We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The island is gorgeous and the snorkeling is just AMAZING! I haven't seen so many colors in one sight....ever. The huts are absolutely dreamy! Except they have a few lizards hanging out on the walls. If you are terrified of lizards (like I am) you may want to consider a day trip rather than staying over night. The food was top notch too! I am so glad we got to visit this absolute gem!

Room Tip: Bunglow #7 is super private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    30
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
116
331
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We visited Chumbe Island Coral Park on a day trip from Stone Town. If you are planning an outing to a beach I strongly suggest taking this day trip. We spent the morning snorkelling. It was set up very well, with a boat following as well as one of the guides had an inflated tube in case a swimmer was fatigued (it is a fairly long swim). In the afternoon we went on a short forest walk. Although some people took the time to stay on the beach (which is really amazing), I recommend the forest walk. Our Guide, Changa, was hilarious and informative. There are tons of hermit crabs and palm tree crabs to see, it was really cool! The resort served up an amazing lunch and we sat overlooking the water which was simply fantastic!
The island itself was beautiful and we learned a lot about local plant and wildlife.
There were 6 people on our day trip and each of us were lucky enough to get our own beach house with a shower, drinking water, toilet etc. I would go back in a second!

Room Tip: Climb the lighthouse for an amazing view of the island - it's not too many steps! If you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kailey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My sister and I spent 4 days on Chumbe Island, after 11 days of busy and rather exhausting safari time. It was truly a paradise with the added benefit of being sustainable. The accommodations were amazing: we felt like Castaways, reading books, relaxing in shade beds, walking the pristine beach, swimming and snorkeling (with excellent guides). For meals, the service was outstanding and friendly, and the food was definitely the BEST we had anywhere in Africa in terms of quality, flavor and ambience. Thanks Chumbe for that remarkable dinner on the beach, and for recognizing my sister's birthday with such flair! We are pleased also to have been able to support Chumbe's education and conservation program through our stay.

Room Tip: book far in advance as there are few units, and ask for one very close to the beach so you can get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I would definitely return to Chumbe Island and stay at least for another two nighs. It is an experience that cannot be compared to anything else I have done in my life before. The bungalows are so comfortable, the food and service are impecable. We were basically wrapped by nature but extremely pampered by the hotel's staff. This place has it all and they have no impact on nature. I LOVE the fact that they respect the environment and protect the amazing reef that surrounds them.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing and have a beautiful view of the sea. I stayed in room 2 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Chumbe and have to mention the wonderful members of staff. Nothing was too much trouble for Vera, Dr Hans, J2 or Hassan.

The snorkelling was the highlight of our visit to Chumbe. The coral is good in comparison to the Maldives. The staff took us out with a boat for each snorkel trip. A member of staff snorkelled with us and I felt safe and comfortable at all times. We saw turtles, lionfish, huge crayfish, eels and many types of tropical fishes. The snorkelling was not limited to one hour only and we could snorkel for one and a half hours if we felt like it in the moring and afternoon.

We circumvented the island every morning. It is a nature lover's dream since there are many different types of crabs and starfishes. The beaches are white and the island is covered with trees and beautiful coral rock formations.

The accommodation is quite basic - have a look at the photos to determine whether it will meet your expectations. I enjoyed the hot shower and organic bath products. Sarongs, headlights and towels are provided. If you are very particilar with regards to towels pack two bath towels. The beach is on your doorstep - divine!

A visit to the lighthouse was worth it since the views are spectacular.

The food served at breakfast, lunch and dinner was delicious and my husband bouhgt me a Chumbe cookbook. The octopus curry, sailfish, red snapper, spinach and oat cookies were our favourites. I requested Diet Coke and Sauvignon Blanc prior to our visit and can confirm that the food and beverage manager ensured that this was available for the full duration of our stay.

It takes 15 minutes to have a look at the coconut crabs and this is another excursion I enjoyed.

I would recommend that you pack your own mask and snorkel, an underwater camera, mosquito repellant, sunscreen, watershoes, sunglasses, swimwear, a second skin for snorkelling early in the mornings, a washcloth, extra batteries for your camera, sanitizer and maybe a bath towel.

Chumbe is a unique experience and if you can afford it please continue to support eco tourism since special places like this is fast disappearing.

Room Tip: All the villas are close to the beach. We stayed in number 7 and enjoyed the privacy it offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuriousMeerkatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We enjoyed our 2 night stay on the Island (it was good but not excellent) but would not return, as we did not feel that its offering reflected its exorbitant pricing. I appreciate that a lot of the money goes into the conservation (it would be useful to know exactly how much and how it is spent) but I just felt that a few small touches were missing to justify the cost, such as
- Service from the hospitality team on the beach. We would have ordered drinks had someone asked but didn't want to leave the comfort of the beach bed to do so!
- More flexibility regarding timing of forest walk and snorkelling times, and the possibility to book these individually rather than complete them as a group
- Instruction from the ranger during snorkelling about the types of coral we were looking at, location of turtles etc.
- Providing mosquito spray in the room and ensuring the net is free from holes. I was very badly bitten during my stay.
- Hot drink making facilities in the room. Its great that these are available in the communal area but again we didn't always want to leave the room to get them.
- Improved communication about dining on the beach. We had no idea this was possible until we saw a table and candles laid for another couple.
- Trying to balance the needs of guests without children and guests with children (which I appreciate is difficult!). But it was a shame having children running around creating noise at mealtimes when we had come for tranquillity!
- Torches being provided in the rooms

On a more positive note, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was enjoyable. We had a relaxing time but ultimately felt the price tag was too high.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kigali13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This Eco Island set just off the Zanzibar west coast is fantastic. Beautiful house, best snorkelling ever and white beaches. Fun for children included coconut crab spotting and climbing the lighthouse. Lovely staff, sorry we only had one night and day there

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genny02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
16.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
489 reviews
26.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,566 reviews
39.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
446 reviews
24.7 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
25.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Property: Chumbe Island Coral Park
Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chumbe Island Coral Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing