We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nedile Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Zulu Camp(Vaalwater)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camp Ndlovu(Welgevonden Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thaba 'Nkwe Lodge(Thabazimbi)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Palm Park Hotel(Lephalale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gps Hotel(Lephalale)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
183
16
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
16
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reservegame drivesrooms are bigwonderful experienceperfect servicestunning viewsabsolute favouritecheetah cubsflap jacksslice of heavenhot flannelsa king size beddirt roadsuperb foodoutdoor showerafrican bushhis wife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We spent three days in Nedile Lodge. What a wonderful experience! The quality of the rooms is fantastic and the private veranda in each of them just adds to the entire experience. The only little thing which we discussed with my fiance was the lack of TV. I'm sure the owners expect visitors to have a full safari feeling, but it is good to have a choice...

Mike and Barend make sure that the guests appreciate animals and their natural environment by providing incredible knowledge on the area. We experienced one of the most exciting nights there when we were coming back from our game drive and we got caught in the centre of the African thunder storm! Amazing adrenaline rush!

Food was delicious and always enough! Breakfast absolutely fantastic!

All the staff members are great hosts. They never have any problems helping the guests. We were late (a few hours!) and they still welcomed us as if nothing was a problem. We were grateful for the open attitude.

It is not the cheapest place; however, for what it offers we believe it is worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank consciousDecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

very nice structure, intimate. Few rooms. They are a good size with a great view of the hills. The rooms are cozy, charming. The bathroom is great. Public places are welcoming. They offer a sense of sweetness. The food is good without extravagance. But above all, the team is fantastic. The summary: a taste of home

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband an I recently spent 3 days at Nedile Lodge and were blown away with every aspect of it. To say it far exceeded expectations would be an understatement. We flew to Johannesburg then had a private transfer by road that took about 4.5 hours so we were tired and had been travelling for about 20 hours when we arrived at 15.30 just in time for the afternoon game drive but adrenaline took aver and we hopped on board.

In spite of our exhaustion and the cold weather (not expected) we wrapped up in the fleece capes provided and had an incredible first drive with Mike the guide who was so passionate and knowledgeable. (Hope the wedding went well Mike, congratulations to you both) The thrill of seeing many animals up close in their natural habitat took our breath away, on return we had a super dinner at the lodge with roaring log fire, bottle of good wine and got to know the other guests.

Nedile is small and intimate, each lodge is stunning, roomy, comfortable, log fire in the bedroom, bath with picture window overlooking the vast landscape, outside patio with hot outside (private) shower and stunning views,a surreal experience. There are just five lodges and we had between 4 and 10 people staying while we were there.

The main lodge is where we had the most lovely food and tried kudu steak (delicious) and many other delicacies, a huge cooked brekkie after the morning safari, comfy sofas to relax, small infinity pool, sun beds, bar, overlooking little watering hole where animals came to feed. The views are out of this world and the sense of relaxation is incredible.

The are about ten members of staff and with a couple off at a time. all the staff were amazing and went all out to ensure we had an incredible experience,

the little extras like choccie s in the room, early morning trays of coffee and flap jacks before the safari, hot flannels on return, log fires at night in our rooms, catering for special diets if required, home cooked delicacies,

Barends bush coffee and games spitting kudu poop will never be forgotten. Thanks Barend for being such a wonderful, guide. We saw some incredible sights, a male lion close up, rhino, cheetah kill, giraffe, elephant and many other animals. We didn't find a leopard but it would be impossible to be disappointed,

I actually felt a huge sense of loss when I left and although the rest of the holiday in Cape Town and Mauritius was lovely this was by far the highlight and a never to be forgotten experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NessieMaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

From the word start was it the most wonderful relax trip we ever had. Barend our host spoiled us from the start by loading all our baggage on the game viewer, then he explained all the do's and don'ts and give us a briefing about Welgevonden and how the lodges fit in this setup.
The staff on our arrival received us with open arms and spoiled us the whole time, they are the most friendly staff you will ever get. The friendly wake-up calls with coffee in the mornings was fabulous.
The staff always ensures their assistance if you need anything. The food was EXCELENT!!!
Barend our guide went out of his way to ensure that we saw the Big 5 and some charges from the Lions, leopards and Cheetahs. His knowledge about the animals and plants / trees is outstanding and entertain us with nice stories and previous experiences....which was very informative. The bush cofee stops during the morning trips was nice as well as the sun downers and snacks we enjoyed during the afternoon trips.
During our three days stay new couples joined us every day and Barend ensures that they feel welcomed and give special attention to them during the game drives to ensure that he shares his knowledge with them as well.
Nedile is the most AMAZING place to stay and there is plenty af time to relax and enjoy nature.
I will encourage everybody to go and stay at Nedile Lodge...you WILL have the time of your life...guaranteed!!!!!
Thanks to everyone at Nedile Lodge you went out of their way to ensure that we had a peacefull and relaxed weekend.......You ARE the BEST!!!

Willie and Ilona
Pretoria

Room Tip: We stayed in the first room next to the lodge which was excellent. Three people can stay in that room and you can come and go as you like....it is not necessary for someone to escort you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

On arrival we were welcomed by all the staff and shown around the facilities. All the rooms have a wonderful view and there were welcome special touches after dinner with the fire in the room lit, hot water bottles in the beds and chocolates on the pillow! The food was excellent and Nedile can cater for special requests. The home made bread was a winner!! We saw some amazing animals and beautiful birds. On our last game drive we finally tracked down the lions and had an amazing sighting of the cheetach family. Thank you to all the staff at Nedile.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HilCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews