We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience - one of the best things we did in France”
Review of Canoes Loisirs

Canoes Loisirs
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Vitrac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canoës Loisirs is a canoe renting base near Sarlat la Canéda in the Périgord. From 9 to 25 km come and enjoy the different routes to discover all the castles ans the beauty of the Dordogne.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Amazing experience - one of the best things we did in France”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a fantastic afternoon paddling down the Dordogne river. It was off-season, early April, and for the majority of the trip (from Vitrac to Beynac - about 3 hours), we had the whole river to ourselves. Apparently it gets extremely busy in peak times, so we considered ourselves lucky to be able to enjoy it in such peaceful conditions. Most of the paddling is made easier by the current, although it isn't very strong in some sections and requires a fair amount of work, so make sure you are ready for that. Most of the time it is possible just to sit in the canoe and float downstream, taking in the view and enjoying the sun. Don't worry about falling out as the canoe was very stable, and we were given a waterproof container to seal all our belongings inside just in case.

The scenery is just breathtaking. The cliffs are spectacular, especially those with towns built into the sides of them, and there are plenty of chateaux and other buildings to see as well. We got out a couple of times just to enjoy the sun (we had a beautiful, warm day). It was one of the most enjoyable afternoons of our whole two weeks in France. Definitely worth doing if you are in the Dordogne region!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CrashMan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canoesloisirs, Directeur général at Canoes Loisirs, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the river nearly on your own. This does not happen so often. We hope you had a great stay in France.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    106
    10
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana Rose
Level 6 Contributor
952 reviews
460 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Great Fun - Beautiful and Relaxing (in the Off Season)”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip. We went in mid-April and the weather was incredible (we were so lucky)! This was on my MUST DO list and I'm so glad we went.

We canoed from Vitrac to Beynac (perfect distance). The scenery is beautiful. It was so relaxing to just sit there and listen to the birds and watch the 5 castles slowly pass by. It was a totally different view of the valley and villages than we had from the car - and SO much better. And since it was early in the season, we pretty much had the whole river to ourselves (I think we saw 5 other canoes the whole afternoon. I don't think I'd like it as much if the river were crowded). We stopped once to walk around and stretch our legs. It took us about 3 hours, but we could have easily made a full day out of it.

Having never canoed before, I was a little hesitate, but for no reason. The river flows very slowly (just enough to keep you going forward). Bring some water and some snacks.

The canoes were good, the guy was nice, the pickup was quick. The last stop is well marked. If I ever return, I would definitely do another trip on the river(s) here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canoesloisirs, Directeur général at Canoes Loisirs, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for your review. You are right paddling the Dordogne off season as something special. The river is nice and quiet at this time of the year. Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osmets
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A new perspective”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

An easy gentle river, great cliffs, villages perched on the rocks above the river, stop where you want, drift or paddle.
We had a great day, well worth the drive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutman, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of a kind experience”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is the only place I know where you can canoe past medievel towns that cling to cliffs. You can get out of your canoe and explore these great towns on foot, then get back on your canoe & keep paddling. The scenery is stunning. Guaranteed to put a smile on your face.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful - total peace and quiet”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We went from Vitrac to Beynac at the very end of September and only saw one other canoe and that was at the very end. To be able to drift down the river totally on our own was wonderful. The canoe organisation and the pick up were perfect. Out of season a "must do".

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canoes Loisirs also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Carsac-Aillac, Sarlat-la-Caneda
 

Been to Canoes Loisirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing