We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape from hectic Stone Town and Kendwa/Nungwi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Maria Coral Park
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This was exactly what I was looking for after a NYE at Kendwa beach. I stopped at Matemwe Beach, which was definitely stunning and alluring, yet I preferred the feeling of solitude at the SMCP in Pongwe. My single banda ($30USD) was spacious, with two towels and plenty of storage space. The fan was adequate, and there was a mosquito net there if I wanted to use it. A private bathroom was attached, though expect that the shower is not segregated from the rest of the bathroom.

There are hammocks and chairs on the beach, and a lovely little bar/restaurant patio for your meals. The food for vegetarians is nothing special. Basic pastas and curries, but with no real flair. But the beer is cheap and cold :)

All the staff is very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meganonatrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

Loved this hotel - great location right on the beach. Friendly staff and wildlife (the bush babies!) - nothing was too much effort for the owner (including buying in about 5 bags of nuts when we asked for some at the bar!) We stayed there for our honeymoon and the staff put a solo table out on the beach for us, which was pretty special!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catherine_simpson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in a banda which was basic but nice with a fan and a little shelf area for bags. The beach was quite dirty and as with alot of places the tide goes along way out and whenin its very shallow water so not great for swimming. The breakfast was good but the other food was not great. Some staff were helpful but others were not.We emailed ahead to book this place and got charged more than people who turned up. We walked up the beach and looked at other places which had nicer rooms and better priced including the Queen of Sheba which is owned by the same people.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DitaMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of October. The beach was beautiful but the tide was often out. This meant that you wold have to wait for high tide before you could go swimming or head around to the next bay along where you can swim during low tide. On the plus side when the tide was out we walked over the coral where we would see the local marine life including small crabs star fish and small fish.

The room was lovely and clean. It was simply and beautifully furnished and decorated with a lovely wall hanging. The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh flowers were often left afterwards.

The Staff were very friendly and always willing to help. They were able to give good advice on the area. The breakfast was great. It consisted of fresh fruit, juice and eggs.

The evening menu was simple and tasty. The food we ate was very nice and mainly consisted of fresh fish and they were reasonably priced.

Overall I think that the Santa Maria is very good value of money. It is very quiet and relaxing and a great place to stay if this is what you are looking for

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, 60 dollars per night and we can just say that it's a great place. We stayed in a bungalow, 150 m from the ocean. There was 1 room and a toilet, sparsely furnished with a zanzibar bed and small table. There was hot water (not all time) and they had a generator that ran during electricity-cuts.

The hotel is actually made up of a sandy beach with a lot of coconut-palms. There is a restaurant with a rather small menu but pretty cheap. We had a couple of drinks in the bar which wasn't the best we've had but maybe it depends on who's working in the bar.
Breakfast is nice with toasted bread, fresh fruits and eggs.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely recomend this place if you wan't a laid-back place for chilling out a couple of days!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

If you like to be far away from the crowds, have an (almost) private beach, sunrise and a beautiful scenery you really have to stay at Santa Maria Coral Park in Pongwe.
Diving and snorkeling are possible in the neighbourhood.
Breakfast is included in the price and is really nice. Furthermore you can order nice drinks in the beach bar which is open all the time. The staff is very nice and friendly. Dinner is on the beach if you like with a bonfire. The menu is amazing and really fresh. They like if you make your choose before 16.00 so everything can be arranged in time.
The accommodation is very cosy and clean. You can choose between bungalows and really lovely huts, all with thatched roofs. We stayed in the Sultan, right at the beach. A very nice place to be and to relax.
Best regards, Dennis and Silvia (Dutch, living in Norway)

Ps. if you like to party, this is probably not the place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noormannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our Zanzibar trip and so pleased we found it! We had the 2 storey bamboo hut right on the beach and woke to the sounds of the sea every morning. Luxury this isn't but if you're looking for rustic, cute huts, a stunning wild beach and peace in a hammock then this is it! Note that the beach is low tide much of the day and had quite a bit of seaweed on it but this is the only hotel on this stretch of beach so you have it to yourself. A highlight for me was the swarms of birds that do synchronized dances over the water in the afternoons (I had never seen anything like it), the downside was the odd bit of rubbish seen on the beach (not near the hotel) but they said that was down to recent storms. Another highlight for me was the snorkelling trip with a local fisherman. The snorkelling nearby is pretty good and if you're into fishing (my friend wasn't - I discovered I was after catching 7 Changu fish!) then that's worth a go too.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
Thank UKKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongwe
0.8 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pongwe Bay Resort
Pongwe Bay Resort
#3 of 6 in Pongwe
164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#5 of 6 in Pongwe
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tulia Zanzibar Unique Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Seasons Lodge Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Coral Park

Address: Pongwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pongwe
Price Range: £61 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering beachfront accommodation in Pongwe, Santa Maria Coral Park has a restaurant and bar on site and offers special diet menus on request. Guests can rent bicycles to explore the surroundings. Free Wi-Fi access is available throughout. Each room has a private balcony, and mosquito nets over the beds. There is an outdoor seating area and a private entrance for each unit. The private bathroom is fitted, and the room offers sea views from the balcony. Santa Maria Coral Park has a beautiful tropical a garden. Services include a tour desk and free parking. Zanzibar International Airport is 45 km away and Jozani Chwaka National Park is a 30-minute drive from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Santa Maria Coral Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Coral Park Hotel Pongwe
Santa Maria Coral Park Pongwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing