We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our entire trip! Visit for a day if you can't stay the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Ranked #8 of 170 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our entire trip! Visit for a day if you can't stay the night”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We booked to visit Chumbe as a day trip, but I wish we'd stayed the night. This was one of our highlight of the entire trip. Right from leaving for the island from Mbweni Ruins (nice hotel with beach) and being greeted by staff, to our return trip to Stone Town.

This island manages five star luxury and service while also supporting local communities and conservation work. We were really impressed with the work which this project is involved in- while we were visiting there was a large group of local people having a free class on marine conservation.

The staff were really helpful and welcoming, and the 3 course meal was delicious. All drinks and trips around the island or snorkelling as well as the hire of equipment are included in the price. When we visited we also had the use of one of the bungalows. The bungalows are really nice and feel luxurious yet still environmentally sensitive. There is a 'hatch' at the front of the bungalow which can be opened for maximum views and breezes.

But the absolute highlight was the guided snorkelling trip. I have snorkelled on the barrier reef and in Fiji and I can honestly say that this snorkel location is as good as both of these. Unlike the snorkelling experiences on the north of Zanzibar island which can feel a bit like a tourist circus, this was really special. We were taken by boat to a reef with only two other people and a guide. During one afternoon snorkelling here we saw turtles, lobster and even a stingray. The coral is beautiful and pristine. Diving is not allowed here so snorkelling is the only way to see this place.

I am surprised more people don't venture out here. This was one of our highlights (on a 2 week trip) in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    30
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
115
326
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2011

This island retreat is a real gem. Stayed only for one night but wish I could stay longer, especially with a partner. Really friendly staff and comfortable eco-friendly accommodation. The food and snorkeling were the highlights.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobskaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stay some days , and let the atmosphere work on you !
Finally NO INTENET !!! finally you can stuck off completely
You will come home newborn.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marietta1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We've found that "eco" and "sustainable" are very broad terms in travel, but Chumbe lives up to both with a dash of luxury thrown in.

The open air bungalows and main lodge are made completely of materials found on this tiny island. The architecture, which is so appealing to the senses, is also responsible for the water supply and electricity used on the island. Because of this, I found myself feeling connected to the fate of the island in a way I'd never experienced before.

The food was spectacular and the service was personal and beyond the call of duty. There was nothing we might need or ask for that wasn't met with a simple "of course".

The rangers who accompany you while snorkeling the spectacular coral reef or on walking tours of the inter-tidal beach are wonderfully knowledgeable and personable.

Don't expect air-conditioning here, this a place to have dinner under a million stars on a beautiful beach and to explore the wonders of a protected coral reef and island wilderness. If this sounds good to you, leave your cares at home and have a stay at Chumbe.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danrudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Three days of paradise on Chumbe Island: the location is beautiful beyond words; the accommodation is stylish and comfortable; the warmth and cheerfulness of the welcome could not have been bettered; the food was delicious – freshly prepared and piping hot, and incorporated the finest aspects of Zanzibari cuisine; all aspects of the service were charming and efficient.

And there is a special magic on Chumbe which is priceless. Experiencing wild places with the confidence that your presence alone is not causing damage is a rare and special privilege and the imaginative way in which the Chumbe facilities have been constructed and the island is managed gave us exactly that rare and welcome reassurance. In addition, at least a third of the cost of the stay actually contributes directly to local conservation and education work. If only other holiday venues that claim ‘ecological’ credentials would take it as seriously.

Apart from simply relaxing and enjoying the tranquillity on the island, what is there to do? Wild flowers, birds and butterflies - and crabs - are constantly in evidence and we found a useful library on the island to help us to identify what we saw. There are walks through the coral rag forest, along the white coral-sand beaches, through the intertidal zone at low tide, all with enthusiastic and knowledgeable rangers to guide you if you wish, and the opportunity to snorkel, again with a guide, over the world-famous pristine coral reef.

We long to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamilton_wiveton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

I traveled to Chumbe with my partner earlier this month, and it was a magical experience. Chumbe may not be for everyone, but it was certainly for us. Everything on Chumbe is quiet, peaceful, and simple. If you'd like a quiet getaway, if you enjoy your own/partner's company, if you are awed by vibrant coral, then Chumbe is definitely for you. But if you need more modern comforts (cooled rooms, flush toilets, etc.) then don't bother Chumbe; one sacrifices certain comforts in any true eco-lodge.

It's also important to know that not all of what one pays at Chumbe is for the lodge. I was informed that between 30-40% of what we paid went towards the conservation and environmental education departments at Chumbe, which includes protection and oversight of the marine protected area. So Chumbe is many things: eco-lodge, protected area, an organization committed to environmental education, community outreach, and conservation.

For us this was ideal. Of course we were thrilled to support all of what Chumbe is, AND the tranquil, blissful island gave us everything we needed and more. The staff are warm and friendly, the food divine, and the message behind the project is one to be supported. I think Chumbe is the most perfect place on Zanzibar, and if you're keen to support a REAL eco-project, then I'm sure you'll agree.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAG1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2010

This is a beatiful island for a "get away" from hectic Stone Town. The food is absolutely amazing and the peace and beauty of the island makes you feel absolutely relaxed. If you want you can just lay in a little hut in the shade and relax or if you are interested you can do a forrest walk, an intertidal walk, climb up the stairs of the light house for a stunning view in the sun set or go snorkelling on one of the worlds most diverse reefs. It's a perfect place in a not always so perfect world!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmJar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
16.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
477 reviews
26.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,533 reviews
39.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
439 reviews
25.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
282 reviews
24.7 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Property: Chumbe Island Coral Park
Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chumbe Island Coral Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing