We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A SLICE OF PARADISE”
Review of Clifftop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clifftop Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Have spent the last three nights at this glorious lodge with my daughter I can highly recommend the lodge, the unbelievable service from all the staff - huge thumbs up to Ursula, Ben, Odette, Martin and Joseph - they all made us feel so terribly special in their own way. Also had one of the most adrenalin rushing game drives on our last night which will never be forgotten. The rooms are luxurious and terribly private - my favourite was without hesitation the splash pool, outside shower and the most comfortable beds and linen. Well done to you all and we hope we will have the opportunity of visiting again your magnificent lodge - Jane

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWalker71, Director of Sales at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Cindy
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was the most amazing place for a short, luxurious and memorable break. The lodge is perfect 'bush luxury', it's classy, elegant and very comfortable. The staff were all amazing, the butlers were very attentive without being intrusive, our game ranger had an excellent eye and phenomenal knowledge! Ursula, the Manager couldn't have done more for us. We felt very special and thank everyone for all their efforts. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 2 was perfect for a romantic break, the bath had a view to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Charlotte and Jonathan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing Clifftop to celebrate your honeymoon.

Sincerely
Ursula and the Clifftop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have just returned from a disappointing weekend at Clifftop Lodge. This place has amazing potential that it is just not living up to - very sad. We arrived to lunch on Friday, where our plates were placed onto filthy placemats. These remained on the tables for the duration of our Saturday meals. We are not people who like to complain, so we kept quiet in the hope that things would improve. They did slightly, but we feel that when you have saved hard and are paying lots of money to stay somewhere that is claiming to be 5-star, there are just certain standards that have to be met. Our dinner on Saturday evening took 2 hours to serve and the food in one of the meals was cold. We were seated at a table looking at a wall and fire extinguisher, and the tablecloth had holes in it...not exactly the romantic engagement weekend dinner we would hoped for! The food was pretty average - the breakfasts were the best, the desserts tasted like they had come out of a supermarket packet - they were watery, stale, etc. The loos in the reception area were without loo paper and soap for much of the time that we were there. I had emailed the lodge twice before our visit to ask about spa treatments but received no response to either of my mails. When we arrived, we asked the manager if we could organize two massages on the Sunday. This was confirmed again with her later, but no-one arrived to do them! They did apologize for this and offered to pay for our 2 drinks on Sunday pm, but we just felt it shouldn't have happened - we had REALLY looked forward to them! The paint-work in the rooms was extremely shoddy - not acceptable at a 5-star lodge! We were in Room 8 which was quite a walk away. The rooms were clean and the views spectacular, but the bath had some scratches in it that did not look pleasant. The outdoor shower was not very private either and can be seen from the main pathway down to the room. It would have been nice if this had been screened off a bit. My fiancé does not drink alcohol and yet was only ever offered an alcoholic beverage after every game drive. We had mentioned that we had got engaged this weekend...there was absolutely no recognition of this at all. We didn't expect anything big, but just a little card or a petal heart on the bed or something like that, would have been nice....especially when you are celebrating something special. Odette, our ranger, was really outstanding! She was very knowledgeable and we had some lovely sightings with her. We really feel sad, because this lodge could be so amazing and it was meant to be a very special treat and celebration weekend for us. We really enjoyed our time together and it is a beautiful setting, but there is just a serious lack of attention to detail that should be there when you are staying in an expensive lodge!

Room Tip: Room 8 end of row and so private to a point. Long walk and outdoor shower can be seen from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Traveller,

We note that the General Manager has been in direct contact with you in this regard.

Management
Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I've been using T.Advisor for about 2 years when choosing places to stay. A friend recommended Clifftop and i got a feel for it from other posters. However, the main photo on TA is misleading. None of the accommodation is within the main building. The chalets are very private and spaced out along the edge of the gorge. The main Lodge plus every chalet has wonderful views along the gorge below. Each chalet has plunge pool, outside shower (very sexy) and space to sunbathe away from neighbours. The rooms are huge and everything is catered for. Towels weigh about 3kg each!!
Sue was the manager when we stayed, and service at Clifftop is exceptional from all staff including very knowledgeable rangers. Def worth a high rating and good value when one considers everything (except extra drinks) is included.
The terrain at Welgavonden is mountainous and contains some spectacular views. We saw a fair amount of game esp rhino and elephant. Has lions but only a few buffalo. Not many other vehicles seen whilst traversing the reserve.

Note: The Lodge is designed for couples who want to get away and relax whilst seeing game on the drives provided. Children are not permitted and there are no facilities for them.

Tip: If your schedule allows it, Clifftop much more conducive to giving discounts on Monday, Tues and Wed as weekends are often full with travellers from JBG.

Room Tip: All rooms are very private with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGM1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Mike and Henriette
Thank you for your kind words, as well as your phone call to the lodge expressing your appreciation. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
The staff at Clifftop strive to do their utmost, and they take pride in their work and appreciate the praise on a job well done.
Thank you for the added info on the rooms and about the lodge, I am sure it will help the next prospective traveller in choosing Clifftop as their destination of choice. Till we meet again.
Sincerely
The Clifftop team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Clifftop is the epitome of a relaxing, 5 star weekend away with your respective other.

Aside from the impeccable service, chilled champagne on arrival, and fine dining in a wine cellar fit for a king, you can expect comfort and top game viewing.

This is most definitely a return getaway and comes highly recommended by us.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as great as the next
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalieball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Natalie and Justin

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip advisor and for the wonderful feedback. It is always a delight to read such positive comments. We look forward to your next visit to Clifftop lodge.

With thanks
Sue and The Clifftop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Perfect down time. no cell phone signal to disturb you, no t.v to disturb you. Just peace and quiet and beautiful surroundings, from the very warm and friendly staff to the lovely rooms with breathtaking views and the excellent southafrican food which was served hot and with a smile. Nothing was a hassle for these guys, brilliant service. Teriffic game drives, thank you to Sabastion and Odette, very informative and enthusiastic about the animals. This was my wife and I's thirtyith wedding anneversary and these guys really went out of there way to make it special. Thank you Sue and your staff very much you will definately see us in the near future.

Room Tip: Stay in the honeymoon suite( room 1) it has a jacuzzi instead of a bath and is close to the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Caroline and Ross

Thank you for your kind words and feedback on Trip advisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and with us we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards
Sue and the Clifftop Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Ursula thank you...awesome food ...really fab. Odette great game drive..lion cheetahs..will recommend.staff was so helpful thank you. Loved my massage out in open next to my private pool. Beds so comfy and rooms beautiful..loved it

Room Tip: All rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank olivia220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write about us.
The staff at Clifftop strive to give their best and the acknowledgement is appreciated.
We trust you have wonderful memories of Clifftop and hope to see you back here soon.
Regards
The Clifftop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
21.4 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
407 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
175 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#3 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
158 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
198 reviews
9.1 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#6 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifftop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifftop Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve | East Gate Entrance, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: £319 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clifftop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifftop Exclusive Safari Lodge is an exquisite bushveld hideaway, a unique resort, where service is understood and luxury is elegantly understated. The setting is breath taking and provides a beautiful African backdrop for a world of easy going elegance.All 8 suites have a private deck with plunge pool,thatched sala and indoor and outdoor lounges. The en-suite bathrooms have both indoor and outdoor showers, separate bath and bath consumables. The suites are non-smoking and have air conditioning, direct dial telephones, hairdryers, hotel stationery, mini bars, room safes, electric blankets and tea/coffee making facilities. Private Wine Cellar dinners are available by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in the 36000ha malaria-free Welgevonden Game Reserve in the Waterberg Mountains, offering the Big 5. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per night.Halaal, Kosher and any other special meal requirements are catered for by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clifftop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifftop Hotel Vaalwater
Clifftop Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing