We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the Animals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsavo
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for the Animals”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The hotel is nice, clean and comfortable. We were staying at a beach resort for most of the holiday and the rooms and food didn't compare at the hotel. However, the key selling point of this hotel has to be the sanctuary/game park. Pay for the additional night game drive, it's only $25 and absolutley worth it. We managed to see a lion and a lioness straight in front of us and even touched the van. During the day, saw zebras, lots of antelope and giraffe- really brilliant and the views of the park are just stunning.
The pool and gardens are nice and the hotel has built a watering hole where the animals come at night so you can a first hand glimpse. The security staff were brilliant to talk to as one of them came from a maasi family and told us all about his tribe. Everyone was really friendly and nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    66
    22
    6
    0
See reviews for
45
84
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely little lodge overlooking the Taita hills. Rooms very spacious and clean. Food, although Buffet, was to a high standard. Definitely recommend the additional night drives they do - of course you're not guaranteed Anything but well worth the $25pp to be in touching distance of the lion and lioness we saw laying on the track one evening! Also over looks the watering hole although we didn't see anything come close during our stay. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annie2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stopped at this lodge for lunch on our way back from Salt Lick. The food is top notch - fantastic variety and buffet style. Would like to stay here for a few nights on a future safari of the sanctuary/ game park and really experience the hospitality that is evident everywhere. I think this lodge is a must on any itinery!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have visited this lodge on 8 occassions now, but never slept here.just checked in for saltlick and had lunch,which is of a very high standard,the best food we have had on all our safaris in the last 20 years, next time we visit in october 2013 i think we will stay the night here ,it has beautiful well kept gardens, plus a good size swimming pool.the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to ensure eveything is right for you. not forgetting the food.the desserts are to die for.and there is a very varied main courses to choose from.could not be better.you are met at reception with face flannels and there is always tea and coffee on hand too. can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: have not slept here yet so cannot comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twigee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
267 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We started visiting this lodge in the 90's and wow what a change with the upgrades!!!

We started our journey from Voi and again it was baking hot.

We again saw a lot of animals on the way there and checked in for lunch and for Saltlick where we were going to stay the night.

We actually got stuck in between elephants crossing the road - some in front and behind and could not move as there were a lot of babies there and the mothers were getting aggressive towards the van.

We had to wait until they all moved off but was a little scary.

We were greeted at Taita with the usual cold flannel and glass of juice.

We had a pre lunch drink at the pool and what a beautiful setting.

We then had a superb lunch - although self serve, the food was fresh and I loved the chicken and desserts - in fact all of it!!

Our driver and friend whom we had taken along collected us to go to Saltlick as we wanted to unpack for our game drive.

If we had more days we would have had no qualms about staying at this lodge.

Asante sana to all staff who made our short stay so welcome!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malaikascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding there in April 2013, and we had an amazing time. The staff was friendly and service was GREAT! The dining was fantastic, food with an Indian flair, and desserts that looked like they came from a pastry shop. The fruit was fresh and delicious. The rooms were airy and very clean. I have nothing bad to say about this place. If you go, look for Dina...he is a star among hotel managers, and was very helpful to us. Make sure if you go to go on an early morning game drive, we saw many lions!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnemarieBainTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were upgraded to the Salt Lick to sleep but had a wonderful lunch and day room here .
Food was great, service ditto, pool and gardens lush and the bedroom we would have had was equally nice - even had a bath .

May go back one day , Salt Lick was nice but maybe the Sarova has the edge on facilities ?

Room Tip: Didnt get to stay as we were upgraded to Salt Lick - a shame !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo
3.4 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
712 reviews
24.6 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
501 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
Man Eaters Camp
Man Eaters Camp
#1 of 8 in Tsavo
75 reviews
38.9 mi away
Hunters Lodge
Hunters Lodge
#7 of 8 in Tsavo
21 reviews
22.1 mi away
Voi Lutheran Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge

Property: Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
Address: Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary, Tsavo, Tsavo National Park West P.O. Box 72493, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West > Tsavo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsavo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge is located at the main entrance to the Taita Hills Sanctuary in South Eastern Kenya, 400 km from Nairobi and 200 km from Mombasa. A one hour flight from Nairobi or 30 min from Mombasa by private charter lands at the Lodge's own airstrip. The sanctuary is a 3 hour drive from Mombasa and a 6 hour drive from Nairobi on tarmac roads. Located at the main entrance to the Sanctuary, Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge is an inviting stone building of 60 spacious rooms and two suites, all with their own private viewing balcony. Clients can command views of the adjacent Taita Hills, or the well maintained gardens surrounding the Sanctuary. At night, floodlights illuminate the swimming pool and gardens and provide an opportunity to see any wildlife in the vicinity. It is not uncommon to see elephants daily at the watering hole next to the swimming pool. In addition to the rooms and suites, the Lodge has a Main Restaurant, Bar & Lounge and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. The Lodge has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. There is a gift shop, fuel station and business center. The climate is very pleasant, with temperatures averaging between 18 Degrees Centigrade and 30 Degrees Centigrade year round. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. While in Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge, you get to view some of the most exotic species of animals in Africa. Find your way to the local villages and learn a thing or two about the local culture. What better way to get the most out of your Kenya Safari holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Taita Hills Game Hotel Tsavo
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge Kenya/Tsavo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing