We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassan H”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ngalawa Beach Village
Ranked #35 of 235 Zanzibar Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Visited in early July. The overall standard was excellent. The customer service however is simply incredible. The owners take a personal interest in ensuring you have a good stay. Comfortable modern well appointed rooms, quiet beaches, outstanding food comparable with top restaurants in London. My girlfriend has complex dietary requirements (vegetarian and gluten free) which were discussed with the staff on arrival and all the meals were adapted without issue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HassH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here in June as part of a larger group cycling round the island. Beautiful location, nice room and pool. The hosts, Joanne and Sadru, are lovely and really make you feel 'at home'. The food was fantastic with a very wide variety/choice. I would really recommend waking up early to see the beautiful sunrise from the bar area of the hotel - something never to be forgotten. All in all, a great place in every way. Can't wait to go back with the family next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BPandRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Joanne and Sadru are amazing, they made us feel sooo at home . The rooms magnifique , clean , fresh towels and their amenities the best...friendly staff and great food...the view from the bar towards the ocean was breath taking....Cnt wait to go back to Zanzibar...Thank you soo much...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivica_Chao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just spent yet another weekend at the Ngalawa Beach Village. I have lost count of how many weekends I have spent there and each time I promise myself that I will be back.
Looking out at the calm blue water and the fishermen's boats gliding by as you sip your cocktails is a special treat. They wave out to you- Jambo! Ciao! and hold up the fish they have just caught with their brand new nets. Walking along the clean and sandy beach you see kids playing football or holding up crabs to attract your attention. The Ngalawa Beach village offers hospitality that is incomparable. The food is finger licking delicious and every meal is a food-lovers delight!
Highly recommended for people like me who do not like big hotels and love a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwarnDaresSalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

After a eight day safari with Maasai Wanderings (which was incredible and we highly recommend the company-ask for Evarest!!) we spent a number of weeks at Ngalawa Beach Resort. We were warmly greeted at reception by the owners, Joanne and Sadru with a nice cold Sundowner drink upon our arrival and in no time at all we felt like part of the Ngalawa family. We were lucky to have obtained the Beach Suite which is at the bottom of the property just above the beach (yes, there IS A BEACH). This gorgeous little beach suite has its’ own sandy private relaxation area overlooking the ocean, with a palappa and two chaise lounges. The pontilla, serving refreshing drinks from 11 a.m. onward and tea and baked goodies at 4:30 each day, is just a short walk down the path and it is overlooking the beach. At high tide, the ocean is directly beneath the pontilla. We had a few good parties on that pontilla with the local staff and the Maasai doing traditional dances for us as well as getting us to participate. Great fun. One of the things we enjoyed the most about Ngalawa, was that, even though we were at a resort, we were able to observe the local life, as a fishing village was about a 20 minute walk down the beach. Each morning as we went outside to catch the beautiful sunrises some of the friendly locals would pass by on the beach on their way to take on the day as well. The fishermen were heading out in their dhow boats at the same time. We had stunning photo opportunities here.
We were approximately 40 minutes from Stone Town and transportation was always available to take us wherever we wanted to go, with a guide (Mr. Bean we called him – a wonderful man) in Stone Town waiting to accompany us through the markets to help with translation, colourful history, and who as well knows the reputable shops with best prices etc. There is a fee, of course and we felt they were totally in line for the service offered. These drivers and guides are at your disposal all day.
Ngalawa is a place to go, relax, absorb your surroundings and if you choose, venture out and do day trips and know that you can get away from the hustle and bustle at the end of those days, and go back to peace and quiet at Ngalawa.
Now, the food. Let us just say if you are thinking you cannot be surprised, think again. The food was incredible, fresh, home-made, locally sourced and beautifully presented to you each meal. You will never in a 14 day stay eat the same soup, starter, main course or dessert twice. Fresh bread baked twice daily, home-made yogurts, ice cream, and preserves. Ah yes, and non-stop fresh fruit and freshly made juices. EVERYTHING is organic.
The staff are local and English is not their first language, but it is their home and we are the visitors and they try very hard to please the guests. The Maasai, who patrol the property are amazing gentlemen and we miss our morning Swahili “lessons”. We were thrilled and honoured when they sang and danced for us.
The beach. We are dumb-founded to read the review regarding “no beach”. We were on that so-called non-existent beach each and every day, long walks in both directions, picking shells, walking to the fishing village, swimming in the ocean. Does the tide come in and go out? Well yes, that is because we are on the ocean, not the lake. If you are looking for the massive beaches covered with tourists and discos and dozens of vendors selling identical touristy wares, well then, this is not the BEACH for you. If you are looking for a beach with soft white sand, beautiful scenery, incredible sunrises, an impromptu game of beach volleyball and the opportunity to meet some of the locals as they pass by, then THIS is the beach for you. If you wish to stay somewhere where you are not just another guest, forgotten amongst hundreds of others, and wish for a more personal experience, then this charming resort of a 5 star quality (in our opinion) is definitely for you. It was beyond our expectations in so many ways. Oh, and the Red Colobus Monkies who make their home in the surrounding trees are a delight to watch. A more romantic place for us would be hard to find,

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhyllisandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Sunny greetings from us and the entire staff of Ngalawa BeachResort !!

What a pleasure to not only read such a delightful review, but as well to know that our team and our product have ticked all the boxes for you both.

We were very impressed by the research you did before leaving Canada to embark on your trip of a lifetime. Not an easy task Im sure !!

Our staff and Maasais still inquire about you ,clearly you left such a memory for them due to your curiosity and willingness to try and interact . They are all very proud of their culture and are so eager to respectfully share with our guests!

Thank you for your compliments in regards to our food! Yes ,you are ccorrect in that the odd kilo is gained, but thats part of what a great vacation is all about !

We will give your cheeriest Canadian regards to Beani as well ,he is another one who asks about you both.

On behalf of our Ngalawa Team
Asahnte sana na Karibu tene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

After early morning wake-ups during a wonderful 10 day safari with Maasai Wanderings (ask for Evarest or Simon), walking down the steps to an oasis of beauty was another moment to be cherished in Tanzania. JoAnne and Sadru welcomed us like family, their hospitality endless. They endeavor to integrate into the culture and support local industries; Sadru was born in Zanzibar. He and JoAnne are both Canadians.

The rooms are spacious, grouped in sets of 4 (up and down), local décor, all with decks favoring sea and garden views.

The pontilla, extending over the beach is the perfect place to lay back, observe the daily life of the Zanzibaris, and have a drink. Afternoon tea, coffee, and snacks set the pace for winding down.

The staff are friendly, and serve to remind us we are in Zanzibar, as they maintain their culture. Many speak Italian better than English due to the propensity of Italian tourists. The Maasai, who provide security, were a nice addition, and more than happy to converse.

Cuisine is one of the highlights of staying in Ngalawa Beach Hotel. Presentation and content were exceptional, each meal a work of art, and never repeated (except for breakfast).

When in need of movement, walking along the beach in either direction is simply a pleasure. There is a small fishing village nearby, with an am vegetable market and pm fish market. Everyone I came across during my twice daily meanders, were friendly and very polite. As mentioned, most spoke Italian.

The beach itself is not good for swimming, due to the drastic change in tides, soft (and sinkable) sand, intermittent sharp rocks and sea grass. It’s fine to go and sit for a while, letting the warmth of the Indian Ocean soothe weary bones. The pool offers a nice alternative to cool off.

A travel partner had an aromatherapy massage, ($50) with a view of a palm tree just outside the window. She could only describe it with a smile.

The property is isolated, perfect for a place to be still. Books, suntan lotion, and an appetite is all you’ll need!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy_Sangha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Jambo from Ngalawa!

We do thank you for sharing your experience with us ..naturally we are thrilled that all of your expectations were met and more!

For us it is thrilling to see our guests really "get" the African experience,and be so willing to venture in to the village,watch the beautiful Colobus monkeys and Sykes Monkeys that make themselves at home .

The warmth of the Indian Ocean is fantastic on this side of the island due to the tides and the hot sand warming the water.
I believe you really enjoyed learning the local Bao game a well.Our Barmen are excellent teachers.

We do apologize for any extra kilos that may have been put on due to our very talented Chef!!

We hope you had an uneventful Safari back home, and from all of us ,thankyou for choosing Ngalawa Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Have just spent a week at Ngalawa beach village, from the moment we arrived we felt totally at home . The location was great, our hosts made us feel totally at ease , the food was beyond great, and we left totally recharged. Everyone involved contributed to a wonderful holiday, this place should be available on medical aid!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
4.0 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Maars Resort
Maars Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
22 reviews
6.5 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#5 of 6 in Pongwe
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
700 reviews
16.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
0.0 mi away
Swahili Beach Resort
Swahili Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Kizimkazi
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngalawa Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngalawa Beach Village

Address: | Chwaka Bay East Coast, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar Island
Price Range: £121 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngalawa Beach Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngalawa Beach Village Resort is a very nice Resort of 20 suites all with sea view and beach. The resort is located on the east coast of Zanzibar and overlooks the picturesque Chwaka Bay. All suites have a stunning view of the Indian Ocean from private porch and are very tastefully decorated with an eye for local and cultural theme in mind. The landscaping is professionally designed and the Resort is well lit in the evenings. All suites have attached bathrooms,bathroom towels and pool towels, air condition unit, fan, a desk, a safety deposit box, a kettle for tea or coffee, a full size 6ft by 6ft bed, mosquito net, a mini bar fridge, a day bed, hair driers and two Zanzibari style chairs in the balcony with ocean view. The Resort has a strategically located Swimming Pool with a wrap around pool deck, made from the finest Tanga Stones. Overlooking the Indian Ocean, there is a private sunbathing area and there is a path that leads to “Lily’s Beach Bar” located on the Jetty. Bars & Restaurants The Dining room offers a friendly, casual atmosphere, good service and a fully equipped Bar. A very good selection of music to add to the ambiance. Occasional live performers. The main Dining Room also offers Special Menu for intimate private tables in a reserved area. Pool Side dining on special occasions. The Resort has a full service kitchen offering a la carte menu or buffets as planned by the Chef. The menu is prepared with fusion of spices, the cultural cuisines, and abundance of Sea Food in mind, also vegetarian or special requests. Fresh fruits in season and a variety of desserts. A visit to our Coconut Spa is a special time put aside for you to rejuvenate your senses. Choose from variety of massage products for your indulgence. Retreat to the cool shade of swaying palm trees or gently swing on the hammock with a good book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ngalawa Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngalawa Beach Village Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing