We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Ombriere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vitrac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Ombriere
Ranked #2 of 7 Vitrac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Barbara and Andrea are perfect hosts. L'Ombriere provides a great base for day trips to visit this beautiful region of France. There is a lot to see whether you are interested pre-history, medieval villages or just want to visit the local markets. Definitely intend to be back. The staircase is a bit tight so try to limit the luggage, although Andrea is happy to help if needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
117
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

What a couple, what a place... Barbara and Andrea are angels and there are no other words to describe these people. The unplanned encounter with Barbara and Andrea was the most memorable thing that happened to us on our honeymoon trip. We got to L'Ombriere by accident and it was a priceless accident. I wish myself more accidents like this. The story itself does not matter. With a natural inner peace these very hard working people filled our hearts. We feel very lucky to have met them, and learn about true goodness and generosity.
As for the place itself - PERFECT is the minimum adjective to use. Simple as that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have never stayed in a bed and breakfast (and actually did not know we would be staying in one until right before the trip). But, I loved it! Barbara and Andrea are sweet, kind, and accommodating. Andrea was knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and would draw us maps and provide suggestions for each day. Their house is charming and has many nice touches they said they have collected during their 5 years owning the house. I would do a morning run each day and run through the neighboring hillside. I have never had views of castles while running!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor as they have more style and they are bigger than those on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwilsononbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We cannot say enough good things about Barbara and Andrea, and their wonderful home at L'Ombriere. It was the perfect place for our short honeymoon offering us as much relaxation, rest, beauty and good food as you could possibly hope for. Barbara's breakfasts were divine, especially the raspberry muffins!, and we were so lucky to be given the opportunity to eat at L'Ombriere one evening. One of the best meals we had whilst in the region. Andrea is full of helpful information about the area, with lots of ideas of places to go and things to see whilst also up to date with any special events that might be taking place. His knowledge left us safely in his hands as we planned our activities! Definitely take notice of their recommendations on restaurants as well, they are all well worth a visit! Overall we felt so welcome at L'Ombriere and would recommend highly to anyone looking for a relaxing and peaceful break. We hope to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preciousholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Many thanks to Andrea & Barbara for a wonderful 6-night stay in April 2013. Everything written previously by other guests was spot-on. Our hosts were truly charming, kind and helpful and their B&B is run beautifully. Breakfasts with items provided by local producers (and the honey from Italy) were wonderful to behold both visually and gastronomically! Dinner was wonderful as well. We have stayed at many B&B's in the last 30 years and L'Ombriere rates with the best of them. With a whole world to explore, we rarely return to a spot twice but our stay here in the Dordogne, and specifically at L'Ombriere, makes us want to return very soon! Thank you for everything, Andrea & Barbara. Blessings, Dawn & Tyme

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was extremely spacious (as was the bathroom). Bed was super comfortable an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillowandCordelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. Andrea and Barbara are charming and very helpful hosts. We stayed in a top floor room which was very comfortable and spacious with a lovely countryside view. Breakfast included home-baked goods and local products and it was a very relaxed and enjoyable meal. The hosts also gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner in a local village and had many suggestions on places to visit which were all great. We cannot recommend this B&B enough to other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We had read many good things about this establishment and staying there for two nights did not disappointment us (89E/night). A GPS is very useful in finding this B&B. There was ample parking below the house near a field. Hopefully, they will consider allowing guests to park in the parking lot associated with the house. Outside the B&B were some tables where one could sit and enjoy the surroundings. The living room where guests are met is comfortable, but nothing to write home about. The owners (Andrea and Barbara are extremely hospitable, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about tourism in the area. This, by itself, is enought to recommend the B&B. Andrea loaned me his laptop so that I could get my e-mail. Our room was on the third flood (no elevator). It was large, clean, with wooden floors and with all the amenities in the bathroom The view from the window looked over the farmland below. The bed was comfortable and the breakfasts were in a side room on the first floor. They were made to order and were ample. The location is excellent for visiting the sites in the area. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KUFBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitrac
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ombriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ombriere

Property: L'Ombriere
Address: Montfort, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Vitrac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vitrac
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
L'Ombriere Vitrac, Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing