We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real paradise...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zanzi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zanzi Resort
Ranked #4 of 173 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real paradise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

After searching a lot on internet and reading a lot of reviews, we finally decided to book our stay in Zanzibar at Zanzi Resort based on the great reviews and it was really fantastic even better than what we expected!

We arrived at Zanzi Resort an early morning after taking the first flight of the day to the Zanzibar. When we arrived, Christian gave us a warm welcome and started what was to become a fantastic week.

The resort is located in a rural area about 15 minutes north of Stone Town. The seven villas are lined up along the shore, most of them having direct and private access to the Indian Ocean. All villas have a secluded garden and pool where you can stay all to yourself, undisturbed in your own tropical paradise.

The food is served in the main building where the restaurant and bar is located in the middle of the lush tropical surroundings or if you wish in your villa. We chose to have most of our meals and drinks at the main building where we had it almost all to ourselves. The staff are very friendly and professional and go out of their way to make your stay the best possible. We felt like being with family during our stay!

The food deserves a special mentioning. All through the week we were served breakfast and two 3-course meals per day. There is a set menu of two or three options that changes from day to day. Every day we got the most delicious fresh fish and sea food accented with the taste of local spices. There are always non-seafood options to choose from as well, all cooked to perfection! We also tried and enjoyed different drinks and cocktails at the bar, but what we enjoyed the most was the friendly and welcoming staff!

The resort also has a small private beach besides the individual beach access from the villas, where we were served with a surprised birthday dinner in the most lovely settings!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    26
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
274
31
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

There was only one big problem with our ZanziResort vacation - it was too short! :)
We had a perfect honeymoon vacation thanks to the amazing management and staff.
It looks like they though about everything to make the vacation as relaxing and perfect as one can dream of.
We will definitely return in the future.

** We didn't upload any photos because it really looks like the photos on Zanzi's website.

Room Tip: We stayed at villa no. 6 and it was great, but to our knowledge there is no difference between villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at Zanzi Resort for 5 days at the beginning of November. The reviews were right about this place - ultimate relaxation with luxury facilities in the middle of nowhere! The staff at Zanzi resort are very hospitable and extremely friendly!

Some Facts: 30 minutes from Stone Town
- Breakfast and Dinner included in Half Board (dinner is usually a choice of 2 entrees plus appy and dessert), Lunch menu is extra and quite limited but food was decent.
- Resort is located in between 2 army camps - so quite remote and protected but could hear some noise at times from our villa on the outer edge.
- We used a tour guy/taxi driver named Mr. Zanzibar who was excellent!

Zanzi offers water shoes, kayaks, snorkel gear - all of which we used!
There were only a few other couples staying at the resort who we sometimes saw swimming or at the restaurant, other than that - we felt we had the place to ourselves at times!
We had meals in our villa, at the restaurant, and even had a lobster dinner down by our private beach - it was amazing!!!

We especially loved coming into a clean, cool villa and not having to worry about bugs or mosquito's inside! Although - many lizards and centipedes outside the property - it is nature!!!

After researching many resorts in Zanzibar - we are SO happy we went with Zanzi Resort, however we definitely recommend spending a couple days in Stone Town before to take in the culture - that was well worth it!

Room Tip: We had Villa 7 - which we loved! Our beach was most private and very nice! Villa 4 also looked ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crenee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have stayed at Zanzi Resort for 7 nights. It was our second week of our honeymoon.

Location:

Stone Town is almost 20-30min drive.

Services:

1) The manager and her team were very friendly, they made sure that we were comfortable and enjoying our time.

2) The resort helps in arranging transportation & excursions, it was provided for us for free.

3) The breakfast was nice.

4) Dinner menu is a set menu. you choose between two or three main dishes with a fixed appetizer and sweets. The menu is changed daily. it was delicious but sometimes salty (They had three chefs, so I guess it depends on the chef that night).

5) The lunch menu was not great, but you can ask the chef to cook anything you want if you tell him at least a day early so they can bring fresh ingredients from the market. We asked the chef once to do steaks, they were average. The second time we asked for Italian food, but there was a miscommunication between the chefs so we ended up with the regular lunch menu items.

6) My wife tried the massage but she didn't like it. Also, the masseuse used orange scented oil which was annoying. But it was for free, so cant complain.

Villa:

1) The villa was very nice & very private.

2) The pool was warm and cleaned daily.

3) The beach was private ( two huge rocks on each side). The beach itself was rocky, you will need slippers.

4) Sometimes small boats pass by too close to the beach, you will feel like they will anchor at your beach (it was annoying).

5) No bathtub in the bathroom.

6) The view was amazing.

Conclusion:

I highly recommend visiting Zanzi Resort.

Please note: We got free services because it was our honeymoon, your experience may vary.

Sorry for my grammar.

Room Tip: Villa #4 I think it is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Majed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal N, Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank You so much for your feedback, opinion and detailed comments!
Our kitchen is flexible and our chefs always trying their best to satisfy every wish of our guests. We taking into consideration food predilections of our guests who are coming from all over the world and have absolutely different preferences in terms of spices, however we are always trying our best to accommodate their wishes.
We do have a professional masseur who have High Medicine degree and qualified in different types of massages. In some particular cases guests prefer female masseuse which is coming from outside and using her own products. It is strongly recommended to use facilities of our own SPA so that we can guarantee high quality of treatment provided. But if it is impossible for guests to use male masseur there is always possibility to arrange women from outside but quality could not be the same.
We do have a shower and bidet in the bathroom. Lack of bathtub could be compensated by private swimming pool with current radiotherapy machine.
Our beach is tidal so that during the high tide water is coming right up to the stairs and it is possible to swim straight from there, and during the low tide it is possible to have a nice walk on the shallow reef watching marine life, we do have a special reef shoos for our guests so that they can safely walk on the shallow reef during the low tide.
We are situated on the west coast of the Island therefore we have beautiful sunsets every single evening.
Thank You very much once again for your positive feedback. Our team will be looking forward to host you once again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed for 19 nights at this fantastic resort and enjoyed every minute. When we felt like relaxing in the villa, the staff was respectful and distant and when we were interested in activities they were readily available and extremely helpful. They certainly went out of their way, continuously, to ensure we were comfortable and looked after. The facilities were clean, comfortable, and very private. For anyone looking for a romantic getaway, I would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip and Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed two nights in Zanzi Resort,
We really enjoyed being in a luxury hotel in the middle of nature. The villa was beautiful and very
The service is very good (clean room, clean swimming pool), The food was excellent !
I also tested the massage, which was very good for those who like "professional" massage, tonic but very relaxing afterwards.

We advice you to confirm with the hotel your transfer from aeroport since we had to wait for the taxi, probably due to a lack of organisation.

We definitly recommand this hotel !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missrimouna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My fiancee and I had just gotten enaged before coming to the resort. We spent 5 nights there and both managers and the Staff went out of there way to make it perfect! We chose the HB option and had one dinner at the restaurant, one on the beach, one in the villa and one on our own private beach - all were excellent in terms of service, setup and quality of food.

Room Tip: check out Villas 4 or 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikasdua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
13.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
23.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
24.9 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
13.7 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzi Resort

Property: Zanzi Resort
Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 173 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. ZanziResort's African Eco Villas are made of local materials like wood and clay. They are designed in african spirit with all luxury amenities. Villas have one big room and bathroom. Outside each villas has relax area. Close to those villas there is a big swimming pool. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Zanzi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing