do not miss out on the terrace of the lodge for taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srini1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

stayed here whilst on safari beautiful views across the game reserve and a waterhole where elephant visited. The pool area and hotel is quiet and peaceful and will definatley be going back for a longer stay next time and would recommend it. you can stay here in the day and use the pool, the hotel provide a bus to Saltlick where you can see other aniimals.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 504202Sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willie M, General Manager at Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for finding time to give us feedback,i am glad we met your expectation and you left with fond memories of sarova taita hills game lodge.Guest feedback is very imperative to us at the sarova taita hills game lodge.
We are looking forward to hosting you again.
Yours sincerely
Willie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This lodge was the last lodge we stayed in on our 3 night safari, they saved the best till last!!! this lodge is beautiful! the food, staff and service were fantastic. The rooms are large and spacious, very comfortable and very clean.
On our game drive here we didnt see as many animals but we did see a lion!! We also did a night drive from here that was an experience I will never forget!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willie M, General Manager at Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Guest,
I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us at sarova taita hills game lodge and per your feed back ,your stay was comfortable and we met your expectation
I do want to assure you of our commitment to continuously uphold the standards.
we look forward to hosting you again in the near future,
Kind regards
Willie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Lovely service. A great place to be based while on safari. We went in November so no elephants at the watering hole but there were plenty of birds. In the morning there were gazelles grazing outside our bedroom window. Food was good with plenty of choice. Lovely swimming pool. Will go back at a different time of year to see the elephants outside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

stayed here on 17 oct .my wife and my daughter myself enjoyed staying here food good .after my tea i came out to look at the watering hole to see over 200 buffalo trying to get to the water there was a stand off between elephants and the buffalo .the staff were good the room were clean and nice .i liked the swimming pool next to watering hole so you can see animals.overall enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ally d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had lunch here before we could check in in Sarove Salt Lick. I really do not know why we had the check in here and had luch before we went to our other lodge. The personal was friendly and what i really liked was the view next to the swimming pool. There is a waterpool and elephants, zebra's are standing a few meters away from you. That was such a beautifull sight. I didn't like the total atmosphere from this lodge. It had no feeling like the other lodges where we stayed in. It was very modern instead of a little african feeling.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Inice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo
3.4 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
778 reviews
24.6 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#5 of 22 in Tsavo National Park East
545 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
Man Eaters Camp
Man Eaters Camp
#1 of 8 in Tsavo
84 reviews
0 mi away
Hunters Lodge
Hunters Lodge
#6 of 8 in Tsavo
23 reviews
23.3 mi away
Impala Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge

Address: Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary, Tsavo, Tsavo National Park West P.O. Box 72493, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West > Tsavo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsavo
Price Range: £165 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge is located at the main entrance to the Taita Hills Sanctuary in South Eastern Kenya, 400 km from Nairobi and 200 km from Mombasa. A one hour flight from Nairobi or 30 min from Mombasa by private charter lands at the Lodge's own airstrip. The sanctuary is a 3 hour drive from Mombasa and a 6 hour drive from Nairobi on tarmac roads. Located at the main entrance to the Sanctuary, Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge is an inviting stone building of 60 spacious rooms and two suites, all with their own private viewing balcony. Clients can command views of the adjacent Taita Hills, or the well maintained gardens surrounding the Sanctuary. At night, floodlights illuminate the swimming pool and gardens and provide an opportunity to see any wildlife in the vicinity. It is not uncommon to see elephants daily at the watering hole next to the swimming pool. In addition to the rooms and suites, the Lodge has a Main Restaurant, Bar & Lounge and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. The Lodge has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. There is a gift shop, fuel station and business center. The climate is very pleasant, with temperatures averaging between 18 Degrees Centigrade and 30 Degrees Centigrade year round. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. While in Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge, you get to view some of the most exotic species of animals in Africa. Find your way to the local villages and learn a thing or two about the local culture. What better way to get the most out of your Kenya Safari holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Taita Hills Game Hotel Tsavo
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge Kenya/Tsavo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing