We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked Uroa”
Review of Samaki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaki Lodge
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We liked Uroa”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After few days in the north part of Zanzibar, we come back in Uroa, cose we liked more the quiet places...there you can see the real life of the local people and the beach is much more quiet.
This time we stayed in Samaki Lodge, typical Kiswahili architecture...small and complete in all the services...we enjoyed the beautiful spa ..especially my wife!
We took the contact of the owner that he promise us a very good price for our next trip in Zanzibar..even with a nice safari in Tanzania..
Zanzibar see you soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augustin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
18
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Serbian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The service and facilities are great at this welcoming hotel. The kids loved the pool and we had great excursions including snorkelling at Npenda. Only downside is the sea is either too high or too low to make the most of the beach which is more accessible from other parts of the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenbeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Samaki is the coziest hotel on the island......our 10 day stay (16-26 march 2013) was the best we could wish for......friendly service, friendly locals and guides with whom we took a few excursions around the island and hotel's owner personal attention..... the best beach and warmest ocean we've ever experienced......many thanks to everybody......Robert(US) and family(Czech).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 473robertv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, the Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed in Samaki Lodge for ten nights in January 2013. Run by Italian owner, this inexpensive small hotel surrounded by nice garden has a gorgeous white-sand beach, nice pool area, very helpful staff and security provided by Masai warriors. Not many tourists there. A fish village and locals fish from their dhows just offshore.
Our room was nice and comfortable equipped with an AC, safe and TV and was located just at the private hotel beach. The bathroom and everything else was convenient.
Food was tasty - chicken, beef, rice, chips, pasta, fruits, cakes. Seafood was always fresh, having been caught the same day (several times while having breakfast we saw fishermen bringing a big tuna or swordfish). Delicious fresh pineapple and mango juice served in the bar by friendly staff.
We have been to two trips with a local guide called Jerry whom you can meet on the hotel beach at the place where a bed service is provided. A man usually wearing a cap with peak and a bag on his shoulder speaks English and Italian and a bit Czech, too. We were pleased with his taking us to Stone Town, Prison Island and Spice tour thanks to his friendly approach and a good price. We recommend his service warmly – tel. (+ 255) 773 037 801.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pesakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI BEACH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed at this property in March 2012 for 2 weeks ! Very different from your "regular" resorts -
spectacular service provided by very friendly staff members, very nice and spacious rooms, good location to visit the rest of the island and best of all amazing food !
The owner and his son make this place very unique and make you feel at home - i have traveled quite extensively around the world and stayed at many places and i can easily highly recommend this hotel -

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZANDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Coral Reef Beach Resort
Coral Reef Beach Resort
#6 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
1,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samaki Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaki Lodge

Property: Samaki Lodge
Address: Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Samaki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing