We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elk Lake Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
36
18
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
18
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh peakshiking trailsnightly ratefireplaceprivacyunit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I can only comment on the Inn rooms. They are fairly small. One person with luggage basically fills it up. Two people will be cramped. The bathrooms are small, too. Small, but functional. You go to the Elk Lake Lodge to savor the rustic Adirondack experience. Don't go the Lodge expecting the Waldorf Astoria and you won't be disappointed.

It's a 4-mile drive on an unpaved road from the main road to the Lodge. To give you an idea of how big their property is. 12,000 acres. The views from the dock and the dining room are breathtaking. You are looking straight into the High Peaks region of the Adirondacks. Trailheads to several High Peaks dot the property. Abundant canoes & kayaks are available to explore Elk Lake and search for loons. Waves, if any, will only come from the wind. No motors allowed on Elk Lake.

Breakfast, dinner, and a trail lunch are included in the daily price. Considering how small the resort's capacity is (40 guests max), I don't consider it expensive. 40 guests enjoying 12,000 acres and a private lake. Plus, unlike other resorts, they don't charge a premium for single occupancy. If you're solo, you actually only pay 1/2 the daily rate. A bargain, in my opinion!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BigBirdPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Elk Lake Lodge is a great place to go as a couple, with friends, kids over 3, or solo. This is a Lodge not a resort, there are no bells & whistles. The rooms are small & the bathroom's even smaller. The place is kept clean. This was my second stayed in the main lodge with 6 friends to go hiking in the high peaks (trails practically right out the door) & paddle around Elk Lake. The food is very good & plentiful especially after a day of strenuous hiking. They also have nice trails if you just want to go for a walk in the woods.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed just one night at the Elk Lake Lodge in the Main lodge. The purpose of our trip was to do some hiking in the Dix Mountain Wilderness region right next door.

The staff were extremely polite and helpful. A very warm greeting and so much explained to us for a just a one night stay! We were made most welcome.

The spot is as beautiful as all the photos and more.

The lake was gorgeous and refreshing after the 90 degree heat in July. It is an extremely healthy lake and little tiny fish will swim around you and occasionally bump into you, but no harm.

The rooms are tiny. The bathroom has a murphy door and if you weigh over 200 pounds you are not too likely to get in this room. There was a real problem with condensation (I think due to the extreme heat). Water dripping everywhere. The bathrooms do need an overhaul, but you don't really care because you are not there for a 'luxury' resort experience.

Oscillating fans were provided in our room to help with the extreme heat. Very nice.

The food is okay. The turkey dinner was not the best. Meat was dry and potatoes without much flavor.. but the dining room is full windows and you don't really care because the view and humming birds are so breath taking! Trail lunch fantastic. Staff prepared it for us extra early so we could 'hit the trails' before the heat.

We will return next year. If you want to get away from civilization... this is it!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a lake view. The windows in the rooms are small, but is at least nice to see the lake in the morning.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ADK_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The setting is one of the best of any place I have ever stayed. The constant calling of the loons over the lake makes for an eerie and magical experience. There are lots of trails to hike on, and canoes, kayaks and rowboats to make use of. The rooms in the main lodge are small and somewhat claustrophobic, and the bathroom in our room had some maintenance issues. The sitting room is beautifully decorated in the old lodge style. The staff was wonderful and the food was fine, if fairly basic. The packed lunches are a great idea, so that you can be out enjoying the wilderness all day and not have to come back to the lodge for lunch. My main issue is the high cost, which would probably keep me from going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is a remarkable property and a perfect base for an active or laid-back weekend in the Adirondacks. It's a wilderness lodge and the rooms are small and basic, with fans but no A/C, so if your accommodation standard is "Chateau" and you need gilded bedspreads to be happy, this won't suit you. On the other hand, if you keep room time to a minimum & would rather be outside on an Adirondack chair listening to loons, or on a trail through the woods to a lookout, this is a great choice. The lake is a beauty with about 20 little forested islands, and canoes and kayaks are yours for the taking. Staff is extremely friendly & helpful - we misjudged a long climbing day, were 3 hours late for dinner, and they said "We were worried about you - we saved 4 plates", then warmed it all up and fed us in the dining room. Guests tend to be easygoing and convivial too. Main room is classic Adirondacks - deep wood, handmade chairs, mounted stag heads... Massive breakfasts (if you want), trail lunches (check the boxes), nicely prepared dinners (choice of 2), all included in the very reasonable rates (about $150 pp). Easy access to the High Peaks and Adirondack towns like Keene and Lake Placid. My first trip, but definitely not my last.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ushuaian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews