We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget- set your expectations accordingly”
Review of Sunset Kendwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Kendwa
Ranked #145 of 168 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Budget- set your expectations accordingly”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Sunset Bungalows should not be confused for anything other than the budget beach accommodation it is. The beach is beautiful and Sunset Bungalows offers a good price to experience it, however it is rife with areas to improve

Pros:
- the rooms (we stayed in the Deluxe Beach Bungalow) are actually quite lovely, large and well furnished
- operating electronic safe and A/C
- rooms regularly cleaned
- beach is very nice, and the Beach rooms are quite close (though not directly on the beach)
- beach security is usually on top of things, as long as you aren't on the edges of the beachfront area
- breakfast provided
- cheapest happy hour around (3k TZS for a beer)
- working hot water tank

Cons:
- stained sheets and towels (blue sheets by the way, which makes the stains even worse)
- a major pain to replace provided beach towels
- we experienced one power outage for about 15 minutes one evening, I imagine they are more regular during the high season
- occasional water stoppages
- insect egg sacks growing in the bathroom
- salt water from taps/shower
- NO INTERNET PROVIDED - blatant lie on their website, the only Internet options are to buy it from the Scuba shack or Kendwa Rocks next door
- CONSTRUCTION going on all day, they are building several new bungalows and an entirely new restaurant, all of which seem to be taking forever and result in construction debris strewn around the area between the bungalows and the restaurant/beach, plus many random workers wandering through the property all day
- wear shoes! Aforementioned debris and other garbage pose danger to feet, we saw plenty of broken glass on the property
- in addition to the random workers, the property is hardly secure from locals and beach boys wandering through, despite the lackadaisical efforts of the beach security. Don't leave valuables unattended in room or at the beach, if you want to go for a swim and have no one to watch your stuff leave anything valuable with the security at their beach stand
- beach boys are non-stop and aggressive in Kendwa, know how to politely say no twenty times a day and sit farther back from the front of the beach area to avoid altogether.
- breakfast was pretty lame (fruit, hard toast and an egg done different ways) and they charge a silly amount to supplement it
- dinner food just not very good either, takes forever and is not as good as Kendwa Rocks next door which is similarly priced

Scuba-do is the adjacent scuba/snorkel shop and should also be approached as a budget option - I wouldn't recommend engaging in any scuba diving with them, their safety regulations are extremely subpar (dealing with equipment in an unsafe way, taking new divers out way too late in the day to squeeze out a few more dollars). Extremely unorganized, struggle to get snorkel trips together (advertise a $15 snorkel but that is ONLY for an afternoon trip to Kendwa Reef which is not guaranteed). They also hire out to local (poorly kept) boats when their own aren't working, sketchy practice to say the least!

Room Tip: Deluxe Beach Bungalows are only option close to beach/restaurant, everything else is quite far up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGreen_rugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    144
    79
    42
    44
See reviews for
26
157
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We took a two week holiday to Zanzibar. We were planning to stay at various hotels but after the first few nights we just decided to stay put as it was such a lovely place. The beach is very wide at this point in Zanzibar, which added to the beauty. There are comfy loungers on the beach where we spent most of our time reading and watching the sunset. (We walked a couple of times to Nungwi to buy beer for this purpose)The rooms are nice and spacious and the beds comfy. The only reason why this place is not getting 5 is hairdryer was missing and also we missed a kettle as we love out tea. We got a good rate which was another reason for staying on. The Bikini Bar and Restuarant served a plain breakfast (included in the price) or you could order extra off the menu - egg, toast, fruit and coffee. The other meals were pleasant although a bit pricey. We ate seafood nearly all the time. Also good pizzas.

Room Tip: The rooms in Chaza are spacious but further from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0kk1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I love this place, the gardens are beautiful and it is such a beautiful beach. Rooms are clean, love the turquoise sheets! Mosquito nets, fans and a/c. Second visit. They are building a new restaurant but the old one was still open and many more vegan friendly local Swahili dishes. I loved the food there (it was off season so many places not open). Coconut vegetable curry was excellent, so was the local Swahili meal, Swahili breakfast and Chili Bean soup! I hope they don't change the menu.

My only wish is for a kettle in the rooms to make some tea! Very helpful with transport.

Room Tip: A variety of rooms including bungalows on beach (no sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked 3 nights here and enjoyed each of them immensely. The rooms were well decorated, spacious, boasted large balconies. The bathrooms/showers are very modern, clean, and the water hot. It is technically fresh water but it has a high slat content. Not a problem, just don't be surprised. All the hotels in this area experience the same type of water. The grounds on the premises are really well groomed and beautiful. The restaurant is right on the beach, which makes for a lovely atmosphere for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The food was really good. It's priced accordingly as you're on the beach. I suggest eating here at least one night but be sure to venture out to at least one evening (make a reservation regardless of how small your party is). The scuba diving outfitter next to the hotel offers a fabulous sundowners cruise. That was the highlight of our time on the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Man at front desk was quite rude to my friends and I upon arrival and insisted we give him an extra tip on top of room rate. Resturant is OK, but nothing to write home about. Cheaper beers than next door at Kendwa Rocks. Good place to stay if rooms are full at Kendwa Rocks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayson_Sasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The rooms are really nice - large double beds with mosquito nets (although ours did have a hole), ensuite bathrooms, balcony and aircon. The breakfast is basic (eggs, bread, juice, tea/coffee). The daytime/evening service in the restaurant is very slow - but there are plenty of other places to eat nearby. No wifi, but again this is available nearby. We were a bit disappointed by the beach itself - other people have rave about it so we had high expectations, but it was nothing special.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank noone28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent a few very relaxing days here as part of an Intrepid Africa tour. The rooms are very large with good mosquito nets, room safe, clean bathroom and even a balcony.

The restaurant has nice food but the service can be very slow, sometimes over an hour so order early or go next door. Always check the bills they charge to your room as our group had many issues with random drinks etc being charged to us. They also never seem to have change at the bar.

The free breakfast is pretty bad and none of the eggs seem to have yolks (egg white omelets) except the hard boiled ones! The beach is really nice and there are lots of sun lounges available as well as free volleyball.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Nungwi Inn
Nungwi Inn
#17 of 17 in Nungwi
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Kendwa Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mocco Beach Villa
Mocco Beach Villa
#4 of 6 in Kendwa
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Natural Kendwa Villa
Natural Kendwa Villa
#2 of 6 in Kendwa
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel
Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel
#30 of 213 in Zanzibar Island
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kendwa Beach Villa
Kendwa Beach Villa
#2 of 4 in Kendwa
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Kendwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Kendwa

Property: Sunset Kendwa
Address: P.O. Box 3546, 3546, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Kendwa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sunset Kendwa, your place to stay in the tropical paradise of Zanzibar's north coast. Fringed by powdery-white sand beaches, azure waters, and thriving coral reefs, the exotic spice island of Zanzibar is the most idyllic of tropical destinations. We offer a wide range of brightly decorated traditional rooms and bungalows, as well as all the facilities you will need to help you ease into Zanzibar's relaxed pace of life. Right on the perfect sands of Kendwa beach on Zanzibar's north coast, this is the perfect place to unwind, spend your days swimming or sun-bathing, snorkelling, scuba diving with our award winning on site water sports centre Scuba Do Zanzibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Kendwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Zanzibar
Sunset Hotel Zanzibar
Sunset Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing