We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they take good care of you-enjoyed my 3 days there”
Review of Les Paletuviers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Paletuviers
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
512 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“they take good care of you-enjoyed my 3 days there”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

every excursion was well organized and they went out of the way to make it a pleasant experience, food was adequate and plentiful, room was comfortable-not luxurious but well put together, pool was clean and after a hot day most enjoyable though no place to get some shade.
Too many noisy kids and perhaps wahts needed is an adult only spot

Room Tip: pay for a room facing teh watre witha porch -its wonderfully relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    53
    18
    4
    8
See reviews for
37
49
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
watford
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel was nice but no shade by the pool so we couldn't ever sit there until the sun had gone down. The rooms were very basic but clean and comfortable. the food and staff were very good and helpful and found us the most amazing guide who could speak English and not only knew all the names of the birds in English and french but also the Latin names! he also was good on plants, butterflies and insects!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langdorp, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed for 8 nights at Les Paletuviers and have to say it was amazing. The friendly people of Les Palétuviers welcome their guests with a warm heart.
The hotel was perfect with a great view on the mangroves, excellent for doing some sightseeing. The rooms are air-conditioned with comfortable beds. The food was excellent, for lunch and dinner you had the choice between four courses. We enjoyed the meals, they were even better than a buffet in a big hotel. There is WIFI all over the place. The staff was very friendly, helpful, nothing was too much for them.
If you want to relax some time you can do it in the nice swimming pool with sunbeds or simply drink something on the terrass and enjoy the wonderful view of the mangroves.
The excursions offer a unique insight into the local culture. Fathala and the walk with the lions was amazing. Also nice other trips such as the local safari, trips by boat through the Mangrove Rivers, bird watching , the visit to meet the man who makes palm wine, the visit to a local African market, …..
This is a holiday we will never forget, and we will come back……

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Very far from Dakar, 5 h. drive in an old minibus, no airco, no water in a temperature from 42 °C. In the middle of Toubakouta there is the hotel with poor rooms, no shade on the pool and no good seats. However food and staff is very good. Excursions booked in the hotel are very expensive.
Walking in the village was almost impossible because of the salesman everywhere. They where aggressive and not friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

If a hotel was ever out of place, it is this one. This Belgian colony in Senegal made me feel very bad about myself. Out of necessity we spent an amount that must be staggering to anyone living in the village. Deciding to indulge in a bit of luxury and not care about money for a day we decided to enjoy it. However, you pay a lot for a rather average room. The rate is several times higher than what Senegalese consider an expensive luxurious hotel. These cheaper hotels offer similar or better comfort. There are plenty of better hotels for a third of the price, just not in this particular region. I guess the reason for its existence is a good connection with Belgian tour operators.

All in all you end up in a European environment planted in a not so rich country, I really felt embarrassed as local farmers, fishermen and their children looked through the fence at all the Toubabs having a good time for an amount of money they simply cannot imagine anyone would spend on a night in a hotel. I felt like I was experiencing how in previous centuries European traders lived on their island, not part of society, but clearly visible and leaving their island only for business.

All this said, the staff is friendly and helpful, the hotel looks very nice and the food is decent. There is a pool, and it looks like a tropical paradise. The hotel contributes to the local community and it encourages its guests to donate. The dependence on such donations in other Senegalese areas makes you wonder whether this is actually a good idea. In general the people are friendlier and less more open in areas where money and goods have been earned rather than simply received.

One more point: yes, this hotel accepts credit cards, but at a rather steep surcharge.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VisaCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed for 10 nights at Les Paletuviers and have to say it was simple amazing. The hotel was perfect - although quite basic, you had everything you could possibly need and it was kept impeccably clean. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a swimming pool so clean and had the room cleaned so well any where else!

The food was amazing every single day. Although a set menu each day (you are allowed to change if you didn’t like it), you never felt you missed out on anything. The food was well cooked, excellently presented and there was more than we could eat every night. Lots of fresh fish which was super, and there seemed to be dishes from a variety of influences, from traditionally Senegalese to Belgium, Greek and Thai. For dinner you even had three courses each night!

The staff really make your stay as pleasant as possible, and I would highly recommend taking the time to get to know them and hear their stories and about life living in Toubacouta. They are all so friendly and kind, nothing is ever too much trouble and they speak a number of languages excellently.

The excursions are fairly priced and offer a unique insight into the local culture. I would particularly recommend the walk with the lion cubs (amazing!!!), the local safari, trips by boat through the Mangrove Rivers and the visit to meet the man who makes palm wine – great fun!

It is the ideal hotel to combine days of lazy sunbathing, swimming and eating alongside days packed of fun adventures and chances to see the real Senegal. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogalin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel with great view, an excellent place to rest and do some sightseeing. It is in the middle of nowhere in an authentic Senegalese village about 3 hours from the airport of Banjul in Gambia. The transfer (organized by hotel and with guide) is an adventure. The hotel has nice rooms located in seperate huts. There are many excursions you can do but the best was the one in Fathalah where you could go for a walk with 5 small lions. The food is excellent even above Belgian standard. People working there are very friendly. October was maybe a little bit too hot resulting in a low occupancy but this made it more fun as all people where from Belgium.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BARTVDB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toubakouta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keur Saloum
Hotel Keur Saloum
#1 of 3 in Toubakouta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
22.8 mi away
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
#1 of 1 in Mar Lodj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
24.2 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.8 mi away
Hotel Les Filaos
Hotel Les Filaos
#4 of 24 in Mbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Keur Niaye Maison d'Hotes
Keur Niaye Maison d'Hotes
#1 of 3 in Toubakouta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
10.8 mi away
Fathala Wildlife Reserve & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Paletuviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Paletuviers

Property: Les Paletuviers
Address: BP1, Toubakouta, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Fatick Region > Toubakouta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Paletuviers 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect mix between the comfort of a luxury lodge and out of your comfort zone excursions, cultural encounters and adventure, run by the Belgian Karolien. Located in the most beautiful bay of the Saloum delta, protected by UNESCO and in the authentic village of Toubakouta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Les Paletuviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Les Paletuviers Toubakouta
Les Paletuviers Senegal/Toubakouta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing