We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing visit, great conservation program”

Okonjima Game Reserve
Leonding, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“amazing visit, great conservation program”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

unique concept to safe big cats. wonderful guides and scenery: honestly one of the best kept secrets in Namibia. the guides are dedicated, lots of respect for the animals, it seems like everything is being done right here. People care, doesn't happen that often here. we were totally impressed. I am actually thinking of going back soon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    5
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience!”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

An inspirational and interesting place to stay - we loved it!
FANTASTIC staff and service, wonderful accommodation and food - thank you Okonjima.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HarrietNim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best of Namibia”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This was the last stop on our holiday itinerary, and what a way to finish! We were upgraded to the bush camp where we had a thatched villa with ensuite facilities, a lounge area with bird feed, and a small private waterhole where we saw warthogs.
The delight of Okonjima is the work it does to rehabilitate orphaned or abandoned big cats into the wild. Radio collars mean the guides should be able to gram them and you have a good chance of getting to see them - but be aware, they are still wild animals and they may not want to come out to play, so you might just see an ear through the grass - but getting so close is an amazing experience.

The drivers the Camps from the main road takes about 25mins, but of you have a lay afternoon flight from Windhoek you can just manage the Cheetah tracking activity in the morning before you fly home.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank By_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“get spoiled for a few nights.”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

For nature lovers and wildlife spotters to visit a wildpark run by an organistion like Africat foundation is not the first priority since the cats , and hyena and wilddogs are radio collared.
BUT the way they run the place is great :
the lodges are fabulous , service is very high level and animals in danger are helped by us tourists , that spent some money here. As a bonus you will sit in a jeep tracking an animal within a very large area, which makes it comparable to any other wildpark.

From an initially critical wildlife lover : GO !!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank josenjannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thought I'd died and gone to heaven”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

What can be said about Okonjima. In Namibia the best kept secret on the planet. The idea behind okonjima is brilliant with every level of comfort catered for. We stayed in the view rooms which effectively was a glass wall looking out all the way to the mountains. tracked and found all the animals we wanted to see, and the Africat part was equally brilliant. We would not remmomend this place to anyone as we want to keep it to ourselves. We shall be back

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SAM2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okonjima Game Reserve also viewed

Otjiwarongo, Otjozondjupa Region
Otjiwarongo, Otjozondjupa Region
 
Namibia, Africa
Damaraland, Otjozondjupa Region
 

Been to Okonjima Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing