We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magic four day break”
Review of Clifftop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clifftop Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Perfect down time. no cell phone signal to disturb you, no t.v to disturb you. Just peace and quiet and beautiful surroundings, from the very warm and friendly staff to the lovely rooms with breathtaking views and the excellent southafrican food which was served hot and with a smile. Nothing was a hassle for these guys, brilliant service. Teriffic game drives, thank you to Sabastion and Odette, very informative and enthusiastic about the animals. This was my wife and I's thirtyith wedding anneversary and these guys really went out of there way to make it special. Thank you Sue and your staff very much you will definately see us in the near future.

Room Tip: Stay in the honeymoon suite( room 1) it has a jacuzzi instead of a bath and is close to the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Caroline and Ross

Thank you for your kind words and feedback on Trip advisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and with us we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards
Sue and the Clifftop Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Ursula thank you...awesome food ...really fab. Odette great game drive..lion cheetahs..will recommend.staff was so helpful thank you. Loved my massage out in open next to my private pool. Beds so comfy and rooms beautiful..loved it

Room Tip: All rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank olivia220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write about us.
The staff at Clifftop strive to give their best and the acknowledgement is appreciated.
We trust you have wonderful memories of Clifftop and hope to see you back here soon.
Regards
The Clifftop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

WOW - pretty much sums up our trip to Clifftops, what a beautiful experience it was, from the incredibly friendly and helpful staff, exquisite scenery, stunning decor and rooms, delectable food and of course the magnificent animals - it was definitely thee most special trip my boyfriend and I have ever had. The staff make you feel like royalty and add their own little personal touches that make you feel even more special. I would definitely recommend Clifftops to anyone that is looking to ticking off 'Most wonderful holiday ever' off their bucket lists. Thank you Clifftops for such a memorable holiday, Will be back sooooon! :)

Room Tip: The suites are all absolutely incredible, with thee most amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Travellers,

Thank you for this review. It was our pleasure to have met you and host you at Clifftop. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write the review and making mention of the staff, and look forward to your next visit which will hopefully be really soon!

Regards the Clifftop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

What a delight. Must be 1 of the best adverts for South African wildlife, most beautifull setting, luxury accomodation with the best level of service we ever experienced. The food was an absolute gastronomic delight. Thx again Ursula, Martin, Lazarus ensuring we are well cared for, and our ranger Sebastiaan to keep us so well informed. The sighting of the Spotted Brown Hyena was awesome.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Willem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy C, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Willem, Ilette, Tiaan and Anette
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as it was a privilege to have met all of you and we hope to do so again.
Best wishes until next time.
Ursula and the Clifftop Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have just enjoyed a fabulous three night stay at Clifftop. We were really made to feel like special guests during our stay, they remember all our requests and the staff were incredibly helpful. The food was wonderful and we must have out on weight whilst there. The variety of the food was also impressive and they settings of the different meals. We went, of course, also for the game. After spending at least 200 days in the bush (and having qualified as a field guide) I have spent a very long time wanting to see an aardvark - and actually did on a game drive from Clifftop. We also saw a huge number of rhino, elephant and lion, but for us actually seeing an aardvark and a brown hyena was even more special as they are rarer sightings. The absence of cell phone reception is also a joy. It's not far from the city in driving terms, but a world away in all others. Thanks to everyone at Clifftop, a very special place and three days. Oh, and the rooms are wonderful, should have mentioned that earlier!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy C, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear David
Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you and your parents at Clifftop, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best of luck with the articles that you write, I look forward to reading the one on Welgevonden. Till we meet again.
The Clifftop Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I we went for a 2 night break to just relax and unwind for the weekend.
This place is truly wonderful,The location, staff, service, rooms, scenery, food etc. all top class. Game drive was also excellent, hope next time we can see cheaters :-) . Well done guy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy C, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Raul
Thank you for your feedback.
It was a pleasure hosting you at Clifftop and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely
Clifftop Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have just returned from a just returned from a terrific few days at the Lodge with my South African family, where we all enjoyed a long weekend of thrills and utter relaxation. The thrills were supplied by some fantastic experiences with game on a number of drives with the extremely cool-headed and knowledgeable Odette. And the relaxation was a characteristic of all the times in between. The staff could not have been more helpful or attentive and the meals were consistently excellent. Many thanks to all the staff and management that helped make this family trip an extremely happy one.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 7. It was very private and wonderfully placed - lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffGeoffdeGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy C, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Geoff
Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor and the wonderful feedback that you have provided.
It was a delight to have had the opportunity to host you and your family at Clifftop and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Clifftop in the near future.
Sincerely
The Clifftop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
21.4 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
394 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
163 reviews
3.8 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#3 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
193 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#6 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
101 reviews
9.1 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifftop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifftop Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve | East Gate Entrance, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: £355 - £580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clifftop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifftop Exclusive Safari Lodge is an exquisite bushveld hideaway, a unique resort, where service is understood and luxury is elegantly understated. The setting is breath taking and provides a beautiful African backdrop for a world of easy going elegance.All 8 suites have a private deck with plunge pool,thatched sala and indoor and outdoor lounges. The en-suite bathrooms have both indoor and outdoor showers, separate bath and bath consumables. The suites are non-smoking and have air conditioning, direct dial telephones, hairdryers, hotel stationery, mini bars, room safes, electric blankets and tea/coffee making facilities. Private Wine Cellar dinners are available by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in the 36000ha malaria-free Welgevonden Game Reserve in the Waterberg Mountains, offering the Big 5. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per night.Halaal, Kosher and any other special meal requirements are catered for by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clifftop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifftop Hotel Vaalwater
Clifftop Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing