We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway”
Review of Tshwene Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tshwene Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had an amazing 2 night stay, the first evenings Boma dinner was great . The game drives were fantastic . We were very lucky to see a male cheetah on a Wildebeest kill. I really wish we didn't have to leave. The staff at the lodge are friendly and we were always greeted with a smile.i would highly recommend Tshwene Lodge to anyone looking for a break from the city life.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigjordaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for the great feedback.

I have yet to see cheetah in Welgevonden. Let alone cheetah on a kill. It must have been an awesome sighting.

Once again our staff shone as they always do and it certainly does not go unnoticed.

Thank you for visiting Tshwene Lodge and we hope to see you in the not too distant future.


Kind regards


Richard de la Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    23
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a quick weekend getaway for our 8 year wedding anniversary to Tshwene lodge. What an amazing weekend! The staff and managing couple went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. From private romantic dinner by candlelight and fire place, 5 star food and game drives. We were lucky enough to see a cheetah with its kill. The Welgevonden game reserve is beautiful and untouched. Thank you to all who made this weekend memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JansenLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for the fantastic feedback and for celebrating your anniversary at Tshwene Lodge.

I see the game did not disappoint and to see a cheetah on a kill is a very special sighting. Cheetah are being seen more and more regularly now and this always goes down well with the guests.

Nothing really beats a romantic dinner in the bush. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed it so much.

Hopefully you'll visit us soon again.


Kind regards


Richard de la Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kroonstad South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A special lodge in the heart of Welgevonden, set in a beautiful location. The staff went out of their way to make my 60th birthday a day (or rather a week-end) to remember. I want to offer my sincere thanks to Keith and Brigitte with Ephraim, Lena, Lena and Jacob. The food were delicious, the room comfortable, clean, private and warm. The game drives were amazing , seeing 4 of the Big 5 on every drive. Thank you ever so much for the "table for two" at mealtimes, the wine, the birthday cake. We really appreciated the trouble you took to solve the water crisis (naughty elephant!)

Room Tip: Rooms are all set apart. Honeymoon suite is the only room with a fire-place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 548RvG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and thank you for celebrating your special occasion at Tshwene Lodge.

Once again the staff made all the difference and we are very fortunate to have them on board. They really do a great job and I know you were well looked after.

Hopefully it's not too long before you visit us again.


Kind regards


Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We arrived on Saturday morning and were greeted with a warm welcome and a warm facecloth to freshen up after the trip to the lodge. We were introduced to all the staff members and they all were so welcoming and friendly. The first evening we enjoyed the most wonderful evening at the boma under the stars and had so much fun with all the other guests. We loved all the special detail given to the food, seating arrangements, even the salt and pepper sets - all the small stuff that one think no one notices. My weekend was made more special with a cake and a serenade for my birthday! Besides enjoying the game drives we were very privileged to enjoy the company of a leopard and an elephant on the lodge grounds. Friendships were made with the other guests and we will be keeping in touch with one another. Thank you Heath, Bridget and your staff for making this a weekend which I will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Such wonderful feedback. Thank you.

You are quite right, it's the smaller things that make a difference and our guests do take not as you have.

Our staff are amazing and really go out of their way in all aspects.

Thank you once again and we hope you visit us soon again.


Kind regards


Richard de la Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What an amazing weekend we have just had at Tshwene Lodge. I don't even know where to begin. So to keep my raves to a minimum let me list just a few: The staff - wow they really know how to make you feel so welcome. They made us feel like we were the only guests there that is how one on one the treatment was. The friendliness was awesome. Now the food - my word put your diet aside and just enjoy. Every single meal had the personal touch from the little salt and pepper to the presentation of the meals. I had the best beef fillet ever. Just the overall experience was enough for me to want to go back there time and time again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine792014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Justine792014


Thank you for the wonderful review. I say it time and time again but we are truly blessed with our staff and they really make the guests' stay unforgettable.

It certainly is difficult to stick to any diet when staying at Tshwene Lodge and as you say, the food is really out of this world.


Thank you for visiting Tshwene Lodge and we really do hope you visit us again soon.


Kind regards


Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My Girlfriend and I went to celebrate a special occasion, for the weekend at Tshwene Lodge.....our engagement. WOW, what an incredible experience.....The lodge's utter beauty, the tranquillity of the tree engulfed lodge and last but certainly not least the staff. Their professionalism, friendliness's and willingness to do what ever is needed to ensure the guests experience is that of monumental proportion is un-founding. I would recommend it to everyone!!

A special mention goes out to Lauren Ritchie (CEO of Rare Earth Retreats), Heath and Bridget (Lodge Managers). Thank you so much for all the help organising this special weekend.

Heath, Bridget and your team at Tshwene, There was not a box unticked or a stone unturned...the weekend was amazing and one we would never forget.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear ndabbs


Thank you for your awesome feedback.

Firstly I would like to congratulate you on your engagement. What a wonderful place to celebrate.

We are really fortunate to have such wonderful staff led by Heath and Bridget who are absolutely brilliant in their own right.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope that you visit us soon again.


Kind regards


Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I are seasoned 5 star lodge "visitors" and have been to numerous lodges on Welgevonden Game reserve as well as other venues including Ulusaba -Richard Bransons Private Lodge - in the Sabi area.

We can honestly say this experience is in the top2.

Best Game viewing, fabulous ranger and lodge staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaiserDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear KaiserDE

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback. We truly appreciate it. To be compared to the best and rate as number 2 among your best experiences is a wonderful accolade.

Thank you for visiting Tshwene Lodge and we hope you will visit again in the not too distant future.


Kind regards


Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
7.2 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ekuthuleni Lodge
Ekuthuleni Lodge
#7 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#4 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
257 reviews
5.0 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#3 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
144 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 36 in Vaalwater
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tshwene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshwene Lodge

Property: Tshwene Lodge
Address: Welgevonden Gate, Welgevonden Game Reserve 2074, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tshwene Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tshwene Lodge is a secluded oasis of romantic suites perched along the rugged valley of the Taaibos River. It offers peace and tranquillity for those seeking to get away from it all. The five strategically positioned suites all offer privacy amongst a canopy of trees while affording intimate views of the valley below and the hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, South African Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tshwene Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tshwene Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing