We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious lodge with most amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fifty Seven Waterberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious lodge with most amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We spend a weekend at Molenvliet lodge to celebrate my dad's 60th. Coming from Europe Molenvliet offered us perfect relaxation in the instant that we arrived. We loved the game drives and seeing the big five, we enjoyed the very clean and luxurious lodge and the delicious food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMSE_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    1
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We went to MolenVliet for our minimoon at the end of December and had such an amazing experience. The staff were so attentive and anticipated every need we had. The rooms were beautiful and full of African character. Simon the lodge manager was so warm and friendly as well as such a skilled ranger. We had some of the best game drives we've ever had in SA and we were so impressed by Simon's gentle and calm approach to nature. He is an asset to MolenVliet and they are very lucky to have him! Morgan was an excellent chef who kept us smiling. His meals were AMAZING but be warned- you will need to loosen your belt! If you are looking for privacy, luxury, relaxation, indulgence and love nature then this is the place for you. Thank you to all of the MolenVliet staff- we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sausagesandmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We visited Molenvliet from the 18 December to the 21st December. We took up the whole lodge, what an amazing experience. All the staff were extremely friendly and provided top class service.Morgan produced some amazing and meals,Marcus was always helpful and would go out of his way to make you comfortable.Simon the Lodge Manager was extremely professional and went out of his way to ensure that all was in order.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We drove from Pretoria to Molenvliet Lodge and that was very easy, thanks to Ritas help at reservations, supplying us with a map which was emailed to us. Arriving at the West Gate, we were greeted by Simon, the Lodge Manager who made us feel welcome by being friendly, warmhearted and easy going! Arriving at the lodge we received a welcome drink and met Marcus and Morgan: we felt so special, they were absolutely wonderful, showing us around and getting us whatever we wanted. Their service and uncomplicated help was outstanding! The lodges chalets are spacious, extremely tastefully furnished and have a private porch which is great for bird watching or just having a glass of wine! The same applies to the communal areas and the pool: stunning and soo relaxing! Because the lodge has only 5 chalets you feel like being in a very exclusive and private surrounding .The food prepared by Morgan is out of this world and you will have a big problem to finish his generous portions! Our game drives were fantastic, we saw everything you could ask for ! It was an absolute pleasure to spend a weekend at Molenvliet-just too short, but we will definitely be back soon. Thanks a million to all of the staff!
Ruth from Pretoria

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthborgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Having used six different Lodges in Welgevonden in the last few years, Molenvliet was our best find. As a whole it is definitely the best of all. There are more expensive lodges which are exceptional in respect of physical luxury (eg size of rooms, on-site spas) however they do not surpass the Molenvliet experience as a whole. The staff, food, attention to detail, friendliness, facilities, value for money all contribute to the feeling that guests are valued and appreciated. Simon, the Lodge Manager, is a master of friendliness while discreetly making things happen on time and with as little inconvenience to guests who may have special needs and wants to the majority of guests. He caters to all the detail. Morgan, the chef, never falters when remembering special requests and dietary requirements - not easy when so far from suppliers of goods! But do take one size larger clothing with you - you will be eating more than average unless you resist bravely!
For those who have limited time the availability of the landing strip is a winner. We used FlyJetsteam Aviation from Wonderboom Airport which made our visit so special as it was a 30 minute journey as opposed to 4 hours!
In summary, WOW! Thanks Simon, Morgan, Marcus, Onnica, Sarah and Annetjie at the Lodge and Rita at reservations.

Room Tip: Room 5 if you want privacy. Although all rooms are private, 5 is situated furthest from the main lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadforitalyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had our 3rd wedding anniversary here and all I can say is it was breath taking, the lodge is small and quaint and they pay attention to detail and personal needs.

Morgan is an excellent chef and Marcus will spoil you from the time you get there till you drive away. They sell a tasty house red wine as well.

Wine cellar available for that private evening or event

You won’t be disappointed
Marise
Pretoria

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marise f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

What an amazing place. Everything from the calm, serene, well laid out and welcoming main lodge to the plush and comfort of the rooms was perfect! The chef, Morgan was really great and helpful and his food was sublime! Simon, our game ranger was informative and friendly and our game drive with him tops many that I have had. The Molenvliet was the perfect cherry on top of a perfect stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
0.8 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
13.2 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jamila Game Lodge
Jamila Game Lodge
#5 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
23.6 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#3 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifty Seven Waterberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty Seven Waterberg

Property: Fifty Seven Waterberg
Address: Site 57, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0043, South Africa (Formerly MolenVliet Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fifty Seven Waterberg, formerly known as MolenVliet Lodge. Nestled in the majestic Welgevonden Game Reserve, Fifty Seven Waterberg is a true African escape situated in a 35,000HA well managed park. One of South Africa's unique treasures, the lodge overlooks a shallow valley descending into the savannah beyond, boasting breathtaking views of the mountains and the very best that nature has to offer. The five-star offering is renowned for its intimate size accommodating up to ten guests providing solitude and privacy. Only three hours north of Johannesburg, Fifty Seven Waterberg is situated in a malaria-free zone offering guests peace of mind and enabling them to enjoy the true essence of the bushveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fifty Seven Waterberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Seven Waterberg South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing