We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sediba Private Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Warm”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We had a four night stay...with two game drives a day so a total of 6 drives. May sound too many but there were special experiences each time that could not be repeated like the elephant charging at our vehicle and the lion eating the head of a buck and the leopard's recent catch hanging from a tree. All of the Sediba Team were multi-tasking but still managed to make us feel special. Rooms were awesome in size and amenities except the telephone system. Food was specially good. Game drivers were especially attentive and informative.

Room Tip: Their internal communication system was not working and leaving rooms at night was a "no-no.&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    9
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
40
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I think that what I liked best about Sediba was that every employee was a multi-tasker. That is to say, each seemed happy to do whatever work was needed at the time. The waiters were also the bellhops who also did some security, the masseuse was also the room cleaner who also welcomed you post-game drive with a hot towel and drink, the resort manager also took drink orders and drove the game vehicles to drop you off, and so on. No one, as far as I could tell, did just one job at Sediba. It's an interesting model, and in my opinion it made the staff more invested in a guest's total experience at Sediba. I liked it.

The cabins were beautiful, and the food was simply made but delicious every time. There are, however, two major flaws that prevent me from giving Sediba a 5/5 ranking.
1. Every cabin's bathroom is integrated into the rest of the cabin. That is to say, it's an open bathroom area, exposed to the rest of the cabin, save the toilet. Although the cabin is large and L-shaped, so in theory you could be showering and have privacy as long as the other person stays put on the other side of the L, I still didn't like that. I stayed with my parents and am old enough to want some privacy when naked, but they are young enough to not want to have to sit in one spot and not move while I bathed. Sediba assumes that romantic couples or those comfortable with their bodies are the only guests, but they aren't. I think they should provide screens on request that people may use to cover the shower area or tub area from the rest of the cabin's residents. In the end, I exiled my parents for half an hour every morning, which was not entirely inconvenient, but far from ideal for them.
2. If you are afraid of insects, Sediba is not for you. We are from a third world country, and though not afraid of insects, the volume of those inside the cabin at night was ridiculous. They must have been coming in through some gap between the thatched roof and the structure itself. Moths and mosquitoes were the biggest issues, and these bad boys were not the type of "I'll leave you alone if you leave me alone" types of insects. Full on attacks! My first night I could barely sleep with all the moths fluttering onto my face. I spent the remaining evenings budgeting 20 minutes with a rolled up magazine swatting those I could. I think providing mosquito nets for beds in the evening would be of tremendous help. Mere bug sprays were insufficient to deal with the issue.

Game drives were good fun, and even after 2 weeks of them at other locations, there was still adventures to be had at this reserve. I think I enjoyed my game drives here more than any other location in my South African trip.

Room Tip: There are two cabins closer to the lodge that involve walking down to an elevated wooden platform an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had a 2 night stay at Sediba. It was the most awesome trip.The room size just blew our minds away. It is approx. 125 sqm and each room has its very own private jacuzzi.Its the perfect place for honeymooners or for couples in need of some quality time together. During the 2 night stay, we went on 4 game drives which was approximately 18 hours in total and on every drive, we saw different animals. We were also lucky enough to see a leopard. The food is incredible and the boma experience at this lodge is like no other. The only shlep is the drive to the place, the 17km gravel road is a bit hectic so its preferably to take a landcruiser or helicopter, if you can afford to. Definitely looking forward to going back there again.

Room Tip: Every room is totally awesome with its own private jacuzzi so no worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

A beautiful property.......................no management, Basil Fawlty would be at home here. 5 star lodge but no staff or service. Game drive appalling bordering on dangerous.. Food reminiscent of school dinners....sponge pudding and bought custard!!!! At these prices. Avoid.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We took our 3 children here for their first game reserve experience as it was a malaria free area, and had the most amazing time! Victor was our guide and he was amazing, his knowledge was fantastic and he was so helpful and good at tracking the animals! The food was incredible, we felt like royalty as we had the entire place to ourselves! The room was massive and beautiful and all the staff were fantastic! I would highly recommend it, could not fault a single thing!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We arrived at this resort and was picked up at the gate by Sam, who would be our ranger for the game drives. He was very friendly and informative.
When we arrived at the hotel we were greated with a very special Sediba welcome, which you have to experience for yourself, so i wont reveal it here!
We been to a lot of game lodges in South Africa, and I can say that the rooms are the most spectacular I have ever seen. I cant see how they can be any better. They come with everything you can expect from a luxury room, including a jacuzzi on the deck with amazing views and a outdoor shower!
The game drives were good and we saw a lot of animals. Not the best I have been on but above average.
The food is very nice, and staff friendly and helpful.
Daisy did a excellent job as hostess and made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Be nice to Daisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AislinnMumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

The moment Daisy wellcomed us to Sediba, we felt that we were going to have a very special weekend. There are no words to describe the quality of the service, the size of the room and the divine meals, in particular the dinner at the boma. Just amazing. All staff were spectacular and would like to Thank Stephan for all his expertise on the game rides. Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.4 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
185 reviews
22.1 mi away
Zulu Camp
Zulu Camp
#1 of 2 in Vaalwater
15 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
140 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 36 in Vaalwater
386 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#6 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sediba Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sediba Private Game Lodge

Property: Sediba Private Game Lodge
Address: Welgevonden, Site 61 | Vaalwater, Welgevonden Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sediba Private Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sediba offers exclusivity, style and luxury against a backdrop of wild Africa in all her splendour. Situated in the malaria free Welgevonden Private Game Reserve. Sediba Game Lodge is only a three-hour drive from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sediba Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sediba Private Game Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing