We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Sunset Kendwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Kendwa
Ranked #141 of 170 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We've stayed 5 nights this August in one court yard room, in Lulu building (first floor). The room was big, with balcony, with A/C, ocean view, safe and fridge, clean and fairly cheap. The location is great, directly on the beautiful white sandy beach. On the bar is big party during the weekend. A lot of young people, music, fun. The beach is absolutely beautiful. The only downside is the breakfast, but again, the food in Kendwa is not so great. And I'm talking about all the restaurants on the beach. Unfortunately, not so much creativity on the fish and seafood part. The only good thing to eat in all Kendwa is pizza.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitea2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Kendwa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Not worth the money, they charge you VAT tax while they are not registered with the TRA (tax authority; so 18% of the bill is charged for tax but not paid as tax which is illegal) no towels until you ask for them repeatedly no hot water, air conditions not working, bed sheets with stains, staff not well trained! NOT SATISFIED!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Irfan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Sunset bungalows is in a great location, on the west side of the island so you sit and watch the sunset every night was is blissful. The accommodation is pretty good, fairly cheap and clean, with aircon and a small fridge. Go for one of the bungalows on the beach if you can get them, although if you are on the beach, be prepared for some noisy parties! They like to throw a party here, i think Friday night is their big party night and it's really fun if you are in the bar, but not so fun if you are trying to get to sleep! There are a lot of backpackers here, so good fun if that's what you are looking for - not really a family place or quiet place for couples though. The dive center here is very good so if you are thinking about diving this is a very safe place to do it. Food isn't great -breakfast was one of the worse we had on the island and we eat at Kendwa rocks up the beach which has much better food. The beach is beautiful though - white sandy paradise, although you do unfortunately get quite hassled by the beach sellers. Overall, a great place to party and watch the sunset, but if it's chill out you are looking for, there are probably better spots on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jzee033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We arrived at Sunset Bungalows at the end of an overland tour and intended to only stay for 2 nights. After signing up for a 4 day diving course at the place next door (Scuba Do) we ended up staying a total of 6 nights. We had Room 60 which was closest to the beach without actually being 'on' the beach, on the ground floor and with ocean views from the balcony. It was airconditioned and just lovely. The room was large and very modern with twin four poster beds and was cleaned daily with new bedding, bath towels and beach towels provided. Laundry service is cheap and taxis were arranged effortlessly by Reception staff. Negatives: the bar staff shortchanged us on almost every occasion claiming they didn't have the right change; the food in the restaurant is terrible (eat at Essence for dinner and Kendwa Rocks for breakfast instead); WIFI is available only in the restaurant/bar/beach area and is 2000 TSh for 15 minutes; the bar is very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights (would recommend you don't stay in a beach bungalow if you're visiting on either of those evenings) and shower was salt water. Overall, I would recommend you stay here but don't eat here. The beach location is really lovely :)

Room Tip: Room 60 is a good choice. Avoid the bungalows which are right on the beach as they would be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I arrived late around 9 and the bar was pumping music until 2am which was very irritating if you don't like that kinda doof doof music. The rooms were large but that's about it. The bed sheets had blood stains, the towels we not very clean, there was no hot water and only a trickle coming outta the faucet. I could not stay another night there as every Night is party night. This place is more suited to young partying backpackers. However, the beach is really beautiful. The water is pristine and the sand is so soft and white.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coates77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

After two weeks camping safaris I went to Zanzibar to relax. Sunset bungalows did not meet any of my expectations. The shower doesn't work very well and most of the time the water was cold. The beds and towels were dirty. When I asked for cleaning my room they didn't do it. The service in the restaurant/bar was very slow and the people were not friendly. It's expensive for what you get. Hotels/restaurants in the neighbour were better!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjolein B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We're experienced travellers that do not need much luxury but this place did not meet any of our expectations. There are way better alternatives within the same area and price range.

Minus:
Bad and slow service (both in the restaurant and reception). A lot of smiles and kind words when you arrive but once you actually need help, there is no real interest in helping.

Bad and uninspiring food and a very minimal breakfast.

No "peace and quiet" due to party go-ers that end up in the restaurant. On other days, the management themselves organize parties with loud music all through the night.

Most serious is that they try to skim you on your money whenever they can. "Wrong" change in the restaurant, Taxis and tours organized by the reception are suddenly more expensive than agreed and/or are double the price of similar trips, any booking issues arise at the time of your checkout when they know you have a plane to catch and therefore are forced to pay instead of resolving the issue.

Plus:
A beautiful beach (but so are all other places in Kendwa and East Nungwi)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teun v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Nungwi Inn
Nungwi Inn
#17 of 17 in Nungwi
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel
Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel
#47 of 235 in Zanzibar Island
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mocco Beach Villa
Mocco Beach Villa
#4 of 6 in Kendwa
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natural Kendwa Villa
Natural Kendwa Villa
#2 of 6 in Kendwa
52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amaan Bungalows
Amaan Bungalows
#1 of 48 in Nungwi
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Kendwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Kendwa

Address: 3546, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range: £62 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Kendwa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sunset Kendwa, your place to stay in the tropical paradise of Zanzibar's north coast. Fringed by powdery-white sand beaches, azure waters, and thriving coral reefs, the exotic spice island of Zanzibar is the most idyllic of tropical destinations. We offer a wide range of brightly decorated traditional rooms and bungalows, as well as all the facilities you will need to help you ease into Zanzibar's relaxed pace of life. Right on the perfect sands of Kendwa beach on Zanzibar's north coast, this is the perfect place to unwind, spend your days swimming or sun-bathing, snorkelling, scuba diving with our award winning on site water sports centre Scuba Do Zanzibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset Kendwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Zanzibar
Sunset Hotel Zanzibar
Sunset Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing