We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ZanziResort
Ranked #5 of 172 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have just spent 3 nights in this little paradise. Everything was delightful from the rooms to the staff. We liked our room so much (more like a small house with private pool) we just stayed by the pool or on the beach swimming (also private access to the sea!), reading and relaxing. Makes it very tough to go back to the real world!
The whole complex is beautifully appointed and all of the walls etc are hand painted by the local people. Then there is the wonderful gardens and grounds.

Total worth the price, you will not be disappointed by zanzi.

Room Tip: We had villa 4 - very private, perfect really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine K, General Manager at ZanziResort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words and review.
Our goal was to create a place where you can feel totally relaxed and just spend amazing time in beautiful surroundings.
We are hoping that you you will come back to ZanziResort, maybe even for longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Zanzi Resort for three nights November 17-20 , 2014.
The vilas are built to the highest standards.
The service level is perfect.
Food was excellent .
The staff was great , could not have been more accomodating .
Special thanks to Marek, MariLu and especially Serengeti.
We highly recommend the Zanzi Resort, it's paradise.
The fitness center is old school but a better workout out than conventional machines.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta J, Guest Relations Manager at ZanziResort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago



I would like to thank you for taking your time to write such a lovely review.
I am very happy you had a fantastic time at ZanziResort. If you ever decide to visit us again,
we will do everything to make your stay even better. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I spent three nights at Zanzi Resort and really fell in love with the place. The private pool was glorious. I was concerned that it would be too shallow, but it was about1.5 meters deep and kept in very good condition. The food was AMAZING! This was a bit of a problem because I didn't want to go somewhere else at night and risk missing a meal. Most importantly, the service was perfect. There was some confusion with my booking, primarily caused by the fact that I was traveling solo and did not look at my invoice to see that I was being charged a double occupancy rate. Mark and Marilou were very nice about this and bent over backwards to make sure my trip wasn't ruined. Abdou and the other Tanzanian staff were also very friendly and helpful. I also want to thank them very much for giving me some of their homemade jam to take home. It really transports me back to a time of pure bliss!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abwolai s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta J, Guest Relations Manager at ZanziResort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


Thank you so much for this amazing review!
We are so glad to know you have enjoyed your stay at the ZanziResort and we sincerely
hope to see you again soon. Until then, we wish you all the best and thank you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in Nov 13 and loved it. The villas are very spacious and clean. We were told by our tour operator that the beaches on the eastern shore of the island are nicer (which is likely true as it was a bit rocky here) but we did not see any resorts there that had large private pools and private access to the beach as Zanzi Resort did. We're definitely glad we stayed here! The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well-maintained. We also liked that there were kayaks, bikes and snorkeling equipment available and tried them all. The staff was very accommodating and arranged for us to have a private dinner on the beach one evening. We had most our meals at the resort and enjoyed them all. Thanks to Katherine and Christian for a quiet and relaxing time in Zanzibar! Also, we were flying out later in the evening and we were able to stay in our room until 5-6pm which was greatly appreciated before our long trip home!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccjs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed 6 nights here in april of 2014. From the beginning, the Zanzi Resort staff was extremely accommodating. Our flight into Zanzibar was delayed by twelve hours, yet they were extremely flexible and still had a taxi waiting for us upon arrival at midnight. The property is beautiful beyond a doubt, and the daily staff is very friendly. All the meals were magnificent, and they accommodated my wife's dietary preferences with no issues.

There is no other resort on the island that will offer you the same level of privacy and service that you will find at Zanzi. While there are some interesting sites to see on the island, you will find it difficult to pull yourself away from the resort to see them.

Finally, the management team and the hotel staff are superb. Everybody was always ready to strike up a friendly conversation, and it really added to the experience of the trip.

Room Tip: Villa 4 was extremely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I spent a week with my wife and kids. We had such incredible time. The kids were so excited, enjoyed the private pool and beach. We had several tours during the week which were perfectly arranged.
Ohh I had undiscrible romantic private dinner with my wife on the beach ... Was amazing!
The food is fresh and tasty. And perfectly served.
The staff are super friendly and the place is clean with warm feeling. We got more value for what we paid and we will difinatly come back.
It is highly recommended to stay there for relax, rest, romantic, and privacy.
Special thanks and appreciation to Kat and Marilu for the superp hospitality, management and supervision.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EgyptFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed 6 nights from March 22-28. What a wonderful experience: the location and property, the villa and gardens, the staff (especially Katherine, Ibrahim, Paul), the beach, all was exceptional. If you want privacy and relaxation this is the place to be. The resort is extremely safe, clean and quiet. The private pool, day bed, and private beach (rocky but with sand - perfect for swimming) were amazing. There is a small coral reef for snorkling right out front of the resort, perfect for a short swim. Anything that you want or wish to do is arranged for you with incredible ease. We will be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Villa seven was the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdncouple77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
13.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,679 reviews
13.4 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,736 reviews
23.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
27.9 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
13.7 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ZanziResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ZanziResort

Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 172 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Price Range: £204 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ZanziResort 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. ZanziResort's African Eco Villas are made of local materials like wood and clay. They are designed in african spirit with all luxury amenities. Villas have one big room and bathroom. Outside each villas has relax area. Close to those villas there is a big swimming pool. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your ZanziResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing