We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mindblowingly Amazing”
Review of Clifftop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clifftop Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As the title says it was a mindblowing property.. We visited Clifftop in January for our honeymoon and was our first destination... had a lot of expectations from the place.. the place n staff were definately better that wat i had expected... they arranged for a lovely candlelit dinner for us on the first day in their wine cellar which was amazing.. very nice n special.the rooms are amazing with their own pool by the cliff amazing views and just real nice.
the lobby is breathtaking amazing.. the dinning area is amazing..
the games were very nice, though we did not spot any cats we did spot a rhino n giraffe which was good... they take care of all ur needs... the meals were delicious.. staff very friendly.. just awestruck.. wud definitely come back soon...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AftabHudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear AftabHudda,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and hope to welcome you back to celebrate your first anniversary.

With warmest regards,
The Clifftop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were looking for a lodge in the Waterberg to get married. Ursula showed us around about a year ago, we fell in love with the lodge and decided to get married there. We booked out the lodge for the weekend and had our wedding ceremony in the bush next to a river. From the time we arrived till the time me left we were treated like royalty. The food was fantastic, the service was excellent, the rooms and the views were awesome - there is nothing we would have wanted different. The day of the wedding everything was organized and arranged without any stress. The ceremony was beautiful and all the staff were so helpful in organizing everything. Thank you Ursula, Natie and your staff for making our wedding day truly memorable!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have spectacular views
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank CKempen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear CKempen,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled that we could assist in making your wedding perfect for you! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
The Clifftop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we were treated like Royalty. The Lodge is a lovely mix of traditional and Contemporary design and in a dramatic position overlooking a gorge. Our Lodge was large,beautifully laid out and spacious. Although, one of 8 Lodges in a row, it was still private.

The staff were delightful with broad smiles that brightened our days and nothing was too much trouble.

The Game Drives were very good. The Rangers were friendly and informative. They were very knowledgeable about the Reserve, so could take us to the appropriate areas to find certain animals. We followed lion tracks one morning and were very excited when we found a Pride.
Ursula met us after each Game Drive, with hot towels and to ask how we got on.

Breakfast was immense and fantastic! We never made it to lunch, which was a cooked meal. We would have preferred a snack, or even better, afternoon tea!

Dinner was served at a secluded table. One table per room in the Lodge, so that it felt like you had the Lodge to yourself. Very Romantic. Dinner was nice with a choice of two dishes, for each course. The staff, again,delightful.

We were sad to leave, wish we had a few more days to spend there.
We would certainly recommend the Lodge and look forward to going back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJACK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear FJACK14,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful holiday at Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway! We enjoyed having you stay with us and were sad to see you go.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards,
The Clifftop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Still stunned at the size of ants - but what a great three days. Staff could not have been friendlier, as were the other guests, mostlt from SA and some from Europe. A tad disappointed not to see a giraffe but saw plenty - Including a kill. Guides most informative and guided me through this traumatic(to me!) experience. I'd go back in a heartbeat. South Africa rocks!

Room Tip: If you don't like the sounds of baboons laughing - don't go! Very picturesque and perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear kcsaville,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at Clifftop and had such exciting game viewing experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the reserve soon so that we can find those giraffe for you!

Regards,
The Clifftop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent two nights at Clifftop this week . A week in Camps Bay , a couple of nights in Joburg and the highlight of our vacation was Welgevonden Reserve . Clifftop is a small lodge I think only 8 rooms with breathtaking views onto the river . The staff were great . We managed to fit in two "Safaris" per day and we saw many different birds and animals culminating in the last few hours with a sighting of the two male lions on the reserve . Danny the new young English ranger is a real star and in the short time he has been at the reserve really impressed us with his encyclopaedic knowledge of the animals and birds . He also makes a pretty good gin and tonic . Definitely a worthwhile experience .

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesliecsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hi Leslie,

Thank you for the glowing review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted that you had a lovely holiday, and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back to Clifftop Lodge again soon.

Regards,
The Clifftop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Went here for our Wedding Anniversary. As our Bush and nature is disappearing rapidly, I am not a fan of "modern looking" game lodges and prefer the old British Style Safari's & Tented Camps but this This Game Reserve is one of my favourite designed lodges.

It was given a "white-out" which is unusual for the dusty bush but this lodge lent itself perfectly to it's new white look. I have nothing bad to say about this lodge except that that the game viewing is mild at best and not for guests who want to see serious game.

Also we were overcharged by the Internet site we booked through by 300% compared to what other guests paid, which spoiled the stay for us because we felt ripped off. The staff were very nice and tried their best to spoil us to make up for a problem that had nothing to do with them.

Great! Looking forward to going again, but won't be expecting the great game viewing this time, so won't be disappointed about that again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHotelGuru10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing Representative at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hi sbus2014,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you liked the lodge and that on the whole, you enjoyed your stay.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the game viewing, and sincerely hope that the next time you visit, you experience more sightings.

Regards,
The Clifftop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My stay at Clifftop was easily my most memorable bush experience. The 4 days I spent there left me feeling as though I had been on holiday for a month. The breath-taking views from our room and the lodge alone were worth a visit; but coupled with the most accommodating and welcoming staff, knowledgeable and friendly guide and spectacular game viewing the trip was unforgettable. I will definitely be returning as soon as I can. Thank you Clifftop!

Room Tip: Room 2 had a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessmessB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear JessmessB,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on Tripadvisor... we are thrilled that you had such a good time at Clifftop and look forward to seeing you again for another memorable holiday.

Regards,
The Clifftop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
21.4 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
407 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
175 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
158 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#3 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
198 reviews
9.1 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#6 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifftop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifftop Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve | East Gate Entrance, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: £321 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clifftop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifftop Exclusive Safari Lodge is an exquisite bushveld hideaway, a unique resort, where service is understood and luxury is elegantly understated. The setting is breath taking and provides a beautiful African backdrop for a world of easy going elegance.All 8 suites have a private deck with plunge pool,thatched sala and indoor and outdoor lounges. The en-suite bathrooms have both indoor and outdoor showers, separate bath and bath consumables. The suites are non-smoking and have air conditioning, direct dial telephones, hairdryers, hotel stationery, mini bars, room safes, electric blankets and tea/coffee making facilities. Private Wine Cellar dinners are available by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in the 36000ha malaria-free Welgevonden Game Reserve in the Waterberg Mountains, offering the Big 5. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per night.Halaal, Kosher and any other special meal requirements are catered for by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clifftop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifftop Hotel Vaalwater
Clifftop Lodge South Africa/Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing