We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further for a magical safari experience!”
Review of Nedile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nedile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look no further for a magical safari experience!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Wow!! What a wonderful lodge with wonderful staff and wonderful food! We had an amazing couple of days and were treated like gold by everybody. We have been to a few safari lodges and this ranks among the best for us, and is certainly value for money.

The lodge is small and intimate, but in a good way. It is in a good location and has awesome views. The rooms were absolutely wonderful and the outside shower was just a treat! The view from our room was magnificent and so tranquil. It was very tastefully decorated and we felt like we were sleeping in luxury in the middle of the bush. The main common area was very comfortable inside and outside, even on cold winter nights. I loved how the staff minded us, but were considerate enough to also give us space. There was never a time when we were thirsty or hungry.

The game drives were lots of fun and we saw 3 of the big 5, but lots of other animals too. Barend (our ranger) was sure to educate us with facts about birds, trees and survival techniques in the bush. The animals look healthy and the Welgevonden reserve is very well looked after. If I could have had it my way, we would have spent the WHOLE day in the thick of the bush tracking animals.

Room Tip: Room #1 is right near the common area. In our opinion, it was not the best for privacy, so be sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbez_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
99
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The best place to switch off and concentrate on nothing else other than animals and all vast expanse of nature all around you. The rest is done for you.
Early morning game drives are worth braving the cold for with hot water bottles and poncho's provided, to look for and find game. We saw cheetahs and managed to catch a glimpse of a kill. Late afternoons proved fruitful too, with more cheetah sightings, elephants and leopard to end off perfectly.
The staff are great and friendly and very efficient. You lack for nothing. I have food intolerances and allergies and I was accommodated all the way with seemingly no effort (which I know is not the case). I was very impressed and the food was lovely.
The rooms are clean, perfect for what you need with a view of note.
The friendly, knowledgeable ranger, Barend made our game drives very pleasant and comfortable. His passion for nature certainly shines through.
Definitely worth a two or three night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnunes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The best thing about this lodge is that it is small and intimate and really makes one feel like you are part of a "big" family. My family and I have just returned from two wonderful days at Nedile. The staff (each and every one of them) are friendly, professional and I was particularly impressed with the way Michael interacted with my children. The rooms (firelplaces and hot water bottles which were very welcome) and the views from the room are wonderful and the food is outstanding - well done to the chef. We thoroughly enjoyed our game drives and the close and awesome sighting of Lion, Rhino and Buffalo to name just a few. Of course the highlight of our visit was when three Elephants came to drink from the swimming pool less than five feet away from us (and the lion that kept us awake as they were so close to our room). My daughter has rated this lodge as one of the best holidays she has ever had - of course we think her secret infatuation with Michael had something to do with that...... We will definitely be returning to Nedile. Thanks guys for an awesome few days!

Room Tip: As there are only a few rooms they are all perfectly situated. We stayed in a family room which is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley_labuschagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Leaving our car at the Gate to start our adventure (Make sure you have what you need in your luggage) we started our break with a short game drive to the Lodge with our friendly ranger.
The feeling in Welgevonden Game Reserve is that it’s big enough not to be a zoo but small enough that you’re never lost.
The lodge is warm, charming and integrated with its environment, accommodates only 5 couples at a time. Unfortunately we had room 1 which was attractive but closest to the public areas and so lacked privacy, also the shower didn’t work, but there was a beautiful bath with a few so no matter.
The accommodation is spacious and inviting, with an excellent self-service tea station stocked with locally baked cookies.
The food is outstanding and was a real treat, although it doesn’t stop so be prepared to pack on a few Kilo's (I have not had better pastries in Paris.)
The game drives are relaxing however you feel your part of a tour group as there are 60 concessions on the reserve and there are always 6 cars at every sighting. Reminds me a bit of the dune tour in Dubai, I prefer a somewhat more private viewing experience personally.
All in all my rating is this is a great short stay breakaway.

Room Tip: Dont get room 1 its not the best for privacy but close to the food :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nedile, Owner at Nedile Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Merlin.
Thanks for your kind words. I just want clarify some statements and to add to your description of room 1. Although room 1 it is close to the swimming pool and the main complex, some view this as a benefit, it has an extra room attached to the main bedroom and the unit can thus be shared by 3 people. We also installed a roller blind on the veranda that can be rolled down if you want to sit outside in privacy. Although the reserve is 34000 ha with 60 owners, there are not 60 lodges in the reserve. Some properties are bundled in one lodge and we have a number of unbuild sites. I am not sure of the exact number of lodges but is is closer to 40 private lodges in total with the majority non-commercial or private lodges with very low occupancy. There are also strong regulations that there will never be more than 3 vehicles at any rare game sighting, so it must have been a very unusual situation to even see 6 game viewers in total on a game drive. On most game drives, even during busy weekends, we will seldom see more than three vehicles during the total drive. I am not sure when you visited Nedile but must have been during an unusual busy time. I am very sorry about your outside shower not working but this has been fixed.
Kind regards
Hennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent our second visit to Nedile earlier in May and immediately booked a third stay. That was the only way to avoid the disappointment of leaving such a wonderful lodge. The staff line up to welcome you and the smiles are genuine and warm. The lodge has five rooms, allowing the six staff members to give the personal treatment, whether on a game drive, eating three fabulous meals a day - we each had to confess that our belts were loosened underneath our shirts on night - or socialising around the bar. The first time we visited, we didn't even do a game drive, but just sat around reading, drinking and relaxing. This time we did many game drives, seeing four a half of the Big Five - the half one was a shadow that COULD have been a leopard - and being charged by an angry elephant. Expert driving from Mike saved the day and allowed me to snap some exciting photos. what a weekend, what a place, and we return in two months. Yeah!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home at this beautiful lodge. The team is welcoming and hospitable and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable (including coffee served in bed with your wake-up call -- a first for me). They do 'attention-to-detail' really well and will pick up very quickly on your smallest of preferences.

Add to the mix, great food, fantastic game drives, amazing sights and you have the making of a perfect bush getaway.

Having visited Welgevonden before, this is by far my favorite lodge in this game reserve --
this is five-star-at-everything at its best. I will definitely be going back -- soon.

Room Tip: The room are all great with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquidSandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

If you are looking for the perfect luxurious game lodge to share some special moment, stop looking anymore this is the place! Nedile is the most beautiful game lodge you can imagine. We have spent there only 2 nights but everything during this stay was simply amazing.
Lodge is very beautiful, not fenced, with stunning views and perfect service. It is very private as there are only 5 cottages which can accommodate max 10 people. Try to arrange your stay during the week, we were lucky enough to have very private experience as there was only another couple except of us :)
Cottage was very beautiful with amazing terrace, beautiful bath with a view and the outside shower which was a hit and you have to try it when you are there. Food was divine and they have also accommodated for me being vegetarian and I had very tasty dishes to try. It was so lovely to dine under the most amazing stars I’ve ever see.
Common area and pool are very beautiful, everything blends perfectly with a nature and there is no single one unnecessary decoration there. It is not a family-friendly place and lodge itself welcomes only kids after certain age, so you can be sure that it will be perfect for the romantic experience.
Staff was great, very attentive yet discreet – the real 5 star experience.
We were lucky enough also to have the perfect game drives too; however this is a nature so you cannot be really certain. Welgevonden Game Reserve does not have so many animals like Pilanesberg or Kruger, but it’s landscape is so different and well worthy to visit.

PS. Write to lodge directly to make a reservation. When you are little out of main season and during the week you can get better offer!

Room Tip: Room nb 1, it is too close to main area so it is not private. Room number 3 has the biggest terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nedile, Owner at Nedile Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Gosia.
Thank you very much for your kind words. I just want to clarify that that you will not get a different price if you write directly to the lodge. The same specials and prices are honored to all tour operators so please feel free to book via your tour operator as you will get exactly the same price.
Hope to see you back soon!
Kind Regards
Hennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
12.7 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
21.2 mi away
Zulu Camp
Zulu Camp
#1 of 2 in Vaalwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#4 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jamila Game Lodge cc
Jamila Game Lodge cc
#5 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 36 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nedile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nedile Lodge

Property: Nedile Lodge
Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nedile Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nedile Lodge is situated in the Malaria free, Welgevonden Game Reserve 3 hours drive from Pretoria. Welgevonden Game Reserve is a declared Heritage Site of 36000 hectares (more than 80000 acres) bordering the Marekele National Park and part of the Waterberg Biosphere. This true bushveld environment is home to some of Africa’s most sought after game species, including one of the largest collections of white rhino on private land. Other species housed within this reserve include elephant, lion, leopard, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, eland and many other varieties of antelope. There may even be the opportunity to catch a glimpse of the aardvark, brown hyena or rarely seen honey badger ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Nedile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nedile Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing