We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Le Petit-Manor”
Review of Le Petit-Manoir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vitrac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Petit-Manoir
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A really enjoyable week, we stayed in Le Rosier with adjoining garden room which was brilliant and so comfortable. The garden area was lovely and we made good use of the BBQ and pool. Karen and Peter were lovely welcoming hosts, the location too is excellent and the surrounding countryside is so beautiful. We particularly enjoyed Domme, Beynec, and Sarlat, canoeing down the Dordogne was a great experience. The meal recommended at La Treille in Vitrac was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pab60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Le Petit-Manoir
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed at Le Petit Manoir for five days in April. We rented Le Bois and found it immaculately clean, comfortable, and convenient. The living/dining/kitchen area was very roomy, and we made good use of the fully equipped kitchen facilities (we roasted duck breasts). The grounds were pretty and the location extremely peaceful; we enjoyed walking up to Vitrac and taking day trips around the area. Karen was a very entertaining and gracious host, who was able to give us some very particular information on the kinds of sites we wanted to visit; she was also able to accommodate us with all sorts of little needs. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sant_Ubaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Our family of 6 (mum, dad, two young children plus grandparents) had a lovely week at le rosier. The location is an excellent base for exploring the area and the pool was great for the kids. Some negatives however include that the garden room where the grandparents stayed was cold and wet as it has no ventilation. The walls were wet and blankets damp so not pleasant. I would not recommend booking this room. The other rooms were fine. Although not necessary we have found a welcome gift of wine and biscuits when staying at Gites in France a lovely touch. This gite was the only place that didn't do this on our 5 week stay in France. Would we stay here again? Yes but in one of the other rooms. If your only choice is le rosier for 6 I would book elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you need a place for 6 don't book garden room in le rosier as wet and mouldy
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoemKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karendevitrac, Owner at Le Petit-Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Sorry for your experience. June 2012 was the wettest June in France since 1959 and this probably contributed to the humidity in the room. We have added a more powerful ventilator in the shower room that aleviates this problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed for a week with our 2 children ( aged 8 & 11). We all loved the Gite & the surrounding attractions of the Dordogne. I can only agree with the previous reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oznzenfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at Le Petit Manoir in late June. We occupied Le Rosier (with our 2 twenty-something children) and our friends from England occupied Le Pommier and Le Touret (with their 2 twenty-something children). We had the best holiday. Le Peit Manoir is in a superb location, within 10 mins easy drive to Sarlat and supermarkets etc, and provides easy access to the river and many of the district's attractions. Paddling down the Dordogne river in canoes was a real highlight. The gites are extremely well equiped (yes, they even have iphone/ipod docking stations) and are very clean and comfortable. Some of our group had been travelling for some weeks before arriving at Le Petit Manoir so the washing facilities were heaven sent. Apart from when we were asleep, we spent most of our time outside at the garden tables and we made good use of the BBQs and the heated pool. This was the perfect place for our 2 families to holiday together. We had separate accommodation so we had our "space" from each other, but could enjoy meals together and of course, the "sundowners" at the end of each day.
Le Petit Manoir is as shown on the website. It is fabulous. And so are the hosts, Peter and Karen. Karen is so much fun, and nothing is too much trouble for her guests. Peter and Karen were also very helpful with local dining suggestions and even made bookings for us. We stayed for a week but it just wasn't long enough, so we will have to come back for another holiday at Le Petit Manoir. And oh yes, the Dordogne region was pretty fabulous too!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We were first attracted to Le Petit Manoir by its website - http://www.lepetit-manoir.fr/welcome.htm - which is highly detailed in English and French. It gave the impression of owners who are sensitive to detail and to providing their guests with what they need to have a good visit. And that is certainly a good description of Karen and Peter.

This is the 9th time we have rented an apartment or gite for a week in France. We find it much more interesting to spend a week in one location and to properly discover the area. And Le Petit Manoir was the nicest place that we have rented. It is so well equipped, clean, with lots of space, and each unit has its own sizable garden. We stayed in Le Bois (one of the three apartments) - which would be perfect for a family with two children. Further, you could not ask for more enthusiastic/informative/helpful hosts.

The Sarlat area has an incredible amount of stuff to see and do - medieval villages, chateaux, prehistoric cave paintings, great food, and the lovely town of Sarlat itself. There are few places in France that have more interesting things to see and do in such as small area. One week is barely enough to see most of the sites - if you go full out. Two weeks would give you more time to relax by Le Petit Manoir's pool.

And Le Petit Manoir is just over 5 minutes from Sarlat - and within a few minutes of several medieval villages. Lascaux and the other caves are more like 30-40 minutes to the north. (We really enjoyed Font de Gaume - but there are literally dozens to choose from).

So the combination of Le Petit Manoir and the Sarlat area is really idea.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlySemiRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My wife and I rented two of Le Petit Manoir's gites, Le Pommier and La Tourette. We added La Tourette because our daughter and a friend joined us for part of the time and some friends for the rest so we wanted the added space for privacy and for the extra bathroom.Was it necessary, no. Are we glad we did? Yes.

It would be hard to say enough about how wonderful our stay was. First of all the Dordogne region is gorgeous. It's called the land of 1001 and one castles and if you jump in the car, you can visit an unbelievable locale in any direction you go. In fact, if you walk off the property, make a couple of lefts, you'll spot a sign that says Montfort 1 km, and you can walk to a castle! (It's private so no touring but a great photo op.)

The gites at Le Petit Manoir are gorgeous and have every amenity you might want. And if you don't find it, just ask your hosts. I asked if there was a way to plug my iPod into the TV sound system and Peter brought over a little clock radio that accepted iPods so we had music. And when my voltage converter wouldn't fit into the new French plugs, he grabbed a hacksaw and solved the problem. Karen and Peter are unbelievably nice, and if they speak English as if they were Americans, they are. (Actually Peter is from Poland but lived in the US for many years.)

The property is lovely, Forcet the dog is great. Too bad they can't control the weather, but hey, nobody can do that.

You're about a ten minute drive from Sarlat. That means you can't walk out your door and be in a quaint city, but on the other hand when you do walk out your door you've got a lovely garden, a heated pool and great short hikes. It's perfectly peaceful at night, and just as peaceful and quiet during the day. And when you want to visit all the other great places, you won't have to deal with a Sarlat traffic jam going out or back into town. I'd looked into renting a gite in town and I'm glad I didn't. Yes there's a ton to see in town, but you also want to spend some time sitting in the garden reading a book on your vacation, away from the hordes of tourists.

I know I'm sounding like I own a piece of the place, but I'd never met Peter and Karen before we arrived and if we found it and the Dordogne perfect, well it just is. We were speaking to the brother of an artist in Beyzac who's been living there for the last ten years (he's Dutch) and when he said it's like heaven, we couldn't have agreed with him more.

And I haven't even talked about the food. La Treille, a restaurant that's a two minute dirve away, is fantastic but there are so many to choose from. The ones that cater to tourists in Sarlat are so so, but the little ones in the countryside are incredible. There's Le Petit Paris. And the Hotel Esplanade in Domme is out of this world. They're not cheap, but the prices are still half of what you'd pay in Paris, and the food far better. And we quite enjoyed the local wines, the Bergeracs and Cahors.

If we don't go back in the near future it's only because our bucket list is long, but staying at Le Petit Manoir in the Dordogne region of France is an unbelievable treat.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierrefromBayRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitrac
0.2 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais de Moussidiere
Relais de Moussidiere
#16 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Hoirie
Hotel La Hoirie
#10 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
229 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#2 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit-Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit-Manoir

Address: route de Combelongue, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Vitrac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Vitrac
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location * Charm and 4 star comfort * Beautiful and peaceful environment * Private garden with barbecue * Chlorine-free heated swimming pool * Warm and friendly welcome 5 minutes from Sarlat * 900 m from the Dordogne river * French and international TV * Computer with internet access plus Wi-Fi Three charming cottages, Le Pommier, Le Rosier and Le Bois, perfect for your self catering holiday rental while you explore the beautiful Dordogne valley. Within the golden triangle of Montfort, Beynac and Sarlat the property is exceptionally beautiful. Situated in the center of the most beautiful and historic part of the Dordogne region. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Petit-Manoir Vitrac, Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing