We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT PLACE TO RELAX!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PERFECT PLACE TO RELAX!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

If you like to be far away from the crowds then you really have to stay at Chumbe Island. The island is so peaceful with beautiful scenery and it’s natural unlike other massive crowded resorts. This is my second trip to Chumbe and I found it perfect. I stayed in April 2011 and made it again in this April and am glad that my self and my family were not disappointed. We stayed in different bungalows from last time and they were also clean and comfortable.
Chumbe staff must have been well trained as we received first class attention from them, from housekeeping to guiding rangers. The staffs are so helpful and gracious and the service at this place was out of the top draw. Again, I enjoyed snorkeling over the superb coral garden with the guidance of knowledgeable rangers
Concisely, Chumbe Island made a great impression to us during this second visit and we would love very much to go back again and stay with these wonderful people. Human touch and kindness is above all.
Asante sana the kithchen team led by Chef Hassan for feeding us well with varieties of fresh meals from day one!

Room Tip: I found bungalow number 1 and 2 have big space and have better view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuwena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    30
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
116
329
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Aside from the very attentive service, fabulous location, deluxe eco accommodation, and great food, the snorkeling was excellent. The Chumbe Island marine preservation project, with its attendant school education onsite program and the joint cooperation, with the government and fishermen community, has ensured that the variety and quantity of coral is quite extraordinary. This is a great example of a collective effort to save the environment and still provide a hands on experience for nature lovers to enjoy, in a low impact manner. Thank you Chumbe, for making this possible !

Room Tip: The only recommendation I can make, is that late Feb is very hot at night for sleeping in an open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sylvia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I fell in love, with Chumbe Island: the coral reefs and snorkeling, the sailing, the most excellent food, the bungalows for sure, and coconut crabs, but mostly the people and intimacy of the Chumbe Island experience. All our creature comforts were well met with the genius design of the bungalows with their solar panel for light and roofline to capture water for showers. So breezy and comfortable, and all entirely off the grid. How fabulous is that! My heart goes out to the staff, especially John the chef for creating the most delicately spiced foods of Zanzibar. We shall return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanClayHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was my third visit to Chumbe Island and it never fails to inspire for the best in ecotourism! The lodging, the staff, the meals, the activities,
all five star! Their personal attention to our needs was constant. They went out of their way to accommodate our comfort and our need for an early departure. And Chaga was a superb forest walk guide. What a way to end our walking safari! Thanks to you all, Chumbe staffers! You deserve your five stars!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARILYN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

After 3 weeks of trekking and Safari in Rwanda and Tanzania, Chumbe was the perfect place to unwind and just totally relax. The island itself is a beautiful little piece of paradise, and the staff at the islands Eco-lodge were outstanding. From the minute we were picked up by the island shuttle boat, to the time we were dropped off back at Mbweni ruins hotel, we were treated like royalty by the island staff. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we were always happy and comfortable, checking with us regularly to see if we needed anything. They are all very knowledgeable about the island and its plants and animals, and are very quick to share that knowledge. Whether it’s a forest walk, an afternoon snorkel, or a morning reef walk, one of them will be there to guide you, and point out what the island has to offer.
The three hot meals a day, prepared by the lodges kitchen staff were excellent; a mixture of local and international cuisine. You would certainly never go hungry on Chumbe, in fact you’d more likely gain a few pounds.
The accommodations on the island are as amazing as the staff and food. The beautiful two-storey, “A- frame” style eco huts reminded us of something right out of Robinson Crusoe. Each morning we could gaze out the open loft of our hut, from our comfy queen size bed, to see the turquoise blue Indian Ocean, and palm trees swaying in the morning breeze. The huts truly are eco-friendly, complete with solar power, compost toilets, and filtered rain water showers. The lodge has done an outstanding job of making every aspect of the facility, and its activities eco-friendly, including providing education to the local population and promoting the importance of maintaining the areas fragile marine environment.
We would certainly recommend a stay on Chumbe to anyone interested in experiencing a once in a lifetime tropical Eco-adventure in Africa. Although we were lucky enough to spend 3 nights on the island, had we known what a beautiful place it was, and how great the staff at the Eco-Lodge were, we would have definitely planned an even longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwanza, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Chumbe island is a perfect getaway of it all. As my husband and I, arrived at Mbweni ruins ready to embark to this tinny island; Shebby was very helpful in taking care of our luggage to the boat. It was during low tide that he borrowed us Masai sandals for walking through the intertidal area to the boat. Masai sandal are very helpful but better bring your comfortable reef shoes as i found them a little bit stiff. After 30 minutes we reached island and we were welcome with warm smile and cold juice - what a refreshing!
We stayed there for 5 nights and we enjoyed every bit of meals that chef Hassan prepared for us. He managed to prepare the mouth watering dishes according to my dietary restrictions without any problem. The private dinner set on the beach for two of us is very memorable!
Fell in love with design of eco bungalows and we are glad to contribute to this sustainable project.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first cabin and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We could only stay 1 night and wished we had at least one more night as this is a truly magical place. From the moment we stepped onto the island to the moment we left there was not one thing we could fault. The team were so welcoming & quick to assess everyone's needs and make sure they were met. We've never come across such a happy team in all our travels. The chef was incredible and cooked more food than it was possible to eat - I was a little concerned before getting there that we could go hungry if we didn't like what was on the menu, I needn't have been as it was so varied and tasty, hakuana matata!
The snorkelling was unbelievable, we could've stay out for ages as so much to see. Along with the crab walks, forest & lighthouse and breathtaking beaches the island is incredible.
The cottage was great & well equipped for what I thought we would get in an Eco lodge, even provided solar powered torches/head lamps at night & Sun hats/wraps/beach bag. Wi-fi access a bonus.
So few guests we felt we were on a deserted island at times & cottages well set out that they were really private. The only noise we heard was crabs moving about.
I will keep memories from this trip forever & hope to return one day as it was such a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bl19uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
16.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
488 reviews
26.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,565 reviews
39.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
446 reviews
24.7 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
25.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Property: Chumbe Island Coral Park
Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chumbe Island Coral Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing