We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to Improve”
Review of Jamila Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jamila Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is at best a 3 to 4 star lodge and ranks lowest of the four lodges we have stayed at in this reserve. Improvements required are simple to address and in one word is summarised as management supervision. This would ensure that the rooms are cleaned properly and that there is a better variety of food, especially for lunch. Their website misrepresents their cuisine totally. Having said this, their pricing is very aggresive and it is value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same with exception of the Elephant Lodge which is a suite. Best is the Lion lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arcjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We would honestly encourage anyone looking for a great safari experience to go to Jamila. It was my first safari and we were a little overwhelmed trying to decide which lodge to go to. When we saw Jamila it seemed a lot more reasonably priced than other nearby lodges and whilst we worried a bit if it would become evident why when we got there, that just wasn't the case.

The bedroom lodges were great (we were in Buffalo), spacious, private with really powerful showers and jacuzzis on each balcony. There are only 5 rooms, so there can only ever be a maximum of 10 people staying. The central lodge building was clean and open, with coffee, tea, cake and water available all the time, a well stocked honesty bar, and really fantastic breakfasts and light lunches served there. The dinners were either served in this main building or outside around the fire which was really atmospheric. All the food is included in the price and you also get a carafe of house wine between two each evening as well.

The staff were really attentive, Laurance the manager is great, very interested in your stories and unlike most hotels, really seemed to 'muck in' with all the roles within the lodge.

The absolute star of the lodge has to be Justinus the driver though. He was funny, engaging, knowledgeable and a fantastic game driver. We saw some incredible sights - lion cubs playing around the truck, angry elephants, a close up with a male lion, loads of zebras and rhinos - Justinus really seemed to know his stuff and was great at following the animal tracks meaning that we were often the first truck to be calling in sightings of the big 5 animals. As a note, Justinus works 21 days on, then has 7 days off - he really did make our trip, so I would say it is worth asking if he will be there on the dates you plan to go there.

A nice touch was that every evening as you got back from the drive you'd be met with a glass of Amarula and a hot towel to wipe your hands and face - these little extras just really made the trip very special.

Whilst Waterberg is a Big 5 reserve, the majority of their buffalo are currently being raised in a closed off section of the reserve in order to boost the numbers, so we didn't see them, and the leopards also eluded us. But given we saw lions on 4 of our 6 drives, and plenty of everything else, we really didn't dwell on this at all. There were even a group of 4 rhino at the waterhole on two of the evenings we were there, so you will definitely get your fill of animals!

I should add that whilst we didn't actually use it, the swimming pool and sunbathing deck looked really lovely.

As you can tell, we had a really great time, and would wholeheartedly recommend the place to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katieh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We travelled here from the Vorna Valley area, On the approach to the west gate we drove 17 kilometres of dirt road which was just about bearable, but when we arrived at our Lodge Called the Elephant it was a beauty, Fantastic inside and the food was tremendous, We stayed here 2 nights and although they do have the big five we only saw 3 of them. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

very very nice location with breathtaking scenery + a waterhole to enhance gameviewing experience , beautiful accomodation, really excellent food, great service , that sums it up.
we (party of 2) stayed 2 nights on our way to a 5 day north to south trip in kruger, and we would have traded one of the camps in Kruger for one more night in jamila hadn't it been for the hassle in changing our previous bookings.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancineus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Jasmyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerdjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
7.4 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
175 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#5 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
154 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
158 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
114 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tshwene Lodge
Tshwene Lodge
#9 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamila Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamila Game Lodge

Address: Site 59 | Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: £286 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jamila Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamila, meaning "a place of beauty," is a spectacular game lodge situated in the northern part of the malaria-free Welgevonden Private Game Reserve, a pristine wilderness area which includes the Big Five! Surrounded by the Ancient Waterberg Mountains, abundant wildlife and unspoiled African bush, Jamila Lodge offers guests an intimate and relaxed safari experience. With five beautifully appointed chalets, the lodge can accommodate a maximum of 10 guests at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jamila Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamila Game Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing