We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want in a five-star game lodge”
Review of Nedile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nedile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Orinda, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything you want in a five-star game lodge”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Nedile. Michael and his wife (whose name is, I'm sorry to admit, beyond me) are excellent hosts. The game drives were always interesting thanks to Michael's wealth of knowledge; and the hotel itself is superbly run by his wife and her excellent staff. Add to this the physical location and design of the hotel and you end up with a superb experience. Altogether one of the best we enjoyed during our visit to South Africa.

One last note: Because the lodge is on a private game reserve, there are rules that limit the number of safari vehicles that can be present at any one sighting to four, so you never encounter the crowd around big-5 sighting that you do in other parks.

Room Tip: You can't chose a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
101
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This hidden gem was everything we wanted and more! Fantastic management couple, great staff who went out of there way to spoil us! Game drives were superb, and we learnt so much... Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFundi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We had a lovely stay at Nedile lodge with friendly staff who went out of their way to make our visit a special experience. We will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pannevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The lodge is great. The staff was working just for a few months and in our opinion a little bit unexperienced and young. Our ranger was very affraid of elephants. And one evening drive we were attacked by a group of 20 elephants; our ranger did not know what to do. We were more affraid because of him than because of the elephants. We have been in South Africa 12 times and the location and lodge are beautiful; but do not espect a lot of animals to see.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebregts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nedile, Owner at Nedile Lodge, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
At Nedile we only employ experienced guides. The guide on duty during your visit is 23 years old with more than 4 years guiding experience in Big 5 game reserves. He is a qualified trails guide that means that he is qualified to operate on foot between dangerous animals, including elephant and the Big 5. As part of this training he is required to demonstrate his competence in the presence of dangerous game on foot. Only then will the trails guide qualification be certified by an independent goverment qualifications body. This is a very high qualifications and a minority of game lodges in Southern Africa that operate in big five territory even have this level of qualified nature guides on staff. Most guides are only qualified to do game drives with a vehicle and not qualified to take paying guests on guided walks in a big 5 territory. It is also very unusual behavior for the Welgevonden Elephants to behave so aggressive as they would normaly walk up to vehicles without any problems. The guide explained that this was very unusal behaviour of the elephants, the he was never afraid but carefull, and that he has been in tight spots with elephant before. Sorry about your exeprience but please rest assured that you were in the hands of very experienced and top qualified nature guide that put the safety of guests first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We had a wonderful time at Nedile from the moment of pickup at the airport until our return to Johannesburg. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. More warmhearted hospitality than professional perfection. And the little bedtime surprises were something else - especially on Valentine's day. The food was very good and authentic, not trying to be over the top.
The pool is very small - good enough for a refreshing dip though.
The game drives were of course the highlight of our stay. Our very knowledgeable and funny guide Lusinda managed to present a vast number of species. But rather than racing through the bush in the aged Defender she managed to let us experience the unspoiled tranquility of this beautiful land. Waterberg is truly gorgeous.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erlof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Nedile means (I think) gentle breeze and you certainly feel the peace of a special place. As you walk into the lodge you immediately feel the warmth of the welcome from the staff but also from the very tasteful decoration and furnishing of the large sitting room. Then you turn to the left and you are captured by the fabulous view of the veranda and the vista of the bush beyond. I have been in the South African winter and the summer, and both times this is a special place. Whether sitting around a large fire staring up at the uncluttered southern sky at night or sitting on the veranda sharing a chilled bottle of wine after a trip into the bush, the experience is truly calming. And then there are the showers outside - liberating as you stand under the water looking out over the bush. And then there are the trips to the bush to see those naughty guys the elephants, the rhinos, the giraffes, watching a troop of baboons making their way to a watering hole in true military style. And then ... there's the hope of one day seeing a lion - but that's not the only reason to go back which I most certainly will.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeneFBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2010

NEDILE left us with special memories after only two days of sheer enjoyment!

South African bush veldt and big five at its best.

Luxurious treatment and excellent hospitality experience.

But what we cherished most –
all of that personal private space and care free feeling of relaxation that we needed!

PLUS ... now we have a few great new friends there at NEDILE!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraD312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
12.7 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
361 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
141 reviews
10.7 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#4 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
142 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#3 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
145 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 37 in Vaalwater
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nedile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nedile Lodge

Property: Nedile Lodge
Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nedile Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nedile Lodge is situated in the Malaria free, Welgevonden Game Reserve 3 hours drive from Pretoria. Welgevonden Game Reserve is a declared Heritage Site of 36000 hectares (more than 80000 acres) bordering the Marekele National Park and part of the Waterberg Biosphere. This true bushveld environment is home to some of Africa’s most sought after game species, including one of the largest collections of white rhino on private land. Other species housed within this reserve include elephant, lion, leopard, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, eland and many other varieties of antelope. There may even be the opportunity to catch a glimpse of the aardvark, brown hyena or rarely seen honey badger ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nedile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nedile Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing