We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Nedile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nedile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful experience. The room was incredible and the staff was very welcoming. On our first night they prepared a braai for us and we sat in the lower area around the fire. The other meals were on a deck overlooking the valley below and we could occasionally see zebra and wildebeests grazing down below. The guide on our game drives was very knowledgeable and we had some great sightings of elephants, rhinos, and giraffes. Very great value and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGirl832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Nedile Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We loved our stay, Michael, Annica and the staff were so attentive. We saw so many animals ( maybe the hyena was too close for comfort) the food is delicious Minky is a great cook. I would highly recommend this wonderful lodge. Accommodation was superb - well done Nedile Lodge. It is small intimate and personal. Great attention to detail.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MandCMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We just returned from four glorious days at Nedile Lodge in a place of quiet beauty in the African bush country. The Lodge itself is beautifully appointed in traditional African style; its staff is young, competent, professional, hospitable, and gracious in all ways. We were there at a time of unusual weather conditions, but we enjoyed the serenity and quietude of the lodge in addition to being given astounding opportunities to see herds of gorgeous animals at quite close range. If you are patient and have the capacity to listen, watch, and wait, the animals will reveal themselves in all their splendor, and the incredibly competent ranger (ours was Barendt van R.) can drive you through amazing terrain to lovely places of quiet majesty. Remember that the animals there are not Walt Disney or circus performers; if you can be patient, you will see birds and animals as they were created to behave and you can enjoy what is left of wilderness now threatened by poaching, "development," and other modern horrors. Do not go to Nedile if you are not comfortable with relaxation, serenity, and bliss. Leave the kids at home, and enjoy being pampered by a wonderful staff; enjoy marvelous and abundant food in a place that juxtaposes the beauties of the wilderness with utterly civilized accommodations. There are very solid reasons for Nedile's having been chosen as lodge of the year last year.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IndianaTraveler055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The lodge is perched on a mountain which makes the views spectacular, we saw elephants, klipspringers and dassies from our lunch table. The food is good and the service very friendly. My only complaint is that they pack the game drive vehicle completely full( we had 10 people on our vehicle) which makes it very snug and couples can't always sit together. In most other lodges we've been to they limit the amount of people to 6. The first room also do not offer a lot of privacy- you are basically next to the pool and dining area. Rather ask for a room further away from the lodge. A good experience though.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had 3 nights at Nedile Lodge.
I could go on and on about how fantastic it is and how the staff led by Barend, the manager and game ranger looked after us. Also about the lovely room, superb views and excellent food, but I would just be repeating what everyone else says.
Go and see for yourself, you will not be disappointed indeed we believe it will exceed your expectations.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms and they are all very good.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have been travelling to South Africa at various times over the last four years and so have been lucky enough to experience a number of game reserves - but my experience at Nedile recently is probable the best all round experience I have had.
I spent the weekend in a superb lodge and the game viewing was just about perfect. Anica runs the small lodge (maximum 10 guests) very efficiently and Michael's guiding was just about perfect - so knowledgeable and with just the right manner, it was like being shown around by an old friend.
Part of the appeal was that the whole reserve is quiet exclusive with very low visitor density, you can't do a day visit and you leave you cars at the gate to be driven around by the ranger, so it was very quiet and we saw few other visitors - but plenty of wildlife :-)
Following a couple of male lions along the road for about 400 m was a great experience and possibly the highlight, but only one of many, including getting very close to the elephants several times and watching a fight amongst 9 rhinos.
The lodge is on the side of a hill with extensive views over the rolling plain below, stretching way off into the distance and not a building in site, at night there is no light pollution so the stars are an amazing sight. My first sight (and smell!) on the day I arrived was a large bull elephant immediately below my room.
Its very accessible from Jo burg - it is so much closer than Kruger - although the very last stretch of road (16km) is on a dirt track I managed it no problem in my class A hire car - it took three hours to the reserve entrance from Midrand.
The lodge timings work to a mid day to mid day pick up that I couldn't manage on the Friday when I arrived so I paid a 200 ZAR supplement for a late pick up, but I still got the evening game drive

Room Tip: Only five lodges so no real difference - slightly more privacy if you are not in the nearest lodge t...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PurpleHaye5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The evening before we were supposed to arrive at Nedile Lodge a woman called me to say that they can't honour our booking anymore because one of their guests has decided to stay an additional night. Excuse me?! I found this extremely unprofessional because our reservation was confirmed. Wouldn't the normal thing to do be to tell the other guest that, unfortunately, you're already fully booked?

I give them two stars because at least they arranged alternative accommodation for us in the same reserve. However, due to the very unprofessional way of handling their bookings I have no desire to ever go there and I certainly won't recommend them, sorry.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
7  Thank zebracat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nedile, Owner at Nedile Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

I am sorry about the inconvenience caused and that you were not able to visit Nedile Lodge, your destination of choice. We, however, managed to book you in at a very nice lodge in Welgevonden Game Reserve of the same level and standard as Nedile Lodge. Never in the more than 11 years that I am the owner of Nedile Lodge did we have a telephone booking and an online booking happening at the same time.

I have, nevertheless, conducted a detailed enquiry into this incident. Based on this incident and our learning, we have now amended our booking procedures to avoid this of ever happening again.

This is an detailed account and reconstruction of what happened during this incident:

On 24 Jan ’14 at 17:15 (SA Time) Louisa, our reservationist, received a call from the a group of Air- crew members – 6 guests, to verbally confirm their stay at Nedile Lodge and to amend their original enquiry to 2 nights at Nedile. Our reservationist asked them to send an e-mail with credit card details, as our policy is 100% full payment prior to arrival and we will not be able to confirm their rooms without payment and written confirmation. At 23:30 pm (local SA time) an e-mail was received from the group with 3 separate credit card details – to confirm their booking. On 24 Jan ’14, your request via our online booking system came through at 23:44 (local time) – a mere few minutes after the group of 6 guests already verbally and via direct e-mail, confirmed their accommodation for 2 nights - checking in on 27 Jan and will now be checking out on the 29th of Jan ’14.

Both these e-mails were only picked up on Saturday morning the 25th of Jan ’14 around 09:00 am. Our reservations office is closed during weekends but we still answer the phone and provide essential information and respond to enquiries.

On Saturday 25 Jan ’14 at 09:00 am, our reservations send an e-mail to the group and requested that they keep to their original plan of only the 1 nights stay – there was no reply, as we wanted to honor your booking instead –as it was a direct booking via our online system.

On 26 Jan ’14 at around 23:28 (local time) our reservationist received a phone call from the group of 6 to say that they arrived at their Hotel in Johannesburg and will leave tomorrow morning around 07:00 to Nedile, Our reservationist was already asleep at 23:28 – the time of their phone call, and was under the impression that they have received our e-mail request and that they will stick to their original request of only the one night’s accommodation.

On Sunday morning of 27 Jan ’14, at 07:30 am, the reservation office contacted the group of 6 guests at their hotel to find out whether they received our e-mail and we tried asking them to stay elsewhere for the 2nd night, but they didn’t want to budge, as they believed that their booking was confirmed and that they were already on their way to Nedile Lodge.

We were left with no other choice but to kindly request that if it will be OK to move your online booking to another lodge inside the reserve. No monies were debited from your account. As per your review – our reservations office did assist you finding alternative accommodation inside the same reserve, who were willing to accommodate you at the same rates we offered over that period. Our reservation office was in contact with you throughout the day of your intended arrival to make sure that you were travelling safely and assisted in all possible ways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
12.7 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
385 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
155 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#5 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
263 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
422 reviews
7.0 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nedile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nedile Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: £247 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nedile Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nedile Lodge is situated in the Malaria free, Welgevonden Game Reserve 3 hours drive from Pretoria. Welgevonden Game Reserve is a declared Heritage Site of 36000 hectares (more than 80000 acres) bordering the Marekele National Park and part of the Waterberg Biosphere. This true bushveld environment is home to some of Africa’s most sought after game species, including one of the largest collections of white rhino on private land. Other species housed within this reserve include elephant, lion, leopard, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, eland and many other varieties of antelope. There may even be the opportunity to catch a glimpse of the aardvark, brown hyena or rarely seen honey badger ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nedile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nedile Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing