We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star at everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nedile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nedile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Five star at everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home at this beautiful lodge. The team is welcoming and hospitable and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable (including coffee served in bed with your wake-up call -- a first for me). They do 'attention-to-detail' really well and will pick up very quickly on your smallest of preferences.

Add to the mix, great food, fantastic game drives, amazing sights and you have the making of a perfect bush getaway.

Having visited Welgevonden before, this is by far my favorite lodge in this game reserve --
this is five-star-at-everything at its best. I will definitely be going back -- soon.

Room Tip: The room are all great with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquidSandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
99
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

If you are looking for the perfect luxurious game lodge to share some special moment, stop looking anymore this is the place! Nedile is the most beautiful game lodge you can imagine. We have spent there only 2 nights but everything during this stay was simply amazing.
Lodge is very beautiful, not fenced, with stunning views and perfect service. It is very private as there are only 5 cottages which can accommodate max 10 people. Try to arrange your stay during the week, we were lucky enough to have very private experience as there was only another couple except of us :)
Cottage was very beautiful with amazing terrace, beautiful bath with a view and the outside shower which was a hit and you have to try it when you are there. Food was divine and they have also accommodated for me being vegetarian and I had very tasty dishes to try. It was so lovely to dine under the most amazing stars I’ve ever see.
Common area and pool are very beautiful, everything blends perfectly with a nature and there is no single one unnecessary decoration there. It is not a family-friendly place and lodge itself welcomes only kids after certain age, so you can be sure that it will be perfect for the romantic experience.
Staff was great, very attentive yet discreet – the real 5 star experience.
We were lucky enough also to have the perfect game drives too; however this is a nature so you cannot be really certain. Welgevonden Game Reserve does not have so many animals like Pilanesberg or Kruger, but it’s landscape is so different and well worthy to visit.

PS. Write to lodge directly to make a reservation. When you are little out of main season and during the week you can get better offer!

Room Tip: Room nb 1, it is too close to main area so it is not private. Room number 3 has the biggest terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nedile, Owner at Nedile Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Gosia.
Thank you very much for your kind words. I just want to clarify that that you will not get a different price if you write directly to the lodge. The same specials and prices are honored to all tour operators so please feel free to book via your tour operator as you will get exactly the same price.
Hope to see you back soon!
Kind Regards
Hennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Had a short stay here, just 1 night and 2 game drives. But it sure is a place to remember.
Perfect hospitality, great guides, beautiful rooms and amazing view.

Can't think of a thing that wasn't right.

Great experience having breakfast with some mating giraffes in the background.

Regarding the staff we met:
Barend, thanks for the enjoyable and interesting game drives(we saw cheetah, lions, rhino and giraffe)
Anica and Micheal, keep up the good job, the place looks fantastic.
Gladys, thank you for the good service. And thanks to the cook, whose name I missed.

Would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, but there is one room close to the lounge which doesn't require you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
240 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were here some years ago and were very happy to find the lodge in excellent shape again. Luxury accommodation with much privacy and great view over the bushland and mountains. Welcoming and pleasant service by friendly and competent staff. Excellent game drives with - this time again - surprising wildlife encounters. A great place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Most of the other reviews say it all - the Nedile lodge is a little piece luxury with fantastic views across the Waterberg mountains. It was a very special experience, eating dinner on the veranda with a good glass of wine - under a starlit firmament the like of which we seldom see in Europe.
I have been to another lodge in the park before, so I knew the area. This lodge was more secluded - a real hideaway. We stayed 6 very lovely nights, and enjoyed every one of our 10 drives. There were always different things to see and not just the animals. The light was at time was simply stunning, never the same twice. In terms of animals, the lion, cheetah, rhinoceros and jackal babies were highlights - as were the encounters with elephants and of course the leopard.
The only feedback I would give is that during the period that we stayed at the lodge, it was not possible to enjoy a walking safari. So for people that like to move a little in order to better enjoy the fantastic food, it is better to check beforehand if this option is available. Apparently it depends on the ranger on duty at the time. For those that want to enjoy the animals from the safety of a land rover only - not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed with a whole group of friends between 19 and 70 at Nedile Lodge and we had a wonderful stay. Service was perfect, Michael, the ranger, did a very good job and showed us the most amazing and rare animals, food was lovely and the pool area was nice and clean and relaxing. I would always come back. Welgevonden is a huge Game Reserve and just after 5 mins in Nedile I felt perfectly relaxed and far away from my everyday stressful routine at work.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMSE_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

My second visit to this beautiful place and 5 glorious days. Nothing has changed. Still the perfect place in the bush. Still the perfect welcomes and friendly, happy service and delectable food. And still Anica and Michael run this place with such passion and dedication as if it were their very own. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Your every wish is their command.

Michael treats the bush and the animals with such respect, and upholds, unfailingly, the rules of the bush. Yes, even here there are rules. But rules to keep the natural habitat of the animals as unaffected as possible and of course, rules for the personal safety of the guests. It's not often one comes across this sincere care and attention to detail. Nice.

The weather wasn't that great, but that's the thing....it doesn't need to be. The bush and behaviour of the animals change with the weather, so there is always something interesting to experience despite what's happening above your head. And that incredible landscape, whether wind, cloud,rain or shine, is just that......incredible.

There's only one sad moment at Nedile.... when your vehicle is turning the bend and you're waving your last goodbye's.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms and each is unique in its own special way. I loved rooms 3 and 1. 3 has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGB-J1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
12.7 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
21.2 mi away
Zulu Camp
Zulu Camp
#1 of 2 in Vaalwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#3 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jamila Game Lodge cc
Jamila Game Lodge cc
#5 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 35 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nedile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nedile Lodge

Property: Nedile Lodge
Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nedile Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nedile Lodge is situated in the Malaria free, Welgevonden Game Reserve 3 hours drive from Pretoria. Welgevonden Game Reserve is a declared Heritage Site of 36000 hectares (more than 80000 acres) bordering the Marekele National Park and part of the Waterberg Biosphere. This true bushveld environment is home to some of Africa’s most sought after game species, including one of the largest collections of white rhino on private land. Other species housed within this reserve include elephant, lion, leopard, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, eland and many other varieties of antelope. There may even be the opportunity to catch a glimpse of the aardvark, brown hyena or rarely seen honey badger ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Nedile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nedile Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing