We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, relaxing home from home”
Review of L'Ombriere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vitrac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Ombriere
Ranked #2 of 7 Vitrac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We cannot say enough good things about Barbara and Andrea, and their wonderful home at L'Ombriere. It was the perfect place for our short honeymoon offering us as much relaxation, rest, beauty and good food as you could possibly hope for. Barbara's breakfasts were divine, especially the raspberry muffins!, and we were so lucky to be given the opportunity to eat at L'Ombriere one evening. One of the best meals we had whilst in the region. Andrea is full of helpful information about the area, with lots of ideas of places to go and things to see whilst also up to date with any special events that might be taking place. His knowledge left us safely in his hands as we planned our activities! Definitely take notice of their recommendations on restaurants as well, they are all well worth a visit! Overall we felt so welcome at L'Ombriere and would recommend highly to anyone looking for a relaxing and peaceful break. We hope to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preciousholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Many thanks to Andrea & Barbara for a wonderful 6-night stay in April 2013. Everything written previously by other guests was spot-on. Our hosts were truly charming, kind and helpful and their B&B is run beautifully. Breakfasts with items provided by local producers (and the honey from Italy) were wonderful to behold both visually and gastronomically! Dinner was wonderful as well. We have stayed at many B&B's in the last 30 years and L'Ombriere rates with the best of them. With a whole world to explore, we rarely return to a spot twice but our stay here in the Dordogne, and specifically at L'Ombriere, makes us want to return very soon! Thank you for everything, Andrea & Barbara. Blessings, Dawn & Tyme

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was extremely spacious (as was the bathroom). Bed was super comfortable an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillowandCordelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. Andrea and Barbara are charming and very helpful hosts. We stayed in a top floor room which was very comfortable and spacious with a lovely countryside view. Breakfast included home-baked goods and local products and it was a very relaxed and enjoyable meal. The hosts also gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner in a local village and had many suggestions on places to visit which were all great. We cannot recommend this B&B enough to other travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We had read many good things about this establishment and staying there for two nights did not disappointment us (89E/night). A GPS is very useful in finding this B&B. There was ample parking below the house near a field. Hopefully, they will consider allowing guests to park in the parking lot associated with the house. Outside the B&B were some tables where one could sit and enjoy the surroundings. The living room where guests are met is comfortable, but nothing to write home about. The owners (Andrea and Barbara are extremely hospitable, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about tourism in the area. This, by itself, is enought to recommend the B&B. Andrea loaned me his laptop so that I could get my e-mail. Our room was on the third flood (no elevator). It was large, clean, with wooden floors and with all the amenities in the bathroom The view from the window looked over the farmland below. The bed was comfortable and the breakfasts were in a side room on the first floor. They were made to order and were ample. The location is excellent for visiting the sites in the area. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KUFBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Many thanks to Andrea and Barbara for our three night stay in April of 2012, and apologies for taking so long to put in a review.

This BnB was one of the highlights of our trip (4 weeks in French countryside, first time in Europe), not only due to the beautiful ambiance of the house, the comfortable beds, the quiet location and beautiful surrounds, but also the lovely breakfast each day, and the welcoming nature of our hosts which was infectious during our stay.

We learnt a little italian, a little spanish, and extended our rudimentary french over conversation with other breakfast guests and the informative and knowledgeable Andrea.

Unfortunately due to a broken arm there was no dinner available, but recommendations from the other (repeat) guests has L'Ombriere firmly on our list of places to visit next year. The surrounding area is lovely, not far from the Lascaux caves and many beautiful towns, Andrea has a number of very good recommendations for fabulous food in the area.

We stayed on the top floor, the room and view was picture perfect, see their website. I would have no problems recommending this BnB to anyone who wants to experience a little of rural France, make sure you stay for more than two nights, it is a place to relax and enjoy. The decor is beautiful, simple and relaxing, as is the food (breakfast at least) and the atmosphere.

Also this was one of the most reasonably priced places we stayed during our trip, dont let that confuse you, I would chose this place again over more highly priced hotels or BnBs in an instant.

Room Tip: I loved our top floor apartment, but be aware that staircases in france are often narrow and winding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed two nights in this lovely B&B near Sarlat-la-Caneda and we truly enjoyed our stay. The setting is rustic and beautiful, and the hosts are friendly and most helpful. We would have loved to stay longer and see more of the Dordogne! Andrea and Barbara made sure that we found interesting sites to visit and provided excellent restaurant recommendations. They have furnished the chambre d'hote in a distinctive, most comfortable style. Breakfasts were a great time to mingle with the other guests and enjoy delicious home-baked breads and other treats. Sorry we weren't there on an evening when the table d'hote was offered!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syzygy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this b&b. Room and bathroom were spacious and spotlessly clean. The owners, barb and andrea, are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Received excellent advise on where to go and what to see. The suggestions were different than the places i had researched and quite glad we took their advise. Had dinner with them. Barb is an excellent cook and catered to our dietary needs. If you stay see if you can have dinner. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitrac
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
0.3 mi away
La Barde
La Barde
#1 of 7 in Vitrac
311 reviews
3.9 mi away
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 60 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Les Filolies
Les Filolies
#1 of 2 in Saint-Andre-d'Allas
133 reviews
3.7 mi away
Manoir de la Malartrie
3.6 mi away
Sarlat Cote Jardin
Sarlat Cote Jardin
#11 of 60 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ombriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ombriere

Address: Montfort, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Vitrac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vitrac
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
L'Ombriere Vitrac, Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing