We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makweti and the team gave us our first great African experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Makweti Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Warmond
1 review
“Makweti and the team gave us our first great African experience!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed during our 25th Anniversary with our kids at Makweti. This was our first African expierence. The place is very beautiful and the food special cooked. The two safari's per day gave us a great African experience of smell, colors and animalls. We love this place and decide to come back for sure there. The Makweti team of Kevin, Melanie, Toets, Felie and Gerda made our stay very special. Thank you all! Barend & Rebecca Elshout from The Netherlands.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarendElshout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
67
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida, USA
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Makweti is an unforgettable African experience. Our individual lodge was exquisitely decorated and had a personal deck and pool. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and makes every effort to see you are enjoying your stay. In addition to the morning and evening game drives, viewing the wide variety of wildlife from the veranda of the main lodge is thrilling. Looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: The private pool was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randell Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Makweti for four nights and it just wasn't long enough. I could have spent a month there and would still have not been ready to leave. The lodges, lounges etc are lovely. They are extremely well designed but homey at the same time. But the game drives are the most outstanding. Kevin is a brilliant guide and we could not fault him. He goes out of his way to make sure that every single person enjoys themselves. His passion for the animals and the out doors shines through.
Melanie keeps everything running smoothly back at the lodges and the food is excellent.
The game drives were the best thing that I have ever done. Now I just have to organise things so that we can go back.
Kate Beecroft

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Greeted by Kevin at the gate with the warmest welcome was the start of our bush experience. We arrived at the lodge welcomed by the entire team, we were made to feel like royalty from the get go. We had amazing adventures on our safari, spotting leopard, lion, cheetah, all the antelope you can imagine, giraffe and we didn't have venture out the lodge to experience up close elephant, zebra, warthogs and much more, who come in everyday to take advantage of the salt lick provided for them. We were treated to an amazing breakfast after our morning game drives prepared by Gerda. Special thank to Kevin and team, our stay was amazing, it was an absolute treat to experience the bush this way. Oh by the way Kevin's stories about the bush and its wildlife are a great addition to the already fantastic experience

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45TanyaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic two nights at Makweti lodge... what a beautiful place! We had the privilege of seeing some magnificent animals while we were there - Lion, Zebra, Leopard, Rhino and a mommy Cheetah with her two cubs playing right in front of us. Kevin was a fantastic guide and so knowledgable ... we loved all the bush tales. Melanie and the team go out of their way to make you feel at home. I will definitely be visiting again in the near future! Thanks so much Makweti for an amazing and unforgettable time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoleo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This elegant lodge is situated in a pristine private nature reserve and from the first pick up at the gate you are made to feel welcome. The lodge consists of 5 suites so there is never more than ten guests booked at a time. This makes for a very personal safari experience and with our very knowledgeable guides we had some amazing sightings like a cheetah and her cubs being chased by a group of white rhino! The room was classically decorated with mosquito netting and a large bathroom with outdoor shower.
The meals included freshly baked muffins with your early morning coffee, a delicious breakfast and a bento box packed lunch in the bush. The very elegant evening meal is served in the beautiful dining room lit with candles and a huge fireplace.
This was an wonderful safari experience made try truly memorable by the personal service and friendliness of all the staff and guides.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Huge thanks to Kevin, Melenie and the rest of the wonderful team at Makweti Safari Lodge for a truly phenomenal African adventure this week! In addition to extreme kindness and exceptional service; we saw lion, cheetah, leopard, elephant, rhino and zebra - to name just a few of the treasures we were treated to. As importantly, the Makweti's team's respect and appreciation for mother nature is heart-warming and inspirational, I've never witnessed such love and passion for animals before. Thank you again and again team Makweti!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
7.0 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
188 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
141 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#4 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#3 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
145 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sediba Private Game Lodge
Sediba Private Game Lodge
#9 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
76 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 37 in Vaalwater
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makweti Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makweti Safari Lodge

Property: Makweti Safari Lodge
Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Makweti Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and luxurious, Makweti has five stone and thatch suites some with private plunge pools. Fine dining and an extensive selection of wines are available. Evenings may bring elephant, lion, rhino and other game right to your doorstep at the waterhole. Safaris in this big 5 area are conducted in open safari vehicles with expert guides. The camp is unfenced, therefore expect the unexpected! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Makweti Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makweti Safari Hotel Welgevonden Game Reserve
Makweti Safari Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing