We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to relax after a hectic safari”
Review of Pongwe Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to relax after a hectic safari”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

After a hectic 10 day safari in Kenya and Tanzania, in early January, my wife and I spent a wonderful 3 nights at Pongwe Beach Hotel. While checking in at reception we had our first glimpse of what is a tropical paradise beach. Our ocean view room was very comfortable, and it was nice to have a ocean breeze in the evening to cool things down. The staff were always very helpful and friendly, and the food was excellent. The water temperature in both the ocean and pool was very comfortable, and relaxing in the shade on the beach was a perfect way to find down after our safari.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    137
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
123
556
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Pongwe Beach Hotel is set on a most beautiful small beach with Dining Room and Bar looking out over palm trees soft sand and onto beautiful green waters of the Indian Ocean. The staff are friendly and helpful. Food good on the whole - a few strange things but that all added to the originality and "African" attraction of it all. Our room was older than I expected and looking a little worn - the bathroom floor stayed constantly wet all week with the humidty so you had to be careful not to slip. Its salt water showers - we were aware of that - water has to be brought into the hotel for cooking / drinking. They were ok and perfectly acceptable and necessary.
the beach was quiet, plenty of sunloungers and hammocks. The pool nice and never busy. Staff occasionally struggled to understand English but always tried hard and with a smile. The hotels boat is great and Ali and his helper are both so helpful and fantastic guys. we did snorkelling - or rather I tried! and fishing. Local village next door is friendly - they do appreciate if you dress appropriately and show respect. We are after all invading their village.

We stayed 6 nights and that was maybe just a little too long as there is little to do apart from swim read relax and eat doing that for a few days fine - 6 was a bit too long but that's me
Trip to Stonetown is well worth it but its an hour away so you either book one car or offer to share and if they can manage that then it reduces the cost.
It is very much a honeymoon paradise.

Garden well tended. Room clean cup of tea brought every morning to veranda about 7 - much appreciated. Staff could not do enough to help including management which was brilliant

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This place is heavenly. It is small and friendly, and I think does feel very African. There are 4 new rooms since we last stayed here 3 years ago but very tastefully done, and still rarely see other people on the beach or at the pool.

The shower water is slightly salty, and there is no air-con, but for me this all adds to the charm of the place. I walked both ways along the beach by myself (female) and although approached by a few locals trying to sell trips, never felt threatened at all, and they left me alone if I said 'no thanks' - especially if you learn a few words of Swahilli! I also walked on my own through the local village, and chatted to the locals and some kids with just a few Swahili phrases, and was made to feel very welcome.

There really is nothing to do other than relax, read, eat and drink, but for a couple who talk to the public all day every day, this is a perfect retreat for us. We stayed for 2 weeks, which is not he norm, but still in no way bored. we've been to the Maldives a few times but prefer Pongwe because of its rustic charm, and way cheaper!

If you expect 5 star British or American hotel standards you'll be disappointed, but if you go to enjoy it for what it is you should love it.

We will be back for another 2 weeks next year.

Zoe and Karen

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

stayed 2 nights. only a pity we didnt stay longer
incredibly helpful and friendly staff- thanks!
good bar.service was excellent.lovely food.always plenty of bottled water in rooms
beach is gorgeous - also plenty of hammocks, sunloungers, shade when you need it
daily excursions to go snorkelling/fishing. will do all they can to make the holiday
cool infinity pool.could hrdly ask for more

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyfitz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

There is hardly anything to complain about the place - nice bedrooms, amazing swimming pool, very professional staff. We had a great time but we stayed only 2 nights. I think we would have gotten bored had we stayed longer. There are some minus points not related to the quality of the hotel that make me go for the 4 stars - as mentioned by other users it is extremely artificial and very travel agency like. There is absolutely no African feel to it. The beach although paradise like is very very small and if you walk (as a woman alone) outside its boundaries you get picked on by locals (which hadn't happened in matemwe for instance). When we were there we felt the hotel was quite full which made the small beach feel crowded when compared to others in Zanzibar. The restaurant is far to expensive and although a high end hotel you have to pay for the Internet. Thankfully we had a jeep otherwise the transfer is a robbery.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ines V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A great place, the staff couldn't be more helpful and the beach is of outstanding beauty. The food is good if uninspired. The bungalow we stayed was excellent and we were welcomed every morning by a freshly brewed coffee left on our terrace. I really recommend if you look for a quiet retreat in paradise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roskilde, denmark
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have been at that place two times and we Think, you can't find a better place. Nice bungalows, Nice food and Nice staff. The beach are bounty. Every morning the staff clean it. We love the fine pool with overlook at the sea.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva stenild N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongwe
6.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,536 reviews
14.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
477 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
11.5 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
439 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pongwe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pongwe Beach Hotel

Property: Pongwe Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 297, Pongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pongwe Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on what could perhaps be described as the best beach in Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach Hotel is a tranquil place where one can escape the hustle and bustle of modern day life. It is modestly sized, with 4 Sea View Suites, 13 traditional Beach Villas as well as 3 Garden Rooms and has an intimate, personal atmosphere. Set within a secluded bay on the east coast of Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach is a true paradise retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Pongwe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pongwe Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing