We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true african bush experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sediba Private Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We arrived at this resort and was picked up at the gate by Sam, who would be our ranger for the game drives. He was very friendly and informative.
When we arrived at the hotel we were greated with a very special Sediba welcome, which you have to experience for yourself, so i wont reveal it here!
We been to a lot of game lodges in South Africa, and I can say that the rooms are the most spectacular I have ever seen. I cant see how they can be any better. They come with everything you can expect from a luxury room, including a jacuzzi on the deck with amazing views and a outdoor shower!
The game drives were good and we saw a lot of animals. Not the best I have been on but above average.
The food is very nice, and staff friendly and helpful.
Daisy did a excellent job as hostess and made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Be nice to Daisy!
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AislinnMumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Sediba Private Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2011

The moment Daisy wellcomed us to Sediba, we felt that we were going to have a very special weekend. There are no words to describe the quality of the service, the size of the room and the divine meals, in particular the dinner at the boma. Just amazing. All staff were spectacular and would like to Thank Stephan for all his expertise on the game rides. Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We chose Sediba because it is in a maleria free zone and because of the other freviews.
From the moment we arrived until we left we were made to feel like it was our own personal game reserve. We cannot speak highly enough of the staff, nothing was too much trouble and they were always on hand when needed without ever being obtrusive.
The room was to die for, so big we could have played hide and seek!
Despite there only being a limited menu at meal times everything was fresh and cooked to perfection. Dinner on the boma by candlenight was magical with the staff singing and dancing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank culloty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Had a fabulous stay at Sediba with our 6 month old son. The staff is unbelievably friendly and hospitable. Our child minder for the week, Aida, was amazing - we never worried about him while out on the game drives.
The boma at dinner was a spectacular show, as was the food.
My husband and I both had great massages, although the spa itself is nothing to write home about.
As far as the game is concerned, we were very pleased to have seen the Big 5. Our ranger, Steven, was very nice and knowledgable about all the animals, and also taught us about local customs/culture.
We stayed at both Letlapa and Letlapala during our stay. If you have a choice, I would highly recommend booking Letlapa. The rooms are very similar (tastefully decorated and HUGE), but the lodge and ambiance at Letlapa is superior.
Overall, a wonderful stay and I definitely recommend this lodge for game viewing and little luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abrouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Our trip to Sediba could not have been any better. It was a first rate experience which exceeded our every expectation. The suites are amazing from the hugh space to the private deck with hot tub overlooking a spectacular valley. There are only ten suites so it is very private. Meals rival anything you would get from a top restaurant in any large city. Amazing considering you are in the bush hours from any city.
A great part of the stay was the staff. They could not have been more pleasant or helpful. From hot towels upon arrival to cold cocktails on the plain at sunset - they catered to your every need.
Game drives gave you memories to last a lifetime! That's what we were there for and we were not disappointed. Our rangers, Douglas and Rob, were very knowledgable about the animals, birds and land. They gave us plenty of time to get great pictures and it was also obvious they enjoyed their jobs and cared for the animals and land.
I didn't think I could get more relaxed until I returned from a game drive and had a hot stone massage.
I recommend this trip to anyone who wants an amazing safari experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlinkDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Stayed at Sediba with 10 others for 3 days in Feb. We had children,teenagers and adults. Everyone at Sediba is highly trained in treating their guests as if they are royals.
The rooms were fantastic ,the food 5 star and the game drives allot of fun.
Highly recommend it.......Thanks Rob ,Douglas and all at Sediba

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Absolutely Fantastic - Everything was amazing at this lodge which is situated within the Welgevonden Game Reserve. The Staff here were fantastic and the service we received while staying there was Excellent. We truly felt that anything we wanted was possible.

We were there for our Honeymoon and we are so happy that we chose Sediba. I highly recommend this Lodge for anyone looking for a Safari experience. We were there for 8 nights and this was the best Holiday we have ever had.

Thank you to everyone from Sediba....

Thank blomdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Welgevonden Game Reserve hotels
10.0 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
155 reviews
5.9 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
151 reviews
7.3 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#5 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
263 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jamila Game Lodge
Jamila Game Lodge
#7 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
106 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#6 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sediba Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sediba Private Game Lodge

Address: Welgevonden, Site 61 | Vaalwater, Welgevonden Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: £440 - £529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sediba Private Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sediba offers exclusivity, style and luxury against a backdrop of wild Africa in all her splendour. Situated in the malaria free Welgevonden Private Game Reserve. Sediba Game Lodge is only a three-hour drive from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sediba Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sediba Private Game Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing