We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding place to be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We arrived on Chumbe after a 45 minute boat ride from Mbweni Ruins. From the moment we arrived, we were well taken care of by the friendly and accomodating staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in Kasa #6 at the far end of the beach and it was lovely to hear the waves crashing on the rocks right below our bed at night. The food was delicious and it was magical to dine under the stars by candlelight or at the tables with the great ocean views. The snorkeling was excellent, it was great to see such healthy corals and the many species of fish. Special mention must go to Juma 2 for the care he took in making sure we saw everything we could on the island.
PS Remember to close the hatch upstairs when it starts to rain!

Room Tip: #6 & #7 are the most private and closest to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    30
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
114
324
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We had an amazing time at this eco-resort. We loved our Robinson Crusoe tree-house bungalow. The hammock and the open air upstairs bed were relaxing. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed all the delicious and healthy meals especially the candle-light dinners.

The snorkeling was excellent and we saw so many colorful fish and a few stingrays. They have Marine Biology Identification Books and laminated fish cards to look up the names of the fish and other invertebrates.

Even though the cost is a bit pricey, 40 percent of the money goes to support their environmental education programs for school children and the community. This is a great idea and worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PClark-Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

I got to spend a week on this island and felt like I had died and gone to heaven. The bungalows were spacious, and clean. Beds were good. The food was superb! The staff were very helpful. Snorkelling is not to be missed! If you get a chance to spend some time on Chumbe, do it! It's like no other place.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 are right on the water and very private. Room 3 is really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

A beautiful day- well worth the price tag. This is the first time we stayed in an eco-resort and we loved every aspect of it. The boat ride over, the welcome orientation, the unbelievably paradise of a bungalow- rustic yet luxurious, the amazing food served in breath-taking settings, the staff that went the extra-mile to make sure we enjoyed every amenity they offered. I really am not the best snorkeler- panic a bit and then swallow the salt water- our guide really worked with me so that I didnt quit. Best snorkeling I have ever done. My husband who dives thought I got to see an awful lot- stingrays, lion fish, zebra fish, clams, groupers and an amazing array of coral. Spurge and stay two days! Wish we had!

Room Tip: All of the 7 bungalows are well located and offer privacy and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagbalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

What an amazing day. You arrive by small fishing boat to a pristine pure white sand beach and then walk around the headland to the restaurant. Even though we were not staying the night, we were all given use of the same bungalows that you would have if you were staying, for our own use for the day. The huts themselves are gorgeous, and totally eco-friendly, and we could shower after our fabulous morning snorkelling around the coral reef. There is plenty of fish here as well, as one side of the island is protected, and no fishing is allowed here. The food provided at lunchtime was exceptionally good. My only regret is that we did not book to stay overnight! Next time!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Had a couple of days staying in comfortable eco huts under the stars, and chilling out. superb snorkeling on the coral gardens , litle damage and weell preserved as part of this small marine park. No dynamite fishing here!

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 are the most secluded and best views. go for a dawn snorkle on southern end of island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

A wonderful rustic island getaway – with only 7 “bungalows” the island feels like your own private paradise with maximum 14 guests at any time. Other than the guests only the staff live on the island so its really quiet. The staff are exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable – especially Juma no 5! It is absolutely amazing to discover the reef with their expert assistance. They also spoilt us with a special private beach dinner – very romantic. There is lots to do from walking around the island, swimming off the sandspit, climbing the lighthouse, sailing an outrigger, exploring the shores at low tide but the highlight are the breathtaking snorkel trips twice a day – that is if you manage to drag yourself away from all the wonderful sunbeds and hammocks which are scattered temptingly both at your bungalow and around the island. Lots of thoughtful touches from sarongs and a special foot wash at the front door to get off all the sand – because you will mostly be barefoot.
The food is simple but delicious - with a definate Zanibar feel using spices in unusual ways – they even have their own cookbook for those who want to recreate their Chumbe culinary experience – lots of fresh seafood and very creative salads and vegetables and we will not dwell on the coconut cake...
This is the genuine article an eco-lodge which goes beyond recycling towels “greenwash” to ensure that it actually maximises the positive impact it has on local communities through an ongoing outreach and education programme. It also ensures that it minimises its own impact on the environment by restricting visitors to snorkelling rather than scuba on its exceptionally diverse reef and by low impact buildings.
If you like city slick this is not the place for you or if you want huge beaches and a constant party atmosphere but if you want a rustic and romantic escape it is absolutely perfect.There are lovely small beaches all the time and a big sandspit at low tide. I was a bit worried about composting toilets but actually they work well and are not smelly as long as you remember to keep the seat down. I struggled more with the shower which gave good pressure but wet the bathroom floor because it is open. I loved the way everything was made from natural materials even raffia coverings for the water bottles in the rooms. Such a happy atmosphere we made good friends with other like minded visitors and the staff were amazing. I was very disappointed to be rescued from this island I could happily have stayed as a castaway MUCH longer.

Room Tip: Definately bungalo no 7 - right on the end on the sea most private (ie about 10m or less from the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandering_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
16.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
26.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
39.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
25.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
27.6 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Property: Chumbe Island Coral Park
Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chumbe Island Coral Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing