We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to regroup and rediscover yourself”
Review of Nedile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nedile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Nedile means (I think) gentle breeze and you certainly feel the peace of a special place. As you walk into the lodge you immediately feel the warmth of the welcome from the staff but also from the very tasteful decoration and furnishing of the large sitting room. Then you turn to the left and you are captured by the fabulous view of the veranda and the vista of the bush beyond. I have been in the South African winter and the summer, and both times this is a special place. Whether sitting around a large fire staring up at the uncluttered southern sky at night or sitting on the veranda sharing a chilled bottle of wine after a trip into the bush, the experience is truly calming. And then there are the showers outside - liberating as you stand under the water looking out over the bush. And then there are the trips to the bush to see those naughty guys the elephants, the rhinos, the giraffes, watching a troop of baboons making their way to a watering hole in true military style. And then ... there's the hope of one day seeing a lion - but that's not the only reason to go back which I most certainly will.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EugeneFBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2010

NEDILE left us with special memories after only two days of sheer enjoyment!

South African bush veldt and big five at its best.

Luxurious treatment and excellent hospitality experience.

But what we cherished most –
all of that personal private space and care free feeling of relaxation that we needed!

PLUS ... now we have a few great new friends there at NEDILE!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraD312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Nedile is the perfect getaway. There is so much - or nothing - to do; the choice is yours.
The game drives are excellent with a very knowledgeable guide (Vic) and you see many animals and learn all about the environment. You are pampered with excellent food, comfortable rooms, and stunning views.
I would recommend Nedile and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We wanted something close to Johannesburg that had the 'Big 5' and is malaria free. I am so happy that we chose Nedile Lodge.

Rooms : Each room is positioned so that you cannot see the other rooms. You have total privacy. The rooms were thatched and the decor was both contemporary and African at the same time. We had a large bed with very comfy bedding. The room has glass doors which open up onto your own patio which overlooks the nature reserve. There is an outdoor shower AS WELL AS an indoor bathroom which has bath (also overlooking the nature reserve) and a walk in shower. The rooms are large, comfortable and are of 5 star level.

Food : All of your meals are included at Nedile. The food is just delicious! There was the right variety of food and it was clear that the food was freshly prepared. A lot of thought has gone into the menu - it shows.

Game Drives : The main event! We had Wikus has our guide who was totally awesome. Not only did he spot game which we would not have seen in a million years, he spent so much time telling us about animals, flowers, plants...a walking David Attenborough. He really took the time to understand what you wanted to get out of your trip to Nedile. I felt that I could ask him anything. The drives are a few hours each and you have a break in the middle where you are served coffee and rusks (morning) or a drink and snacks (evening).

The Lodge : It is pure Bliss. Honestly.....Heaven. There is a small pool which is great if you want to cool off. You can also chill on one of the sun loungers. You can relax in the main lounge area and read books or sit on the main patio and watch the abundance of game in front of you. Because the Lodge is on an elevated area - you have the most stunning view around you.

I would go again and again. Nedile really is a slice of Heaven which is made even more special by the caring and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Girl_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebbel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es sind nur 5 , alle toll !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 635ulfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeThijssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
12.7 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
393 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
153 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
152 reviews
10.7 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#5 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
266 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jamila Game Lodge
Jamila Game Lodge
#7 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nedile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nedile Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: £265 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nedile Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nedile Lodge is situated in the Malaria free, Welgevonden Game Reserve 3 hours drive from Pretoria. Welgevonden Game Reserve is a declared Heritage Site of 36000 hectares (more than 80000 acres) bordering the Marekele National Park and part of the Waterberg Biosphere. This true bushveld environment is home to some of Africa’s most sought after game species, including one of the largest collections of white rhino on private land. Other species housed within this reserve include elephant, lion, leopard, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, eland and many other varieties of antelope. There may even be the opportunity to catch a glimpse of the aardvark, brown hyena or rarely seen honey badger ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nedile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nedile Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing