We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
#1 to visit on the island

Amazing impression, I've never seen anything like this before. Not that much animals, but the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Екатерина К
via mobile
Once in a lifetime

Its really an amazing place you get very close to the animals you can feed lion you can play with... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
AndreaS13171
via mobile
Read all 1,146 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Zanzibar Island
from US$74.00
More Info
from US$41.00
More Info
from US$40.00
More Info
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveller rating
1,085
37
11
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,085
37
11
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white lion bush babies once in a lifetime animal lovers rescued animals amazing experience love animals striped hyena beautiful animals positive reinforcement animal conservation she loves money goes big cats wonderful afternoon animal experience close contact
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Today I had the very special pleasure of going to Cheetah’s Rock, which is located on the west coast near to Kama Village. This once in a lifetime wildlife experience was one of the most amazing things I’ve ever done.

Cheetah’s Rock is a rescue and conservation centre, ran by Jenny and her son. In addition to meeting rescued wild animals, you also get in depth information on their welfare, wildlife conservation and get an insight into the wonderful work the team are doing around the world helping to protect and conserve endangered species.

What’s different about this centre is that you actually get up close and personal with the animals. So imagine sitting in a white lion’s enclosure as Savannah a 90kg lioness prowls around or sat in the enclosure with two Cheetah brothers as they showcase their hunting skills. You actually get to hand feed Aslan the male lion and the 2 rare striped hyena's. You also get time to hang out with busy babies, lemurs, velvet monkey's, dik dik's and peacocks. None of the animals have been drugged, declawed or defanged – they have had hours of time spent with the team here learning that with 100% positive reinforcement man and animal can get close without either party being stressed or come to harm.

The centre limits each group to a maximum of 37 (you have to be 15 years+) and they only open 3 days a week. It does cost $160 per person (includes round trip hotel transfer), but the experience lasts 4 hours and when you hear from Jenny that her centre receives no support from the government and they are only able to carry out their work with donations you feel like you should be giving more.

This was an unbelievable day that will stay in my heart and mind forever!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny A, Inhaber at Cheetah's Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your wonderfully descriptive review.
I am very happy to read you had an unbelievable wonderful experience at Cheetah’s Rock.
Your words give potential guests a very good sense of what Cheetah’s Rock is all about.
We offer our guests the unique experience to encounter our wild animals up close and personal.
The animals get to decide always how much they like to interact with you. However, they enjoy meeting all who meet them with respect – which I demand from all visitors – and love, which is wonderful to observe as in the case of yourself.
You write so well what can be expected at Cheetah’s Rock.
It is quite important to make a reservation well in advance.
For the sake of our wild animals and each guest’s personal experience, we have to limit the tour size, as you indicate.
Thank you for your visit and a very perceptive review.

All the best
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

One of the better run and interesting conservation projects we have visited. The whole experience was well run, and it is evident that this is no tourist rip off petting zoo masquerading as something different.
Spending a few hours with the animals, and knowledgeable staff was a real treat.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Slidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny A, Inhaber at Cheetah's Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018


Dear Slidy,
Thank you for stating what Cheetah’s Rock really is:
a unique opportunity to interact with wild animals and to learn about animal welfare and wildlife conservation while meeting the animals.
I am so happy you realized this and wrote about it.
Thqnk you for your nice review and for supporting our project.
All the best
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Me and my husband were overwhelmed after half a day spent with beautiful happy animals and people who deeply care about them. We definitely recommend it to everyone and wish all the best to animals and team from Cheetah‘s Rock!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank 4elas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny A, Inhaber at Cheetah's Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018


Dear Guests,
Thank you for your wonderful appreciative review.
Your good wishes for our wild animals are most welcome!
Indeed, the welfare of our wild animals is the key concern of all of us here at Cheetah’s Rock.
Thank you for your recommendation to animal lovers to visit Cheetah’s Rock while on Zanzibar.
All the best
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Probably the best day I had in Zanzibar (or in my life :D). It seems pricy but believe me it is worth it. We were amazed with kindness of Jenny and guys that were giving us the tour. We had chance to learn about species, the way they live, to hear their stories and to interact. We got all the fun facts and answers to our question. It was process of learning and also experiencing. Connected with the animals and didn't feel any kind of fear thanks to the whole atmosphere. You can see that animals are cared for with love and people who work there seem passionate about it. You can also see that animals are not drugged and that you are contributing to something good!

Have to book it in advance via form on their website.
You have an option of taxi coming to pick you up. I would recommend.
I would recommend reading instructions on the website about what to wear and how to behave and just stick to it :)

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Misinovic E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny A, Inhaber at Cheetah's Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Misinovic,
Wow, it is amazing that your visit of Cheetah's Rock was the best day in your life. Thank you for this big praise.
Indeed, we combine the important educational aspect of the tour with your personal interaction with our wild animals.
It is always great to read that a dear visitor such as you paid close attention to all that I conveyed about wildlife conservation and animal welfare, both at Cheetah's Rock and what is needed globally.
Yes, our wild animals are at the total center of the Cheetah's Rock experience.
As we treat them all with respect - which I demand from all of you - and love, which I hope for from you, they are willing to interact with you at a very close, personal level.
Isn't it great how closely humans and wild animals can get together given the right atmosphere that we create and maintain here on Cheetah's Rock.
It is true, you have to book the tour online before you come.
Thank you for pointing out that guests should please pay close attention to our requirements regarding appropriate clothing. It is all well thought out. It is for the benefit of a wonderful time with the wild animals.
Thank you for you visit and your kind review.
All the best
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Very informative tour and great experience to see all these animals from that close. Worth visiting definitely.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank 930markom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny A, Inhaber at Cheetah's Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Marko,
Thank you very much for your visit and your enthusiastic recommendation to book the tour of Cheetah's Rock.
All the best
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews