We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeler's delight with pristine coral reef and beautiful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Ranked #2 of 170 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I had an amazing time on Chumbe, the coral reef is one of the most beautiful places to snorkel in the world. I got to swim with turtles, see eels, rays, lion fish, huge grouper, see colorful coral, tropical fishes, and hear whales singing. The guides lead informative nature hikes and snorkel tours, and even showed us the huge coconut crabs at night. The eco-houses you stay in are so amazing with open air design and natural lighting. The composting toilets worked great and didn't smell, the rainwater collection was amazing and solar heater made warm showers. The food and dining area were beautiful, lots of fresh fruits and veggies with a local flair. The staff were so kind and welcoming. I would recommend Chumbe Island to honeymooners, couples, family's with children over 7, groups of friends, and single travelers.

Room Tip: Stay for at least 2 nights!
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucymarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Chumbe Island Coral Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

We spent only one night at Chumbe Island Coral Park, but it was one of the most memorable stays ever. The island is absolutely stunning and the staff very friendly and helpful. You can go on guided walks exploring the island, snorkelling trips twice a day or just enjoy the beautiful view from one of cosy huts on the beach. The food is very nice in a delicious homemade style. And last but not least thanks to the amazing architecture of the bungalows you can even watch the night sky from your bed...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danuschkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at Chumbe for three days at the very end of 2010. We were amazed by the fascinating architecture of the bungalows, the extremely well educated instructors/guides, the quality of the food and the best thing - the amazing snorkling experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nersgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I recently visited Chumbe Island for a day trip and had a wondeful time! The Staff were friendly and well educated and the food was wonderful. The bungalows were fascinating and created the perfect island getaway atmosphere, it was like Blue Lagoon!!!! The best part of the day though was snorkelling in the protected marine park and the tour of the protected park, our guide was extremely knowledgable and really cared about what he was talking about. All in all it was a great day and I would do it again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZanzibarSuperdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Thank you Chumbe Island for your discounted price offer during this slow period that enabled the residents like me and my family to visit your beautiful paradise. My husband and I with our 2 kids did really enjoy our 2 nights accommodation which was so relaxing and energising. Everything was perfect from the bungallows design and architecture and the seafood was so delicious. The friendly local experienced staff were so good with our children. It was so good to snorkel twice a day in this spectacular coral reef which is rich of beautiful fishes and colourfull corals. Juma Omar (our guiding ranger) was so patient with our kids and he made their experience very positive in exploring the beauty of coral garden as well as the forest.

Room Tip: Maximum relaxation in the Eco-Lodge
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuwena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Spectacular snorkeling trips at the house coral reef, very friendly and helpful staff, living in the middle of nature, good food and simple but well-thought-out lodges - that's Chumbe island! The only not so good I could mention is the smell of the toilet and the ticking sound of the fire alarm box druing the night;-) It is definitely worth a trip!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraGreenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We (me and my girlfriend) went to Chumbe this January for one night. As we had arrived by boat we were given a short introduction to the islands functioning and its projects. Afterwards we were guided to our bungalow, which I found very fascinating: Water from collected rainwater, light walls for air-conditioning, solar panels and an "eco-toilet". We also had a nice sea view from our sleeping room. There were no doors, but as there isn't anybody on the island but some tourist and the staff, this didn't disturb us. The two rooms of the bungalow were simple, but very nicely designed, comfortable and very clean.

Before lunch we had the opportunity to do a forest walk with a ranger. Because I had my leg injured and had to walk with sticks we did skip this part. This would have been an introduction to the forest live (the whole island is protected), as they told us. Later on we went snorkeling. Although the sea was a little bit rough and therefore not that clear we saw a lot of fish, corals and even a sea turtle (see proof-foto;)). It was really something to remember for someone like me who has never been to a coral reef before. All the way we were accompanied by a ranger, ready to save anybody in trouble, which I found really nice to know.

For the night we were the only tourists on the island, so the staff surprised us with a candle light dinner on the beach! A really nice meal with three different fishes was served and we enjoyed the evening very much. By the way: Don't miss the sunset-view from the light tower (which is a bit difficult to climb with an injured leg)! After dinner a ranger showed us the huge coconut crabs, which are only to be seen by night and life in the forest of the island.

The Beds were comfortable. You can hear the sound of the waves in the bungalows. Only one little minus: Sometimes the light didn't work for some minutes, but always came back.

All in all a hotel to remember: Really nice staff, good food, snorkeling and accommodation. It is not cheap, but in my opinion absolutely worth the money and I definitely would like to come back. I’d recommend the island to anybody looking for environmentally friendly, high quality holydays apart from mainstream tourism.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TillTogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
16.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
500 reviews
26.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
39.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
456 reviews
24.7 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
25.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range: £362 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Chumbe Island Coral Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing