We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanview Guesthouse - Excellent stay again!”
Review of Choice Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bel Ombre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Choice Villa
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oceanview Guesthouse - Excellent stay again!”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

After two years we went back to Seychelles. We stayed again in Oceanview Guesthouse for almost a week, this time together with our parents. It felt like coming home.

The hospitality and service of the employees (Vanessa, Paule, Elda and Minta) and the owner Cecile was perfect! The personal service is even better than in a 5 star hotel.

The rooms in Oceanview Guesthouse are spacious, modern equipped (safe included) and clean.

For dinner we have eaten at Oceanview Guesthouse (Paule) and Choice Villa (Minta). The food at both places was delicious and not expensive.

Our thanks to Cecile, Paule, Vanessa, Elda, Minta and the taxi driver Ben for making our stay in Mahe to a very relaxed one again!

Greetings from The Netherlands,
Bjorn and Sander

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    40
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
70
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed one week in Choice Villa. Our appartment (the one in the middle) was comfortable, well equipped (safe, home appliances, comfortable bed,...) and clean. The terrace with a beautifl view over the Beau Vallon Beach was a very good spot during some rainy days. Breakfast is served on the terrace (eggs, toast, fresh fruits,...). One evening we opted for creole diner prepared on demand by one of Cécile's colleagues which was excellent and not expensive. Cécile's team (Nicole, Paolo,...) is very helpful and we enjoyed their hospitality. Choici Villa is not directly located on the beach (about a 10 min walk) and a car is recommended for those who want to explore the island. However, we used the public bus system which worked quite well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochst, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The Coice Villa is a nice place to stay. The rooms will be renovated from now on. It's a 10 minutes walk to the beach and restaurants are in 20 minutes walking distance. Cecil and her team do everything for a comfortable stay. The dinner in the evening is highly recommended!! THANKS to Cecil and her team for a really nice stay on Mahe.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin23482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at Choice Villa for a couple of nights. The view is breathtaking! You can have breakfast and dinner on the terrace. So relaxing!

Inside is simply decorated and clean. It is self-catering. Good value for money.

Dinner is very good and much more worth it than eating from a restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We had such a lovely time at choice villas, a real home away from home for the three of us (including our 1 year old who loved it) the staff all made us feel really comfortable straight away. the apartment was spacious, comfortable and clean. the food provided if you want it was yummy and very reasonable. highly recommended. thanks to cecile and all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theHannahpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We have just arrived back (5/11/11) from a 10 night stay at Choice Villa and can't praise the place enough!!

From the very beginning, the staff have been excellent. Prior to arrival, the owner, Cecile, was very helpful with our online enquiries and bookings, making arrangements for our airport pick up and advising on car hire. We had an early morning arrival and a late evening departure, but this was no problem to Choice Villa - our room was available immediately and on payment of E25, we had the use of another room right up to the last minute - can't fault service like that!!
We were greeted on arrival by Winnie and Manita, who kept our apartment clean over our stay and sorted out any minor issues we had (1 broken toilet handle which was fixed within a few hours of it happening and the odd extra loo roll or towel needed on occassion - no real dramas there!!). They also provided breakfast for those who had opted for the B&B option. They left the property about 2pm every day (no reception facilities for a couple of hours) and then, in the evening, we were joined by a Night Patrolman who stayed from 6pm to 6am to ward off any opportunist theives (unforetuately this is on the up in Seychelles). If you didn't want to cater for yourselves or want to take the short drive (or long walk) to Beau Vallon, Minta and her lovely assisant provided the tastiest and best value evening meals in the Seychelles right on your patio!!! This is my 5th visit to the Seychelles and I've eaten at many restaurants but I cannot rate these meals enough!!! At E12 per person - there was 3 courses of fresh, tasty and plentiful creole food (dessert tended to be fruit or ice-cream) that were served with a smile. Minta took lots of consideration for dietry needs (my husband is diabetic and she took this into account) and each time when we prebooked our next meal (we ate there 4 times), she consulted us on our likes etc. Hats off to you Minta - you and your food are excellent!!!!

On viewing Choice Villa's website prior to arrival, I requested a stay in the front corner apartment (Frangpani - I think it was called). On arrival, this was the only one with sunbeds and had a dining table and 2 chairs outside for alfresco meals. It was larger than we expected comprising of 3 large rooms branching off a large hall area. The kitchen/diner/lounge area was very spacious and supplied a full sized cooker, microwave, fridgefreezer, dining table with 6 chairs, 3 piece suite, TV and internet connection (25 rupees per day), wall mounted fan and a small bed suitable for a 3rd person. The nice sized bedroom had 2 comfortable single beds (pushed together for a large king sized bed), chair, large wardrobe/cupboard unit, air con unit, baby cot and key locked safe. (Aircon and Safe were included in the price of the room). The bathroom branched off from the bedroom and was, again, another good sized room with sink, toilet, clothes airer and bath with over bath shower (plenty of hot water). The only weird thing in all the rooms were the locations of light switches - none were by the doors - the main kitchen and lounge switches were located mid room behind a bookcase, the bedroom switch mid wall towards the window and the bathroom light outside the bathroom door in the bedroom - confusing at 1st but we soon got used to it! The kitchen equipment was basic with only 2 knives, forks, dishes and mugs and odd numbers of glasses, plates etc and no measuring jugs etc, but we made do just fine. It was 3 pin plugs in the room that suited us for our chargers etc.

Due to the elevated position of Choice Villa (very steep but short walk up to it with car parking for 4/5 cars), the view over Beau Vallon Bay was spectacular. The beautiful Beau Vallon beach is a 5/10 minute walk towards Beau Vallon (beach access is between the sewage station (don't be alarmed) and bus stop) and the quieter Marie Laurie beach is a 5/10 minute walk in the opposite direction (access across the road from Bel Ombre Holiday Apartments and just before Beach house). There are 2 shops about 50m either side of Choice Villa (on the way to beaches) where you can get milk, water, bread etc. The bus stop to Victoria is located just outside Choice Villa (no 22 bus cost of 5 Rupees per person each way) which is ideal if you stay for a short time, otherwise, hiring a car is a good idea, especially if you want to explore Mahe or have meals out at restaurants.

We are great lovers of the Seychelles and must say, at E75 per room per night, Choice Villa provides fantastic value and a clean place to stay on Mahe. Fair enough, it isn't directly on the beach but it's not too long a walk to get to the nearest beaches and location wise, other than a lack of restaurants in the immediate vacinity, it is in a great position for views, shops and getting around.

We will definitely come back one day and many thanks to all at Choice Villa for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Frangipani Room (on the corner) is lovely for 2/3 people and very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

close to beauvallon beach, a magnificent view, a perfect service in appartment so large you can organize a party for many people, the perfect cooking of Minta (offering for 12 euro a fish dinner better that in many seychelles restaurant), they help you to solve every problem
the have also ocean view apartment, very beatiful, but there is non dinner on request, but they are close to a nice restaurant

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlo-onofri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.6 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
0.7 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Guest House
Ocean View Guest House
#2 of 2 in Bel Ombre
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Romance Bungalows
Romance Bungalows
#5 of 7 in Beau Vallon
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
The H Resort Beau Vallon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Choice Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choice Villa

Property: Choice Villa
Address: Bel Ombre | Mahe, Bel Ombre, Mahe Island 00000, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choice Villa is made up of 3 comfortably furnished self-catering apartments. Most of the furniture has been produced from Seychelles timber adding a local ambiance to your stay. Each apartment has a large double bedroom with bathroom and toilet ensuite, kitchen and dining/sitting room. All have ceiling fans and the bedrooms are air-conditioned. The verandah at the front of the Villa provides a relaxing and cool area where guests can enjoy breakfast and dinner. We are situated a leisurely 10 to 15 minute walk from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Choice Villa Hotel Bel Ombre
Choice Villa Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing