We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people at friendly island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice people at friendly island”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I found this place with the help of reviews through sites search. Everyone was saying that Cecile, who takes care of the guest house, is a nice person. I guess it was the main reason, why we chose that place. And i saw the pictures, the pictures turned out exactly the same in the reality. The house has really nice style, really clean, island spirit. And Cecile helps us to find the best solution with the rooms. Paule who works with another lady in this house are really welcoming and friendly hostesses. I thank them one thousand times. The view is true - blue ocean!!! from all the angles, so don't worry if you will get even ground floor room. If you don't have the ability to drive the car as us, buses are the best budgetary choice. They will take you at every point of the island, and where there are no roads, there are your feet, just take the water and sunblock. There are a lot of beautiful beaches and places around the island, take the opportunity to visit them all. And people, the best what has island. It seems they don't have much, but they appreciate what they have. I visited around 20 countries and people from Seychelles are the top of my the most friendly nation, even children are so smiley. You will not regret if you will choose this "view"! ;))) good luck and nice staying

Room Tip: Cecile, who is taking care of the guest house, is a really helpful person. She will try for sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    35
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
München
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This B&B is just the perfect place on the Island. The staff is very welcoming and willing to tell you everything about their Island. The price is very reasonable and the rooms are very clean.
The breakfast is simple but with fresh products: Eggs, fruits, coffee or tea, pancakes. You can order dinner in the morning. The dinner is very nice and very big portions for only 15 euros.
It is better, to rent a ca to get from the ocean view guest house to the beautiful white beaches everywhere on the island. The popular Beau Vallon Beach is only some minutes away.
We had a lovely stay at the ocean view guest house. Thank you.

Room Tip: With ocean view on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganserli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The rooms are clean and are equipped with an A/C, the staff is friendly. The hotel is next to the sea side (you have to cross a road to get to the beach).

They serve coffee, tea, juice, fruits, eggs and homemade marmalade in the morning.

The bus stop to get around the island is located about 10 meters away from the hotel.
There's a scubar center about 50 meters away where we booked a trip for diving ( a good choice, too).
You'll find enough reasonable restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Try to get the room facing the beach - then you can get your breakfast on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoehlenknarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have found this place unexpectedly very nice - big spacious rooms(you get 2 bedroom apartment basically) for 3 persons. You have your very own safebox, locks on every door inside, a big TV(but with just 2 local channels - but who needs it at all ?:)), spacious bathroom, a balcony with 2 chairs, a big king size bed and of course a great view at the ocean.
However, this place is not so easy to find so you should clarify it's exact location with the owners or personnel.
People serving you are very friendly and kind - they are there to help you with any problem which may arise. Special thanks goes to Paul - the best host that we've ever seen so far.
They have a parking lot for 3-4 cars.
The only cons are the nearby road and birds(or bats) which are always there not to let you sleep deeply :) - but you can get rid of those noises by just closing the balcony's door ;)
Airconditioner is present.
Room cleaning takes place every day.
You have an option to have a great BBq in the evening with 4 different types of ocean fish(3 pieces of each) for 2 persons(17 Euros per person). The guy who makes the BBq is fantastic - meat is juicy and well fried.
So i can definitely recommend this place to guests with car - since the location itself is far not the most convinient.
As for the WiFi Internet - you can just go to Choice Villa - same owners and catch there free Meridien(Fishermen's Cove - if im not mistaken) WiFi network - the speed is great, signal is stable.
Hope the above info helps ;)

Room Tip: I think 2nd floor is the best choice(great view) - but its 10 euros more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TykhonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We booked this vacation rental relatively late with not too many options left. However, Cecile the owner was very helpful and proposed the best available solution to us. This included the possibility to change our apartment from the ground floor to the first floor after the second night.
We arrived early morning from the airport so we were immediately offered with breakfast and our apartment was prepared soon. For budgetary reason we decided to take one apartment only despite our concern that the small bedroom may be too small for our two teenage daughters. But the room did serve the purpose and together with the large bedroom we had no shortage of living space. The rooms were simply but adequately furnished, beds were comfortable and the rooms and bathroom were always clean.
Breakfast was served in the first floor dining room and was a good start for the day with coffee or tea, fresh juice, fresh local fruits, locally made jams with toast and eggs of your choice. There is a large fridge with freezer and coffee making facility in the small bedroom but there is no self cooking facility so you have to dine out.
As we were promised we moved into one of the first floor apartments from the third night onwards. To be accurate, we didn't have to do anything - we left our ground floor apartment in the morning and returned to the first floor one in the evening - all our belongings were shifted by the staff. Here Ocean View really stands for its name; you have almost 180 degrees view on the Bel Ombre Bay.
Ocean View is located just 20 minutes walk from the popular Beau Vallon. However, a car rental is a must if you want to explore as much as possible of Mahe. Walking or driving to the other direction and parking your car at the La Scala Restaurant will offer you a stunning trekking path which takes you to Anse Major, a beautiful beach with full privacy. The trail which has medium difficulty, takes you through the granite cliffs over the aquamarine waters and you need about an hour and a half to reach Anse Major. Take plenty of water with you but even if don't, you will find fresh spring water on your way. If you are too lazy to take the return path you will find a speed boat with driver or at least his mobile number at Anse Major who can drop you back to Bel Ombre in 15 minutes for EUR 10 per person.
Last but not least the friendliness and helpfulness of all staff members shall be mentioned who contributed to our memorable stay.

Room Tip: For clear ocean view take one of the upper floor apartments. However, if you dont like steps, stay o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zoltan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We arrived by taxi from the Jetty arranged by the guesthouse owner. We got a lovely room on the top floor with two bedrooms, bathroom and a balcony. There was a tv, a safety locker and a fridge in the room. The breakfast was excellent with coffee, toast, home made jam, fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice and eggs of your choice; scrambled, fried, omelett etc. We were able to get a late check-out as well, which was really great since our flight back home was departing late in the evening. The transfer to the airport from the guesthouse was arranged by the guesthouse owner as well, upon request.
The guesthouse is situated about 1,5 km walk from the Beau Vallon beach, so you can manage without a car if you don't mind the walk. There is a bus stop just down the street as well if you prefer the bus. There aren't that many restaurants around the guesthouse, and the ones that are within walking distance are very popular so you might have to make reservations in advance to get a table in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foliohattu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
1.2 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
1.0 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Romance Bungalows
Romance Bungalows
#5 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
11.1 mi away
Le Relax Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Guest House

Property: Ocean View Guest House
Address: Bel Ombre Road, Bel Ombre, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Guest House is situated a short walk from the quiet and beautiful Marie Laure Beach and some 5 minutes drive from the famous Beau Vallon Beach. It consists of 4 beautifully decorated units each comprising a large air conditioned bedrooms, en-suite bathroom and changing room. The rooms are furnished with locally made and is equipped with television and refrigerator, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast usually includes a selection of locally made jams and juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing