We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My BEST African adventure ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makweti Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Makweti Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“My BEST African adventure ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Huge thanks to Kevin, Melenie and the rest of the wonderful team at Makweti Safari Lodge for a truly phenomenal African adventure this week! In addition to extreme kindness and exceptional service; we saw lion, cheetah, leopard, elephant, rhino and zebra - to name just a few of the treasures we were treated to. As importantly, the Makweti's team's respect and appreciation for mother nature is heart-warming and inspirational, I've never witnessed such love and passion for animals before. Thank you again and again team Makweti!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
61
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Awesome experience, more than great hospitality, we really felt welcome. The personal treatment was heartwarming. Beatyfull privat lodges with all the comfort we would wish for. Test is a great ranger, who even tought us how to find tracks. But if you took some time, the elefants even passed by the sundeck! After every breathtaking gamedrive we enjoyed the superb dishes from Erik and his staff. We will definately come back! Thank you Helen and team, we loved everything.
Michiel and Carolien

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolienzijp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Spent one night and on leaving booked for a further 3 nights in a months time. Food is outstanding, staff very friendly, rooms luxurious, game drive fantastic...all in all, attention to detail has this game lodge racking up a 5 out of 5! Just be aware that there is no cell phone signal in the lodge but signal can be obtained at points on your game drive.

Room Tip: Room no. 2 was brilliant, great view, very relaxing , felt like you were in the wild on your own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j0graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

My family and I just spent 3 nights at Makweti Lodge and I wanted to let the world know what a wonderful experience we had. Other than the attention to detail and high quality of service, the highlight was undoubtedly our guide - Test. What a professional: friendly, knowledgeable and intelligent. We learnt, we laughed and we ate! I was there with my two sons (10 and 13 years old) and other members of my family including teenagers and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was excellent and the staff went out of their way to cater for all our different needs. My only criticism would be that the rooms are cold and need more heating in both bedrooms and bathrooms but other than that they are clean and attractive. The breakfasts were particularly outstanding and we enjoyed the picnic lunches which were beautifully packed in special lunch boxes.

I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone who wants to learn and experience the wonders of safari without compromising on their creature comforts!

Room Tip: All the cabins are great, especially the ones with plunge pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, MD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This was an amazing experience. My daughter and I were there for 3 nights in early May 2013. Everything about our experience at this great lodge and the game reserve was wonderful. Our cabin was spacious and beautifully decorated. All the staff were incredibly friendly. All the meals were delicious. We liked that the lodge was not fenced in where animals could freely enter. In the evenings when we went to the main lodge for dinner, our guide escorted us to and from.

We liked this was a small, cozy lodge with 5 cabins, with a maximum of 10 guests. In planning our trip, I contacted Dawn, the co-owner with her husband Allan who owns this lodge. Dawn comes to NYC a lot, and I spoke with her several times asking her many questions. She was so friendly and very helpful. And Dawn is the one who has done an amazing job of decorating the two lodges and the cabins.

At one of their 2 lodges, they have an outside, raised patio deck where you could comfortably view a watering hole close by (about 35 yards). On one of the 3 days we were on the deck, and we had an incredible treat where, in the early afternoon, there were so many animals (Zebras, wildebeests, velvet monkeys, warthogs, kudus, and others) around the watering hole area. They were feeding on grass, drinking at the watering hole, and just roaming around the area. Most of the animals stayed there for over an hour. And after most of them left, another big group came there about an hour later. This was an amazing site to behold, and I got many great pictures.

We had a great guide, Justin, who took us out on 2 game drives each day (early morning and afternoon/evening), and he was with us at all our meals. We saw many exciting sites of wildlife, including watching for almost a half-hour a lioness on the side of the road with her 4 cute cubs across the road. The cubs were playing with each other, and one of them came right up to our land rover. We also watched a male lion eating a recently killed zebra, and while he was eating it, we could hear the loud cracking of the zebra's bones. We watched 5 white rhinos walking a few feet in front of our land rover. And our most exciting experience was when we were watching a bull elephant who was in a field, about 40 yards from where we were on the road, when it started walking directly towards our land rover. I was getting some great pictures, and it started getting pretty close. Finally, with just a very short time to spare, we pulled away. It looked like he was going to ram us, and then when we pulled away on the road, he followed us for several minutes. I was looking for adventure and I found it.

This wonderful experience at this great lodge had exceeded our high expectations. If you want a great place to go to at a very affordable rate, I highly recommend this safari lodge.

Mel Rovens, Gaithersburg, MD
Lisa Rovens, Drexel Hill, PA

Room Tip: I think all the cabins are similar, but I think 2 of the 5 cabins have outdoor, small pools, where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The 3 days at Makweti were magical! The location's ambiance together with the well guided safari were the ideal combination for a perfect safari experience. The lodge is perfectly built and situated to view animals. The crew works together to make the guests feel at home. We were extremely lucky to have the lodge by ourself.
The guided safari was well organized, with tea and coffee or a picnic in 'the wild'.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNH_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

What an amazing experience. It's only 2.5 hours away from Johannesburg.
Stunning property with only 5 lodges that are beautifully furnished and come with an outdoor deck and a pool. All meals are communal but beautifully presented and prepared. The picnic in the bush was also very memorable.

This is an intense safari vacation with twice-daily game rides. During our stay, we were fortunate enough to see the Big 5. The staff is cordial and knowledgeable. The service was impeccable. The location of the property is absolutely spectacular. The tranquility of the nature and beautiful starry sky at night are irreplaceable.

The property is located by the watering hole with a beautiful viewing deck. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a unique experience in South Africa.

Room Tip: All lodges are the same, we stayed at #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamillaPapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
6.9 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
18.2 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#3 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
5.6 mi away
Jamila Game Lodge
Jamila Game Lodge
#5 of 15 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 37 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makweti Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makweti Safari Lodge

Property: Makweti Safari Lodge
Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Makweti Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and luxurious, Makweti has five stone and thatch suites some with private plunge pools. Fine dining and an extensive selection of wines are available. Evenings may bring elephant, lion, rhino and other game right to your doorstep at the waterhole. Safaris in this big 5 area are conducted in open safari vehicles with expert guides. The camp is unfenced, therefore expect the unexpected! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Makweti Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makweti Safari Hotel Welgevonden Game Reserve
Makweti Safari Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing