We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
52
170
92
51
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
170
92
51
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice balcony beach volleyball beach towels full moon party couple of nights white sand indian ocean cocktails
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2015

This is a great hotel if you are going for the Full Moon Party next door at Kendwa Rocks. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The bar was not well stocked though. Breakfast could have been much better also. There are tons of activities within the area and i recommend that one should stay at this hotel and eat at the restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kishan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in a nice location and suitable for those who want to go to the infamous full moon parties next door at Kendwa Rocks. HOWEVER; this hotel needs a lot of work.

First of all, we had a horrible first night at the restaurant. Two of the staff serving us were just plain rude. They took ages to do anything; rather they would just stand around and ignore us. We did complain and the manager seemed quite understanding.

The rooms are ok. The court view is quite nice. But to be honest over priced. Also, you have to pay for the wifi which you can only use in the restaurant/bar. It cost 3000 shillings per 2 hrs. Also, when there's a party, the sound echoes quite badly. The showers are also saltwater.

On the up note, the beach is cool and some of the nicer staff make up for the rude ones that ignore you.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank ForeverWondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

This hotel is about an hour from Stone Town but well worth the trip. The rooms were large and ours had beach views. The beds were king size and were mosquito netted.
The beach was very pretty and the water warm. There was a small restaurant and a bar on the beach. Very good cocktails and pizzas.
A place to chill out and relax by the beach. I image the price was right as travlling with an Intrepid tour.

Room Tip: Get to the beach early as some patrons leave their gear on the lounges all day without being there.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank holidays2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

The best sunsets, very pleasent service of the personal especially the restaurant staff was always very nice. Hotel rooms safe and really beutiful. Also no problems during my stay. Food was very delicious and the seafood to die for. Would like to come again for sure. Best is june. You basicly have a lot of space on the beach for yourself. (If you prefer a little colder sea water, but only little)

Room Tip: Had no problem with my room on the lower section of appartements on the left side from entrance.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Viktor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour. It was great value for money and we had a huge room with a 4 poster bed. The staff were incredibly friendly and we thought it was really good value. The breakfast wasn't amazing but I would still definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brownie85Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Kendwa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2015

Thank you for staying with us at Sunset beach Hotel

We appreciate your good comments and complain, however the management work on it to make sure good service will be provided to the customers.

We hope you will recommend our Hotel to your friends and you will stay with us next time.
We apologize for the inconvenience this we may cause.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews