We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Jozani Chwaka Bay National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Dolphin Spotting and Jozani Forest: Half-Day Tour from Zanzibar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Sorry to say, event thought the locals try hard I commend their effort, but perhaps a waste of time and money for me.

Only 2 types of monkies and 1 trillion mozzies does not ad up. I suffered for two days after to heal the swolen ankles and knees from the mosquito bites!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    210
    84
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Get close & personal with the monkeys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beautiful foliage and very peaceful walking through the jungle landscape. In one area we only saw the endemic red colobus from afar swinging and playing in the trees. Was fun to watch but hard to photograph. We later walked to a different area where the monkeys were on the ground foraging and completely unaware of all the "humans" around them within arms reach. I just wanted to reach out and pet them, but I didn't. Great photo opportunities and a blast watching their behavior as there were some young ones in the troop. Made for a nice afternoon trip - worth the time we took out of our schedule. We had a tour guide take us, which I advise as he knew where to go. The tour cost us but there wasn't a specific fee into the park, that I could tell anyways.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucon, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

It is too far(1.5 hours from Nungwi) and too expensive for the poor expirience you get. If you still want it rent a car and park your car on the main road you can see the monkeys.

Helpful?
2 Thank Peleg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful forest, lots of monkeys!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Learn about the only national park on Zanzibar from the excellent and informative guides. See the different types of forest, exotic trees, and of course take good close up photo's of the Red Colobus Monkey! Well worth a visit, easy to reach from Stonetown!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Trail with numerous monkeys.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We enjoyed a brief hike through Jozani National Park and really enjoyed watching numerous Vervet monkey families play around

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WilliamJordan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jozani Chwaka Bay National Park also viewed

Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Jozani Chwaka Bay National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing