We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first safari: couldn't be better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had our first safari at Mhondoro lodge and it was overwhelming. Jasper and Annemarie are great host and took care of us in a vey personal and attentive way. The lodges are beautiful and the food was excellent but also served in a very special way; not only the braai but also the breakfast served in the outdoor kitchen with a great view of the valley. And last but not least: the game drives with Sylvester. He is one of the best rangers and we got into a very close encounter with a lot of animals so we saw 4 of the big five and more. We can recommend Mhondoro to everybody who is looking for a safari at five star service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was my girl and my first trip to South Africa and first time in a game reserve. It could not have been better and exceeded all of our expectations. The rooms are fabulous with all the comfort you can imagine and a great view on the water hole. Sylvester the ranger is extremely knowledgeable. He tells you about the different types of grass should you not see game at that moment. Other than that is highly skilled in tracking the game, so we saw lots of it! The service, and food (quality) from the rest of the team led by Jasper and Annemarie is just as special and unexpected with 3 different dinner locations during the 3 nights we stayed with them. We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rienk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

What a marvellous stay at Mhondoro Lodge! Even with our little kids (2 and 4). Spectacular wildlife views from the lodge. A very experienced ranger Sylvester, very keen on spotting wildlife during the game drives. Delicious food. Very friendly en helpfull team. Annemarie and Jasper thanks a lot for this briljant and impressive start of our South Africa visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joella v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

we had an amazing stay at Mhondoro Lodge, Sylvester and the rest of the team took great care of us and we thoroughly enjoyed our mini break!! The food was delicious. Our daughter was very excited to see the wildlife on the game drives.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ravdip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We went to this lodge for our honeymoon, the staff couldn't have made it more special if they tried! The lodge is modern and if full of character! The food was gorgeous, personal service from the moment we arrived.

Anna from Housekeeping decorated our room with candles and glitter on the second night and the chef "dukes" prepared a personal candle lit dinner overlooking the elephants at the watering hole on our balcony.

The presidential villa was pure luxury, waking up to see elephants, zebras and warthogs drinking from the watering hole outside!

Sylvester the ranger was so knowledgeable and made our bush drives something we will remember for years to come.

The management Anne-Marie and jasper stopped to chat to us each day to discuss our sightings on the drives, a lovely couple who made our stay so relaxing and enjoyable!

Why would you stay anywhere else?! We'd give this place 10 stars if I could!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurasemplexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had an amazing stay at Mhondoro with Annemarie&Jasper, Sylvester and the rest of the staff! Never in our lives we experienced such an instant vacation-mood.

Annemarie&Jasper... where do we even start to explain how much fun it was to meet them! They really made us feel at home. They work hard, they laugh a lot, they are interested and much fun to talk with, they are kind and full of fun surprises and they have a high priority of caring about their guests. They are the definition of the most perfect hosts!

Sylvester gave us the feeling that we had the best ranger of the whole game reserve. It is so impressive how much he knows about nature and the animals. He even knows their communication and behavior in detail. He knows their every move. And at the same time he is so modest and after so many years of being a ranger he is still amazed himself every gamedrive. He made every gamedrive extra special!

Then the rest of the staff… they are kind and caring. We want to thank them again for making such wonderful meals, the perfect coffees, the cleanest and coziest room day and night, for singing songs and hot towels, and so much more!

Thank you all again for making our honeymoon the best!!!
“Arrive as guests, leave as FRIENDS” = the card on our pillow couldn’t be more true!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had an excellent 3 night stay at Mhondoro in the Welgevonden reserves. The room was comfortable with an excellent view of the lodge's watering hole, where we saw baboon, zebra, wildebeest, warthog, giraffe, and elephant! We had the great fortune to have the lodge's manager, Leon, as our ranger. His knowledge was thorough and his enthusiasm contagious! We saw lionesses and their cubs every day, along with several excellent sightings of elephants, giraffes, rhinos, and a multitude of other animals, along with spectacular views. The only suggestion we would have had to make it even better would be to make the beds true "king size" beds in each chalet, as the existing beds were a little small. But we were told that new larger beds were being ordered. I will also say that the food was excellent with both continental and proper English breakfasts and delicious gourmet dinners), and tea time also offered an excellent selection of freshly prepared items. The drinks were also very good and did not kill your wallet at check-out. A big thanks to Leon and the Mhondoro staff for a wonderful family visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DLady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
7.2 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 2 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
201 reviews
15 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
425 reviews
5 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#5 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
155 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#3 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
125 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jamila Game Lodge
Jamila Game Lodge
#6 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mhondoro Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mhondoro Game Lodge

Address: | R517 towards Thabazimbi, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: £470 - £2,665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mhondoro Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mhondoro Game Lodge is a luxury 5-star accommodation in Welgevonden Game Reserve, a malaria-free and Big 5 game reserve in Limpopo, South Africa. Its main lodge and private villa have recently been rebuilt and the interior of its suites have been refurbished, offering a tasteful mix of African chic and contemporary design. The luxurious, child-friendly lodge has quickly become famous for its new underground waterhole hide, connected to the main lodge by a tunnel, offering an easy, safe and above all unique opportunity to be amongst the animals drinking at the waterhole in front of the lodge. Mhondoro is the only 5-star safari lodge that has this feature. Mhondoro is family friendly yet private and quiet to accommodate small groups to relax and explore the abundantly present wildlife during game drives. For those who prefer to indulge in ultimate relaxation or work up some sweat, the spa and gym are at your disposal, including a team of qualified and experienced beauty therapists. The pool, sauna, bar and lounge are available for all guests during the whole day. Mhondoro is located a 2 hour and 45 minutes' drive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, making it the perfect safari destination for those who arrive in South Africa in Johannesburg. Even quicker is travelling by a small plane - it not only takes you there in less than an hour, but it also offers an amazing experience flying over the Welgevonden Game Reserve as you approach the runway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Mhondoro Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mhondoro Game Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing