We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Pongwe Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pongwe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Lovely resort situated on a beautiful white sand beach with bright turquoise waters. The beach is raked every morning which leaves it immaculately clean. Staff friendly and attentive although didn't feel as personal as the lodges we stayed in on the mainland (probably due to it being a reasonably large establishment.) rooms very nice. Spacious. Clean and facilities good. Salt water showers and pool (which is stated on their website so was not a surprise) which is tiresome after 5 days. Food lovely although some of the meal options are very small and "a la carte" style with others being very big....so a bit of inconsistency there however the buffet night was great. Free use of kayaks and mountain bikes and cheap snorkelling and fishing excursions (although to their own admission the snorkelling here isn't great.) nice quiet location but easy to get out and about if you want.
Good presence of staff on the beach (security) which makes you feel safe, especially at night.
Be sure to be in the restaurant just before dinner is served at 7pm to see the resident bush baby's come for some bananas.

Room Tip: The seaview suites are larger with plunge pool for not much more. The beach front villas are litera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirbymwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Kirbymwatts,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are grateful for your constructive criticism, as without it we cannot improve our standards…something we are constantly striving to do.

Our menus are planned every morning based on fresh produce from local suppliers. Our chef has recently established a herb and vegetable garden which is proving to be a great success and affording us "garden to table freshness".

August is the peak of our high season and although we try hard to give personalized service, it is sometimes difficult in this busy period. We are sorry you felt this was not evident, as it is one of the qualities we pride ourselves on.

We consider the brackish water showers as our contribution to staying environmentally friendly, as fresh water on this small island is at a premium. We hope in the future to install a solar powered desalination plant.


We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay. Karibu Pongwe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    136
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
122
550
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our family of 4 (children 9 and 13) stayed 5 days at this hotel. It is a rather small hotel, and due to that very personal. The seaview suite we stayed in was beautiful and romantic. And we had a small private pool, which was great for the children. The staff is super friendly, and they all do their best to make your stay perfect. The atmosphere is relaxed and easy. They arranged a private candlelight dinner for us at the Beach, which was an unforgettable experince.
The food was also of an excelent quality, and they have a good lunch meny as well.
The big pool was really beautiful, and just beside the Beach. A low end which is good for smaller children. The Beach was also very nice and with alot of sand. As Zanzibar is a coral Island, many beaches only have a small sand Beach (if any at all) and you will need to Wear swimming shoes to go to the sea.
The location is rather remote, so there is not much to do but relaxing, snorkling, fishing, kayaking (hotel has sea kayaks for free). But if that is what you are looking for, this is the perfect hotel, and we will definetly go back. Prices are also reasonable.

Room Tip: Beach front Suites are really nice, and have a small private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Torben K,

Thank you for your lovely review – we are so pleased that you had a happy time with us. Our staff team will be encouraged by this review.

We are happy that you found the menu and food to your taste as we try hard to meet all expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pongwe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at Pongwe Beach Hotel for 4 nights after a 5 day safari on the main land, and WOW, paradise is the only word to describe our stay. We stayed in the beach front rooms which were a good size and massive comfy beds! A turndown service each night (included) ensured that mosquito nets were in place for the night, very reassuring! There are also mosquito nets at the windows (there is no glass at the windows which leaves a lovely breeze throughout the night). The ceiling fan was perfect, we didn't feel the need for air con once, even though day temperatures reached 34 degrees C. One recommendation would be to bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper, the resident Bush Babies can be a little loud during the night!
The beach is incredible and lives up to the pictures and expectations. At low tide you will see the locals searching the sea bed for sea snails and seaweed farming. Very interesting! The staff were beyond polite and accommodating, very happy people. Food was great, the best we had all holiday. The whole hotel had a lovely exclusive and relaxed feel, thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviab33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Oliviab33,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. You have clearly noticed many of the little things we do to make the guests stay as comfortable and memorable as possible.

Yes….the bush babies can be loud…but we love them.

We hope you will return to Pongwe for another memorable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This is such an amazing place to stay. Perfect white sand beach and really comfortable rooms. The food is delicious. We particularly enjoyed our candle lit dinner on the beach. Such a romantic way to spend the evening :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Elle,

Thank you for you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.


We will convey your compliments to all our staff.

Thank you for choosing Pongwe Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Perfect hotel, perfect beach, perfect super-fine white sand, minimal rain and no mosquitos at all. What can I say, this is THE place for ultimate relaxation. Food was GREAT but the deserts mediocre. Lunch is their best meal.
When I am looking at our photos I can not believe we spent some time in this natural beauty. The problem is this beauty comes at a price and this price is RAIN, however the good point is that the hotel has 4 suites which have a private pool which is partly shaded so try to choose one of these suites because if the weather is not perfect, you could always jump in the pool in your own backyard. By the way if you go, please take a walk in the morning to the right and left of the hotel when the tide is low. Both sides particularly the left there is outstanding scenery, but I would skip the snorkeling if I were you, NOTHING to see but I am comparing to Marsa Alam and Sharm Elsheikh in Egypt which are top notch dive/snorkeling locations so it might not be a fair comparison. Another tip : if you are into bird photography, ask one of the workers to take you to the tree in the workers premises which has all these awesome looking yellow birds (The eastern golden Weaver ) which as far as I know lives in Zanzibar alone and this tree has like 200 of these wonderful birds. Once again I would like to thank JO from Naipenda safari (jo@naipendasafaris) for choosing this hotel and this wonderful suite in particular for us.
In short this is the second best hotel we stayed in Tanzaia ( second only to the truly amazing Mbalageti serengeti luxury camp or lodge).
Also if you are interested in some pictures of the hotel, please follow this link of my safari pictures, it has a lot of pictures from Pongwe beach hotel near the bottom of the link.

https://plus.google.com/photos/+hatemtawfik/albums/6045275688404409105

Hatem A Tawfik, MD
Cairo, Egypt

Room Tip: Pongwe Beach hotel is a real gem and a truly natural beauty. The problem is this beauty comes at a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatem t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Hatem,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Pongwe experience.

We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us despite the late (and unusual for this time of year) rains. We definitely have to agree with being the winner of the "Do Nothing Award " :) Just sit back and relax!


We look forward to welcoming your family back to Pongwe in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A sea view room with lounge chairs on the veranda and a hammock were just what was needed after an 8 day Tanzanian safari. The room was spacious and well attended to by the friendly staff who sprayed for mosquitoes and turned down the comfortable beds nightly. We were able to totally relax and saunter over to the restaurant for the delicious food wearing only kangas or bathing suit coverups and sandals. The menu changes daily and always includes fresh seafood.The pool area is lovely and never felt crowded. The beach is spectacular. I'll never forget my first visit to the Indian Ocean and would gladly return to Pongwe in the future to sleep by the sounds of the waves and the bush babies in the trees.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank octsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Octsky,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken home with you happy memories of Tanzania and Zanzibar.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Pongwe in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for one night on the last day of our Zanzibar holiday. As we were used to staying in cheaper places this was a real treat for us. The pool especially was completely gorgeous, and has to be seen to be believed. I have a photo I took lying on the sun lounger of the view and I can't believe I was once there! In the evening we had cocktails on the beach and watched the sun set. The bedrooms are spacious and cool with a sea breeze coming through. Be prepared that the showers are quite salty but this didn't bother us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 115Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear 115Jess,

Thank you for taking your time to share this lovely review.

As fresh water on the island is limited, we try to be as eco-friendly as possible at Pongwe…hence the naturally filtrated, brackish-water showers. We are happy that this did not bother you too much.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you to Pongwe again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongwe
6.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,515 reviews
14.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
469 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
11.5 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
434 reviews
22.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pongwe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pongwe Beach Hotel

Property: Pongwe Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 297, Pongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pongwe Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on what could perhaps be described as the best beach in Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach Hotel is a tranquil place where one can escape the hustle and bustle of modern day life. It is modestly sized, with 4 Sea View Suites, 13 traditional Beach Villas as well as 3 Garden Rooms and has an intimate, personal atmosphere. Set within a secluded bay on the east coast of Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach is a true paradise retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Pongwe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pongwe Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing