We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really spectacular restaurant”
Review of Pongwe Bay

Pongwe Bay
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Pongwe
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really spectacular restaurant”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed next door in Santa maria coral park, and while the food there was great, it was good to have this as an alternative. The food was amazing - $40 for the lobster menu (5 courses with a glass of wine thrown in) was great value and the best lobster I've had. There were about 4 lobster courses, including soup, pasta with chilli and parsley (and lobster), then two whole lobster (cigalle) for the main! The chef cooked these on the grill out the front on the beach. We were there for our honeymoon and the staff put a solo table out on the beach for us. The Italian owners were really nice too, and certainly had the perfect lifestyle running the hotel and restaurant!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine_simpson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Stay in Paradise”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Pongwe Bay Villa is far more than a restaurant. It's also a small hotel (2 rooms) where one can stay in complete luxury.
We did just that in early March, enjoying 4-nights of bliss in the amazing place that is Pongwe and having the 2 km beach pretty much to ourselves for the entire duration of our stay.
There are no people selling stuff and hassling you, the sea is stunning (although at low tide it's not possible to swim) and the whole area is just beautiful.
The upstairs room is vast, beautifully appointed, and has an amazing terrasse, offering some of the nicest views ever.
Add to that the care and attention to detail of Elisabetta and Paolo, the exclusive care of the wonderful cook and person that is Habibu - always ready to offer some amazing suggestions for your lunch or dinner - and the ever smiling Simon and Deborah always willing to cater for your every wish and you have THE perfect stay.

This is an amazing place. I'd recommend it with no hesitations.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Place”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife and I had a 6 night stay at Pongwe Bay Villa - it was an amazing experience in terms of the location and beach setting, service from Paolo and his staff and the wonderful food that Paolo's chef Habibu prepares for all the meals, both Italian and local Zanzibari cuisine. Paolo was also very helpful in arranging day trips for us and everything was done at very reasonable prices. I would highly recommend Pongwe Bay Villa and hope to return for a stay there again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidtraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

GO there! Simply great. Delicious cocktails. Great Food. Beautiful beaches and pool. Excellent service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariehamn, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went to Pongwe just for lunch. The policy of the hotel is to charge 25 USD for a visitor but the same amount can be used in their restaurang.
The food was excellent and the restaurant is simply beautiful.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Titte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pongwe Bay also viewed

Pongwe, Zanzibar Island
Pingwe, Zanzibar Island
 
Kiwengwa, Zanzibar Island
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to Pongwe Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing