We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this special place on earth! ”
Review of L'Ombriere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vitrac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Ombriere
Ranked #2 of 7 Vitrac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

It might be due to; the owners that truly cared that we have a wonderful experience and recommended trips with highest passion based on our liking; we had amazing organic, homemade, local produces for breakfast, and world class coffee; the absolutely beautiful remodeled house that turned our visit something quite unique - can't wait to return! Highly recommend this special place on earth!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for 2 lovely nights at Andrea and Barbara's B&B. It was immaculately clean and the grounds were beautiful. They were great hosts and offered a wonderfully fresh breakfast. It is perfectly located just a few kilometers from Sarlat and other villages in the area. Of all our stays during our 2 weeks in France, this offered the warmest hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at L'Ombriere but noticed that most guests stay longer and I can see why. Note that there are no TV's in the rooms and even though we ended up with the smallest room in the house, it was still quite comfortable. L'Ombriere is an experience of French country living at it's best. You couldn't find more hospitable people than Barbara and Andrea, they go above and beyond to help in any way and make your stay comfortable. It is truly like visiting friends in their beautiful home. Barbara and Andrea are actually from Italy, but have immersed themselves into France and all it has to offer. We were fortunate enough to have Barbara cook for us one evening and it will always be a fond memory for us, thank you Barbara for your wonderful food and hospitality and for having to put up with us only speaking English. This is indeed a gem of a home and experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowenevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

5 km. from Sarlat, in the middle of the way of Dordogne villages and river, Barbara and Andrea created this idilic place, with comfortable and large room, a cozy living room where all the guests can get together (wifi !!). Breakfast is a must, with just local products and Barbara cakes made by perfection. Close to everything. Perfect place to stay for a week near Sarlat with car.

Barbara and Andrea, Aluizio e Vera mandare un baccione a tutti voi !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Wonderful bed and breakfast in the perigord noir... Only a few km away from Sarlat. Most of the reviews talk about the owners and their cosy, helpful and warm attitude with the customers and in our case this was no exception. We fall in love with this Italian couple, Andrea and Barbara... Not only did they made us feel special guests but we also wished we could stay in that fantastic house much longer. Great taste in the decoration of the common areas as well as of the guest rooms. They care about every detail and keep the house extremely clean and tidy. The breakfast was great with lots if bio products from the region and home made muffin! Definitely an address to share with the people we love... And where we'll certainly go back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraTLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Couldn't have been more perfect. Andrea and Barbara are incredible hostesses! Their deep knowledge of the area and their warm and personable approach is unparalleled. We spent 6 days in the rich area of the Dordogne Valley. Andrea helped provide us plenty and accurate information for 6 wonderful day trips. They host a wonderful breakfast and IF they offer to make dinner DONT pass a night of EXQUISITE refined cuisine and company. The house is full of details, comfortable beds, amazing views, fine linens etc. MIL GRACIAS! Gary & Cristina

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and me with my cousine and her husband stayed in L'Ombriere for several days. It is a beautiful place with wonderful hosts that gives you a great welcome feeling. Andrea is very helpful in guiding your way in the attractive Dordogne area, Barbara is charming and prepare excelent cakes. Their warm attitude to the guest and the place is add to the beauty of their house and the great location near to most sights of Dordogn and Lot vallies.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ilan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitrac
6.3 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
286 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
409 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bon Encontre
Hotel Bon Encontre
#14 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Barde
La Barde
#1 of 7 in Vitrac
315 reviews
3.9 mi away
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 61 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
600 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Roche d'Esteil
La Roche d'Esteil
#1 of 5 in Sainte Nathalene
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ombriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ombriere

Address: Montfort, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Vitrac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vitrac
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
L'Ombriere Vitrac, Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing